We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good views over the Straits” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Anglesey Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Wales
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good views over the Straits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We chose this pub for lunch at random as we only wanted sandwiches for lunch. The sandwiches were on our table within about 10 minutes of ordering. i ordered cheese and onion which came with a few salad items and some crisps. The red onion in the salad and sandwich seemed to be pickled which i thought was rather strange. However, the sandwiches were still very pleasant. We chose a window seat and had a good view over the Straits to Anglesey on a beautiful day. The sandwiches, beer and coffee were reasonably priced, the pub was quiet so we didn't feel rushed and just enjoyed the view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    25
    19
    15
    29
See reviews for
34
57
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

If you look up the word "Mediocrity"... The Anglesey Arms, Caernarfon would fit the definition very well.
Beer was 'off' and had to be returned. Food was unappetising and overcooked. Staff were slack.
Apart from an excellent view of the harbour there was very little to recommend it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Caernarfon hotels

Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Last Wednesday morning I decided to take my 9 year-old grandson to see Caernarfon Castle, and looked for overnight accommodation in the town. I was a bit hesitant about the Anglesey after reading the reviews, but I decided to give it a chance as the setting was so spectacular, and I am VERY glad that I did! Overlooked by the Eagle Tower, the building dates back to the 17th century and was originally the Customs House, although there has been something on the site since the castle was built. It's a busy pub with rooms rather than a hotel or guest house, and not for you if you want silence, but I will definitely go back, even at a weekend when they have live music until 1am! Our room, a twin, was beautifully clean, as was the shared bathroom, and the service was friendly and helpful. The chef is Irish, and makes a great risotto. My sea bass was perfectly cooked, and I recommend the mussels and the home-made burgers! The owners have only been there for a few weeks and they have great plans for the future so I look forward to returning and seeing the changes .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a quick lunch as the pub looked nice and has a great location overlooking the water. Inside was not that great, quite grubby with a stale beer smell lingering. But we over looked this and ordered 3 sandwiches. One arrived, then we were left for 40 mins?!? After asking at the bar, the dis-interested staff said they would find out where the food was but never returned!? Service is atrocious and they obviously prefer locals to tourists pouring money into their accounts?

Avoid if you are looking for a quick lunch and decent service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Chadam81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

Well kept ales and nice atmosphere.lovely views of the harbour and he castle with free parking.nice mix of locals and tourist trade.access for disabled visitors at the rear into the public.on the edge of the castle walls

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Heard the pub had recently been taken over through new Facebook page and decided to stay there on our travels to Caernefron. What a stunning place, a must visit in Wales! I was a bit hesitatent reading the old reviews, but they could not be more untrue and to think it has only been under new management for 2 weeks! Really fantastic fresh food with creative menu and happy to accommodate the food to suit my food needs. Very friendly polite service, clean hotel rooms, lots of entertainment and the best views in the town!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LillyHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I heard that the place had been taken over, so was keen to go down and take a look. The staff are lovely, so friendly and welcoming! There was a lively atmosphere and everyone looked like they were enjoying themselves! There was also great entertainment on! The food was gorgeous, really nice!! Rooms were clean and had that homely feeling which was nice! And to top it all off, the views were amazing and so pretty, especially watching the sun setting! I had a lovely time and would defiantly take a trip down there again!:)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiraClutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.3 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
1.5 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#6 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms Hotel

Property: The Anglesey Arms Hotel
Address: Harbour Front, Caernarfon LL55 1SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a public house in Caernafon formally "the old port Customs house" adjoinng the Castle walls by the seafront, serving fresh seafood on the seafront wall with stunning views of every sunset over the menia straights, we have three rooms, and a newly introduced restaraunt(Irishes) featuring Irish chef and Co Owner Sean Devlin.Boats now deliver freshly caught fish, outside events are now plannned for the rest of the summer.These will include hog-roasts-live music events-and theatre style cooking with a look at doing live training out in our forecourt/patio area!!.We have recently taken this venue over and are striving to return this old girl to her former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Anglesey Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing