We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow is not the word” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anglesey Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Slow is not the word”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch as the pub looked nice and has a great location overlooking the water. Inside was not that great, quite grubby with a stale beer smell lingering. But we over looked this and ordered 3 sandwiches. One arrived, then we were left for 40 mins?!? After asking at the bar, the dis-interested staff said they would find out where the food was but never returned!? Service is atrocious and they obviously prefer locals to tourists pouring money into their accounts?

Avoid if you are looking for a quick lunch and decent service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Chadam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    25
    19
    15
    29
See reviews for
34
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Well kept ales and nice atmosphere.lovely views of the harbour and he castle with free parking.nice mix of locals and tourist trade.access for disabled visitors at the rear into the public.on the edge of the castle walls

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Heard the pub had recently been taken over through new Facebook page and decided to stay there on our travels to Caernefron. What a stunning place, a must visit in Wales! I was a bit hesitatent reading the old reviews, but they could not be more untrue and to think it has only been under new management for 2 weeks! Really fantastic fresh food with creative menu and happy to accommodate the food to suit my food needs. Very friendly polite service, clean hotel rooms, lots of entertainment and the best views in the town!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I heard that the place had been taken over, so was keen to go down and take a look. The staff are lovely, so friendly and welcoming! There was a lively atmosphere and everyone looked like they were enjoying themselves! There was also great entertainment on! The food was gorgeous, really nice!! Rooms were clean and had that homely feeling which was nice! And to top it all off, the views were amazing and so pretty, especially watching the sun setting! I had a lovely time and would defiantly take a trip down there again!:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiraClutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I visited this hotel with my wife last week to have a bar meal. I have never been so dissappointed . My wife ordered a gammon which was so thin and tough that it was inedible.As far as the service goes this was not much better, nobody came to check that everything was ok and no comment was made that my wife's plate was barely touched. The quality of the food and service was very poor. As a local I feel the standard of this hotel does not reflect what is available in the local area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john_r186431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caernarfon hotels

Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013 via mobile

Poor service, rooms not the cleanest and very noisy below the room, no receipt as they do not open in mornings, hence no breakfast. Free parking a bonus but need to step and improve I will always look at other options and this would be down the bottom of the list?

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank NSTSAFETY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

No breakfast. No cleaning. Same Dirty laundry left in corridor from monday to wednesday. Had to ask in the public bar if we could have toilet roll!!!!!!! Not something u should ever have to do. Rooms are not touched EVER during your stay. Had same dirty mugs for three days!! Bathroom floor covered in pubic hair and obviously not been cleaned for some time, evidence of this is the decorative dusty cobwebs that span the ceiling!!!!! Oh and the shower, if u are over 5 ft 10 then you wont be able to stand up. I kid u not. Also such a small cubicle it is difficult to close door and then be able to move! The toilet had also seen some action- enough said about that. Very noisy full of teenagers not for anyone who wants to sleep! Very difficult to get served as staff seem to be too busy chatting and swearing. U guessed it. We will not be returning. Such a shame because it is a fantastic location. If only the owners woke up and realised this.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milly1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.3 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
1.5 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#6 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms Hotel

Property: The Anglesey Arms Hotel
Address: Harbour Front, Caernarfon LL55 1SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a public house in Caernafon formally "the old port Customs house" adjoinng the Castle walls by the seafront, serving fresh seafood on the seafront wall with stunning views of every sunset over the menia straights, we have three rooms, and a newly introduced restaraunt(Irishes) featuring Irish chef and Co Owner Sean Devlin.Boats now deliver freshly caught fish, outside events are now plannned for the rest of the summer.These will include hog-roasts-live music events-and theatre style cooking with a look at doing live training out in our forecourt/patio area!!.We have recently taken this venue over and are striving to return this old girl to her former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anglesey Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing