We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING AS ALWAYS!”
Review of Ty Mawr Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caernarfon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ty Mawr Farm
Ranked #7 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ventnor, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“AMAZING AS ALWAYS!”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We just spent Christmas at the farm and as always, we had an awesome time. We seem to come back and back and back, and small wonder. Jane makes our stay so good and we love the cottage and the surrounding countryside, We usually have Hendre Cottage and did so again this year. When we arrived, we were greeted by a fully decorated Christmas Tree that Jane had put up for us! She had left homemade mince pies for us and after a hideous drive up from the Isle of Wight in driving rain and wind, was it ever welcome! She had also laid a fire and all we needed to do was light it.
We have been there so much that the cottage feels like home.In fact, it is fast becoming our second home lol and we feel like family!. The amenities of the cottage are fantastic and given the weather, the wood burning fireplace was never out of use mainly because it was so cheery.
Now, we can't wait until we come back.

Room Tip: All the cottages are great. We like Hendre because it is so home like and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    3
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
33
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Jane and family were so welcoming. We felt like family when we left. The two rooms in the farmhouse were clean, spacious and comfortable. There are two sitting rooms for guests. Jane welcomed us with tea and delicious cake, made us a fantastic breakfast in the morning with her fresh baked bread, and sent us on her way with just baked Welsh cakes for our ferry ride to Ireland.
We would love to return to rent one of the cottages.
Wonderful!

Room Tip: You will be happy with either room in the house. The cottages were charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was fortunate enough to book a cancellation in Hefod Cottage when I was seeking somewhere to stay for The Snowdonia Marathon.
On arrival I was given Welshcake, Barabrith and shortbread - all really nice and I was made to feel very welcome.
The ameneties in the cottage were perfect, clean and up to date. The shower was very powerful and the bath was nice and big.
Plenty of space to park my car in front of patio doors, bed comfy, kitchen well equipped.
Lovely view of Snowdonia peaks from the kitchen door.
I can't comment on breakfast as I had to rush off in the morning, but if the cakes are anything to go by, then I'm sure it was lovely.
I'll be back with my wife and dogs (yes, it's dog friendly) soon and back with lots of folk from my running club next Autumn.
Diolch yn fawr Ty Mawr.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CitizenSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leyland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night in Beudy Bach cottage 19 Oct 2013.
Very clean and comfortable.
Jane met us on arrival with homemade barra brith shortbread and welsh cakes along with milk which was very thoughtful.
If your in and around Llanberis , book..you wont be disappointed.
Cosy , and well equipped.
Would definately use again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julieannz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 3 people for the weekend, a week or so in advance. When arrived at the B&B, late in the Friday evening, no one came to receive us, by what we had to wander in the house until we found someone. When we found the owner, she was on the phone and ignored us until calmly finishing her call. After hanging up, looked at us in a very unwelcoming and suspicious way and asked what were we doing there, like if it was not obvious that someone that goes to a B&B either booked a room or wants to book one. Since she laid eyes on us, it was clear that we were not supposed to be there somehow... which I found very odd! We explained we had a booking, we showed her the booking (on the iphone) and she just kept repeating that she had no booking for us and no room availability for the whole weekend, without ever checking any reservations or the computer that was behind her. At some point we were in doubt that we were in the right place, because oddly, in Wales, there are dozens of B&Bs with the same Ty Mawr name! We confirmed the postcode, and it was the same, but still she kept saying that she had no booking and suggested we should go to the B&B down the road. We asked if we could use the internet to double-check the reservation we had made or last case, to book a room in another B&B, by what she said she didn't have internet, which was clearly a lie, since the computer had an email opened behind her. We asked her for a taxi number as well, which she said she didn't have (again, very odd for a B&B than can only be reached by car, since is by a road in the middle of nowhere). Basically, she wanted us out of there, fast and without providing any explanation or any help. We had no choice but to leave the B&B, to walk in the middle of the road with cars almost running us over (no sidewalks), in dead dark (no street lights anywhere), in the rain, with our luggage to the other B&B down the road.

Luckily, we got a room in this other B&B, which saved our lives that night.

We were informed on the next day that the owner of this B&B actually denied that she sent us away and that we should go back to the B&B to spend the Saturday night, because magically there were rooms available all of a sudden and she had our reservation after all! Even if this was simply a misplaced reservation situation, I would never go back to a place where people are unwelcoming, rude and unhelpful with travellers.

Beware of the apparently "nice" previous reviews, because this place is not what it seems to be!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CFCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed 5 nights in the B&B and had a thoroughly relaxing stay; the fresh home baked cakes by the log fire welcoming us out of the rain; the comfortable, spacious room and the excellent breakfasts, all made it a lovely place to stay. It is a fantastic rural location for exploring Snowdonia and the coast. Jane's recommendations for places to eat were all superb and the log fires to sit by when the weather was not so good still meant we had a fantastic time. We will be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you want a quiet night in an excellent spot in the Welsh countryside, this is an excellent place to go, very clean, very good service, brilliant food, Jane was very nice and, if I have the chance to return, I won't hesitate at all so good was the quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
3.9 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,254 reviews
3.8 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
990 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
731 reviews
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Mawr Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Mawr Farm

Property: Ty Mawr Farm
Address: Llanddeiniolen, Caernarfon LL55 3AD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Mawr Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ty Mawr Farm 4 miles away from Snowdon, Llanberis and Caernarfon. We offer 2 rooms en-suite in the farmhouse and 4 self catering cottages. All rooms en-suite. Enjoy a hearty fully cooked Welsh breakfast if staying in the farmhouse or the cottages. All cottages have a fully equipped kitchens with washing machines and tumble dryers. Free Wi Fi in all rooms. Enjoy the afternoon tea on arrival before exploring our farm which is centrally located to explore the whole of Snowdonia, Lleyn Peninsular and the Isle of Anglesey. Look forward to seeing you soon. Regards Jane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ty Mawr Farm Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing