We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so lucky to have found this place”
Review of Y Gegin Fach

Y Gegin Fach
Ranked #4 of 104 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Welsh
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
cheshire uk
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so lucky to have found this place”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Feeling hungry after a wander around Caernarfon we came across a sign directing us to this little cafe tucked away behind the main shopping area. We checked the menu in the window and decided the promise of fresh, homemade food was too good to miss. The cafe is small, clean and most importantly obviously a popular choice with the locals which I always take as a good sign. We were served promptly by the very cheerful, welcoming staff and were served a pot of tea for 4 while we waited for our food. The food arrived promptly and did not disappoint, it was hot, fresh and delicious. Our teapot was refilled (at no extra cost) which we enjoyed while discussing the delicious homemade cakes and puddings on offer. Once we had finished our main all conceded that we were too full for a pudding and hatched a plan to come back later for tea and cake, however the owner sadly informed us that she was shutting at 3pm that day and as it was already 2pm we were pushed for time, however when we asked if we could purchase cake to take away with us nothing was too much trouble and we were quickly supplied with lovely, homemade cake wrapped in foil which we all really enjoyed later. There is a sign in the cafe that claims once you've eaten there you will be back and I for 1 guarantee I will be on my next trip to Caernarfon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lolmCheshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ticklemytastebuds, Owner at Y Gegin Fach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. Running a café so rewarding when people like yourselves bother to take the time to comment about your experience with us. We pride ourselves on providing tasty homemade fayre at reasonable prices, and love it when we get such positive feedback from our customers. We hope you will visit us again if you're in the area.
Al & Pat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    62
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food, warm welcome.”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Got a brilliant warm welcome from the staff here- they set about teaching my eight year old Welsh and provided the kids with connect four to play while they waited for their meals. I enjoyed the Welsh Rarebit and a great cup of tea, the food was all fresh and tasty.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely home cooked food in a warm and welcoming cafe”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We visited twice whilst in Caernarfon, once for cake and coffee which were lovely and made it an easy decision to go back for some proper lunch! I had the Welsh faggots (first time) and they were really tasty, whilst my wife and children had lamb stews which were really delicious wholesome meals. The owner (very friendly and chatty) was happy to split an adult dish between the children which I always find most helpful and makes a big difference to our eating experience as our children tend to eat anything! There were clean plates all round leaving no room for cake. I would definitely recommend a visit if you want good home-cooked food served in a friendly welcoming cafe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seta2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good eating at Y Gegin Fach”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

If you are looking for a quality meal at a reasonable price with good service then you can't go wrong at Y Gegin Fach in Caernarfon. This is our first choice for a meal or snack whilst holidaying in Caernarfon and in ten years we have never been disappointed with Alwyn cooking away round the back and Pat + helpers serving and taking the orders. If you can find any fault then you must be very hard to please.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fantastic little cafe”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

During a recent visit to the area we stumbled upon this little café when looking for somewhere to get a drink and it's a little hidden gem.

The place itself is lovely - very nicely decorated. It's also very clean.
The service was very good - friendly and quick.
We didn't have anything to eat but the coffee was really nice and cheap too.
We would have liked to have gone back but we weren't in the area again as we stopped in Bangor but I would recommend visiting this little hidden gem over any of the big chains.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Gegin Fach also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Y Gegin Fach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing