We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Owners, Fab Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Anglesey Arms

The Anglesey Arms
Ranked #31 of 103 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
328 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“New Owners, Fab Food”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

A 'gastro Pub' in Caernarfon, who would have thought it? We used to go here on a sunny day, sit outside and enjoy the view but since the new owners have taken over it's reputation as an eatery is growing and growing, quite right too based on the food we had there. It was really, really good. They use locally sourced ingredients and to the 'Other Half's' delight, they have an excellent selection of Real Ale(kept very well according to him) I am not too bothered about Real Ale but if you get a chance, go to The Anglesey Arms for really great food and fantastic views across the Bay.,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanaKR7964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    54
    21
    12
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambiance and a View Beyond Compare”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The scenic view is truly stunning with an ambiance rich with character and antiquity.

The Anglesey Arms Pub is nestled into the side of the medieval stone wall which borders the Royal city of Caernarfon, and sits on the seawall facing Anglesey Island, overlooking the Menai Straight. I find it delightfully refreshing to sit with a pint on the seawall and enjoy the sights and sounds. The people are so friendly that it is easy to meet not only locals but worldly travelers.

This pub bustles with unpretentious crowds of mixed age groups and all walks of life. It has excellent, cheerful service, good food and a B&B upstairs (which I would love to review, but sadly haven't yet). Pool tables and dart boards team with participants, there are regular live entertainment and a pub quiz nights. There is outdoor seating which, when the weather is right, offers you that breathtaking view. Just. Fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Larkspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic meal”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a real pub in a great setting on the waters edge under the castle so it had a good start!
On the night we were there they had a curry night cooked in the bar after you picked your own ingredients - it smelt really good.
We ate from the pub menu - Scollops and Sea Bass with ample portions and fantastic quality with efficient and very friendly service and on top of that very reasonably priced - £8.95 for the Sea Bass!
The only problem with this place is that it's in Wales and we were on holiday otherwise we would be there every week.
Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level Contributor
184 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Location with Good Food”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We enjoyed our fish and chips with a pint at the Anglesey. Wonderful location just outside the Castle walls facing West towards a lovely sunset and lots of birds. We even were treated to a display of Morris Dancing along the quay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DONT GO HERE”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

First of all we came here for a holliday, we was told to come to this pub due to its food, was told there was free parking which there is not, as for the food, uterlay disgusting the lamb burger tasted of nothing and the bun was stale, as for the irish starters yeah right what a load of [--]it, we complained to the NEW manager about the food, who then and went and brought the chef out to our table, who reeked of lager and slurring his words, who then started to argue with us, shouting and swearing at us, telling us we dint no what we was talking about, profesinal cowboys I think that's the word on this place, DO NOT GO HEAR WOULD NOT RECOMEND IT TO MY DOG,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank joesph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Anglesey Arms also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Llanddeiniolen, Caernarfon
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Anglesey Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing