We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Dave and Pat.”
Review of Jakes Bistro

Jakes Bistro
Ranked #26 of 104 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“We Love Dave and Pat.”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Jake's is one of the best places in Caernarfon to eat, night and day. We love that we can bring our own wine and the food, Breakfast or Dinner is divine. We recommend this wonderful eating experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaKR7964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    22
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always the same experience.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We recently spent few days In Caernarfon and returned to Jakes Bistro for our breakfast. The full English is still delicious and very filling. There was a group of children in who were given a brilliant welcome and promised to return soon. Nothing was too much trouble. We decided to return the following day for an evening meal and were not disappointed. The food is better than a lot of restaurants that we have used and the atmosphere was great.We were chatting to other people and felt at home We were able to take our own wine which is good. We will certainly be back again. Thanks Dave & Pat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Olive H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Jakes and Dave”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Mae croeso cynnes pob tro gan Dave yn bwyty Jakes, croeso Cymraeg, Saesneg a Sbaeneg hefyd. Mae'r bwyd i gyd yn lleol ac wedi ei baratoi yn ofalus gan Dave.
Dyma le braf i ddod am banad a sgwrs neu am bryd gyda'r nos a dod a'ch gwin efo chi.

There is always a warm Welsh, English or Spanish welcome by Dave at Jakes. The food is locally sourced and prepared carefully by Dave.
A wonderful café for a cup of tea and a chat or for an evening meal not forgetting to bring you own wine.

Da iawn - Very good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emrys L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Only spoiled by the need for a better extractor fan”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Small friendly place with extremely welcoming owners. Food is reasonably priced and of good, if not outstanding quality. It's good cafe rather than good restaurant standard I would say.

The only unpleasant thing about dining here is the aroma of cooking fat - it does rather detract from the ambiance.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annieops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great personalities”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Monday night is not a good night for finding food in Caernarfon, most places being closed. But Jake was open and, as we stepped through the door, the welcome was great. Good humour, pleasant clean surroundings, a flexible menu. Immediately we were told the premises were unlicensed but soft drinks were available, great for me, and alcoholic drinks could be bought in the pub over the road and brought across (and the Jake would return the glasses to the pub). Good service? I think so.
The food was tasty, homely; staff were friendly.

We really enjoyed the ambience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jakes Bistro also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Jakes Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing