We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL”
Review of Parc Glynllifon

Parc Glynllifon
Ranked #8 of 42 things to do in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Croeso - welcome! Take a wander around the historic grounds of Glynllifon - perfect for taking your dog for a walk or exploring with your children. Enjoy the rustic woodland walks which feature many historical follies of Plas Glynllifon mansion as well as contemporary sculpures - we even have our own amphitheatre! A perfect family day out. The Grade I listed park is home to some of the rarest flora and fauna in the country. A designated site of Special Scientific Interest (SSI) the grounds are rich in wildlife and home to the endangered Horseshoe Bat. Ample free parking - gift shop - cafe - children's play area - craft workshops
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

A lovely place to walk and talk on a lazy Sunday afternoon.Each season has its special magic(I personally love Autumn).Load of paths to walk along and plenty of little buildings and follies to see-its worth finding out the history of these places e.g .dogs graveyard,kissing gate etc.Well worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank YOLO123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    35
    10
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place for children”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I love the garden here- loads of hidden gems for the children to find. Great for picnics and lovely cakes in the cafe!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NezzaD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Don't pay the entry fee!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I feel a bit cheeky but we didn't pay the entry fee! Apparently you had to pay to walk around the grounds (entry through the gift shop) but if you park your car down near the house, rather than the top car park then you can get straight in to the grounds.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful. There are so many routes and directions to take. We were really lucky with the weather when we visited north wales - whilst the rest of the country was struggling with the snow, this particular area was fairly warm with the sun shining!
The amphitheatre is a real sight to see as are the many wood carvings dotted around the forest.

Really good opportunity for children to run around and let off steam!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swiss_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely gardens”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

lovely gardens. café a bit pricey and a very cold day. put on heaters for us but it was very cold.
A wet day but still enjoyed it. The small businesses nice to look around, would go back in the summer though.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank suzyMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deganwy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Parc Glynllifon”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I haven't been here for a couple of years, but the workshops in the grounds were fun - some wonderful machinery. There is also a fort on top of the hill for the local militia to practice - I suspect it dates from the 1770s when John Paul Jones of the United States Navy was making a pest of himself in the Irish Sea. The house is a bit gloomy, I thought, but it was a slate-owners house and slate-owners live for ever, it was said. The most famous legendary figure of Glynllifon is the Salmon, who is said to be one of the oldest creatures in Wales. If you call for him (or her, I know not which) he (or she) will answer you three questions. But you may not like the answers. So the story goes - I was told it at school.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter Pedr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parc Glynllifon also viewed

 

Been to Parc Glynllifon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing