We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Black Boy Inn

The Black Boy Inn
Ranked #5 of 103 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal Times Sunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via our web site only. We operate a table waiting system from the door at all times to keep the dining areas full. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. Book a table online please.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Busy place with a small selection of real ales. Good basic pub grub - the portions are generous. The beef & ale pie was very tasty - but more of a stew with a triangle of puff pasty as opposed to a proper pie. Would recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank EboracumYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for review, We have 5 hand pulls on the bar every day ,these will vary also on daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    570
    154
    76
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Popular pub with great food”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Super service though the pub was very busy. Food excellent quality and quantity - really delicious. Easy to find, not far from the castle. Wise to book. We wish that we had stayed here.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
You are correct as regards the busy Inn , we serve up to 750 main meals a day in peak season .Thank you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Asked in a few places but all seemed to be full ! Went to "black boy inn ",and was really busy, but we found a table and were eating the best burger ever . Really good

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony Elks C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for this , we are a very busy Inn as you saw . Also more seating most .please come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

After driving from Pwllheli, then Cricceth to find somewhere to eat at 3pm and coming up short we drove to Caernarfon. Thank god for the Black Boy as I had 2 hungry children that were getting to that stage!!!
Wasn't expecting a good meal as haven't had one yet in Wales but I must say this place was excellent. We went for the Sunday dinner but found that they stopped serving it 3 mins before we ordered and to be honest I'm so glad I didn't have it as the steak and peppercorn sauce was delicious. My daughter had the curry and it was deemed better than our local curry house at home. My son had the fish goujons and nearly licked his plate clean and my partner (with his onion allergy) didn't have much choice but the fish and chips were as good as a chippy tea.
Overall we had excellent service, the place was clean and the bill was surprisingly reasonable. I will be returning before we go home.
Well done

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
What can i say but thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“lovely spot”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

nice food here, been a few times before,
had the fish crumble this time, real nice, lasagne is also proper tasty,
service was good as usual, if the weathers half decent you can sit outside and the offsprings can play safely on the park opposite,
well worth a visit, we go whenever were passing !!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Spencer_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for the review , please call in when you pass next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Boy Inn also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing