We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glan Gwna Country Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
Black Boy Inn(Caernarfon)
US$113
US$97
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Celtic Royal Hotel(Caernarfon)
US$117
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel(Caernarfon)(Great Value!)
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Port Dinorwic(Y Felinheli)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyn Rhos Country House(Llanddeiniolen)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menai Bank Hotel(Caernarfon)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveller rating
96
22
8
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
96
22
8
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsholiday homelovely communitypark facilitiesspent a week hereoutdoor swimming pooldoor poolgreat holidayriver runningfriendly barstatic caravanpeaceful settingnorth waleslocal beachesplay areallyn peninsulaeach morningfree wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 135 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed in a 2 bed chalet for 2 wks in Sept 2011, the chalet was not up to acceptable standard it smelt extremely damp bathroom floor always wet never dried out, Double bedroom carpet was dripping with water on rearside wall, so damp that our suitcase started to go mouldy. Had to put heaters on every evening to dry out chalet not because we was cold. Would not recommend this for a stay as owner did'nt really care that we had a problem with the chalet.
The actual holiday park Glan Gwna holiday park in itself we cannot fault was a lovely site and extremely clean, would stay on the park again but with a different chalet company.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed at Glan Gwna Country Holiday Park Me ,Good lady 2 kids one dog. Booked through www.soundoftheriver.co.uk/ diane was really helpful and park was very nice. " bedroom chalet with fold down beds in lounge too sleeps 6 with ease. Chalet is decorated perfectly and presented very clean and with pride. French doors out onto a large decking with top of the site views over a beautiful running river (its not called sound of the river for nothing)Outdoor pool was clean and great fun poolside bar(free wifi) was very good with nice people nice shop play park and arcade. Beautiful grounds around the park and a fab dog walk into the woods. Will deffo stay here again and will highly recommend diane to everyone

Room Tip: facebook too at GlanGwna Soundoftheriver
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank guzzle-guts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My friend Lesley put her report on,i am just agreeing with her,dont let this women take your hard earned cash her accommodation is disgusting,the park is lovely and has some very nice cabins to let by people who really care.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sue Chattaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Agree with other people that this is a lovely site but just be careful who you book with. We travelled as two couples and booked chalet 56 through Alison Jones, who we were told was a member of the family who own the site. We specifically wanted a chalet with a double and twin bedroom. We had seen lots of other lovely chalets to rent but they all seemed to have a double and bunk beds, which is why we booked with this particular person. On arriving at the site we were given Chalet 56, when we went through the door we all reeled back with the over powering smell of damp, it was really bad! On venturing further the toilet seat was broken and lying at the side of the toilet and the' twin beds' consisted of a single with a pull out underneath! We immediately went back to reception to complain and the guy in there was brilliant and really tried to help, although he had been inconvenienced the night before till 7pm waiting for us as Ms Jones had given him the wrong arrival date for us! He gave us the keys to Chalet 59 he could not get hold of Ms Jones and was obviously doing the best he could to sort us out. Chalet 59 was far from alright but after a 4 hour journey up from Sth Wales we decided we were going to have to try and make the most of it and sort it out with Ms Jones later. Where do we start....the bedding was disgusting....we had ended up with two sets of bunk beds in one bedroom and out of the 8 pillows provided 2 were passable to sleep on! Luckily the weather was hot so we did not..and could not..have used any of the blankets and duvets provided. I have photos of the blankets which were very, very badly stained and I won't put what with but I am sure you can imagine. It is the first place I have EVER stayed at that had a tin of HOUSEHOLD FLEA KILLER under the sink!! One key was provided although there were at least 2 doors requiring keys and 4 people staying. The bathroom door and the double bedroom door would not shut to properly, no window key to the bedroom window, the hot tap in the bathroom had to be held when turning it on or it spun around and the shower puthered out and went from hot to cold even though no other water was being run at the time! Twice we went down to reception to try and contact Ms Jones and when we left I left a letter with my phone number on listing complaints, I also tried ringing Ms Jones on her mobile whilst we were there but to this day she has not had the decency to contact me. I have never in my life stayed in such awful accommodation as she is providing, thank God for the good weather and light nights so we had to basically sleep in there, otherwise we would have had to go home early. I am so pleased I had only booked 4 days here. As I said before, the site is lovely, avoid this ladies accommodation like the plague!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank LESLEYGRIMSBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glangwna_LL552SG, Manager at Glan Gwna Country Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Whilst i appreciate you comments that the office staff were helpful, it's just a shame that the negative review relating to a private letting, is left on the Glan Gwna page as we are then directly tarnished, through no fault of our own.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We spent a week at Glan Gwna at the begining of August 2010. We rented a lovely chalet, newly refurbished (even soft-close doors and drawers in the kitchen!!) complete with a fantastic oustside deck that would be safe and secure for toddlers or small dogs. It appears that there are many different owners of the chalets/ caravans, but we rented from Kingfisher Self Catering, who have several properties on the park to choose from, and is run by a very pleasant and helpful lady.


The park itself is very pretty and well kept, mostly wooded with gardens, a river, lake and weir. It is very dog friendly, and just the grounds themselves allow for a very pleasant walk each morning. This is a quieter type of park, ideal for relaxing and families.


As for the location, it is situated in the village of Caeathro, about 3 miles inland of Caernarvon, and is extremely well placed to get just about anywhere in North Wales. Snowdonia (on a clear day), Anglesey, Llandudno and The Great Orme are all within easy reach, and the beautiful beach at Dinas Dinlle is worth a special mention.


All in all, we had a lovely holiday even though the weather wasn't so good that week. Plenty to do, superb accomodation, beautiful park at an extremely reasonable price. Ideal for families- I just wish I'd gone for 2 weeks instead of one!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank aberfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews