We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit”
Review of The Black Boy Inn

The Black Boy Inn
Ranked #5 of 104 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: International, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.we offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal Times Sunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00p.m. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30p.m.Table reservations can be made via our web site only. We operate a table waiting system from the door at all times to keep the dining areas full. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. Book a table online please.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Great atmosphere, and good selection of drinks. Food was OK - it was standard pub fare. If we did it again we'd go elsewhere for a meal but definitely stop by.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank versuswhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for review , please come back again we are a genuine Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,254
    589
    166
    78
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“well done john & staff”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

had a lovely meal here tonight faultless on all account. staff efficient friendly and bilingual food lovely all plates empty this place is a credit to Caernarfon well done John Blackboy and all your staff!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Diolch yn fawr , please return soon and thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent food yet again”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were here in June so on our way to stay in Aberdaron we called in for Sunday lunch....and yet again had a lovely meal with lovely staff who are so nice, value for money, big portions and never felt rushed to eat and vacate our table when relaxing at the end with excellent coffee. Felt full and ready for the last leg of our journey to Aberdaron. Well done again Black boy Inn and staff

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Diolch yn fawr , please return soon and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value . Generous portions.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We enjoyed a lovely meal with visiting family members at the Black Boy on the evening of the 25 Th of August. It was very busy in the bar and restaurant but the service was very good. The menu is varied and portions are generous.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for the kind review .Please come to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced frozen food - and you do all the work”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We ordered a plaice off the specials board only to find the vegetables were cooked from frozen (in spite of green/french beans being in season) and the goats cheese starter (£7.45) consisted of wilting lettuce on a warm plate and one tiny piece of goats cheese - and you have to do all the legwork. And you get to sit and enjoy the overpowering frying food odours sat in the 'courtyard garden'. Order at the bar and fetch your own cutlery - the chef and the staff appear to do not very much by all accounts. Worst place I have ever eaten in!

However, I suspect if you came here for a beer in the evening (don't eat) it would be quite a pleasant pub - Thats all it should be - JUST DONT ORDER THE FOOD!!!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HGK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at The Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I notice you have only ever left 1 review , so i do not really intend to reply as i find the comments personal against the staff . This we will never do to customers as we do not find personal comments helpful. I stand behind my staff fully as they produce up to 700 meals a day with a very low level as regards complaints . Again i will not comment on anyones work unless i have personal experience of their trade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Black Boy Inn also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing