We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location to die for, food and service to die from....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stunning sunny evening and a few beers over looking the harbour outside a beautiful old pub. That's where the Anglesey Arms charms end. We ordered food. My heart sank as I unrolled the "Treasure Map" menu... I was there for work, so not my call. The menu sounded pretty bleak, several types of burger, my companions all had variations of them, they were all horribly over cooked, the greasy cheese in a solid lump unmelted on top, limp salad...no flavour, no finesse, no care. My fillet steak I thought would be a safe bet at least. It came with bad gravy all over it. Pooling into the soggy salad with old tomato on it. No care in cooking, preparing or presenting a prime bit of Welsh beef. I felt sad. That cost somebody £26...no words to describe that further - I knew what was coming when I ordered from the rude unsmiling bored looking barman when he put the order through without asking how I would like myTWENTY SIX quid steak cooked. Sigh. The "service" was as terrible as the "food". No smiles, no care, no cutlery, no condiments, not bothered. The worst service and food I've had since school dinners. Appalling.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank katevaughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for The Anglesey Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

You could not get nearer to one of the UK's finest historic monuments. This hotel actually abuts Caernarfon Castle. There's a very pleasant view across the port and out into the Menai Straits.
Such a shame, therefore, that the furnishings, décor and facilities have been allowed to age and deteriorate. A complete refurbishment is needed. En-suites to replace the shared bathroom; modern furniture to replace the drab wardrobes; clean plush carpeting throughout.
In its present condition, this hotel is substantially over-priced.

Room Tip: The view from the twin room window is very restricted. It lies directly over the bar which had loud...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Called into the Anglesey for lunch and had Fish & Chips which were superb.
It was such a lovely day so I dined outside.
The setting of this pub is magnificent and the new owners are really putting this pub on the map.
Will definitely return to try their Sunday lunch Carvery.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank 421b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to Caernarfon for a day out , lucikily the weather was superb . We decided to have our lunch here, as the view from the pub were great. We ordered the Welsh rarebit, fish and chips, and the afternoon tea, all were cent sized portions and well priced. The Welsh rarebit in particular was full of flavour and delicious , my wife said the fish and chips were the best she's tasted in a long time . The staff were a credit to the establishment and I would thoroughly recommend a visit,,.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The Anglesey Arms certainly lacks finesse, but it is a great local boozer with open-mic nights, very friendly staff, Sky TV in one bar, a reasonable though basic range of beer. The location is up there with the best in the town, on the sea front right next to the magnificent castle with just the best sunset views. One thing to note – we were staying on the other side of the Afon Seiont, the river that falls into the Menai Strait. The footbridge across the river is a swingbridge that is open (ie closed to pedestrians) from 11pm – 7am. As the bridge attendant cheerfully shouted back when we asked how we were to get home as we exited the pub at 11.01pm, “Taxi”.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dellaph_Kite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

For some reason, the Anglesey has become our base point when we’re in Caernarfon, not because it’s a pub - there are many others around although this is a pretty good one - but because of its location. It’s nestled, or dwarfed, by the walls of Caernarfon Castle, and it’s right on the waterfront. This gives you excellent sunset views, sitting at your outdoor table, with a pint or whatever.

The location is so good that they can charge slightly more for their drinks that other places, and get away with it, but I don’t see that as a negative. The Anglesey’s management are simply charging what their customers are willing to pay, and it’s the location that carries a surcharge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

pub looks rather grotty but dont let that put you off. had great food and setvice. home made chutneys and lovely details. friendly service with amazing views right over the bay and very close to rhe castle entrance

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank mirandat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,023 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Anglesey Arms
The Anglesey Arms
#4 of 5 in Menai Bridge
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Menai Bank Hotel
Menai Bank Hotel
#7 of 8 in Caernarfon
201 reviews
3.3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anglesey Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anglesey Arms Hotel

Address: Harbour Front, Caernarfon LL55 1SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Price Range: £43 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a public house in Caernafon formally "the old port Customs house" adjoinng the Castle walls by the seafront, serving fresh seafood on the seafront wall with stunning views of every sunset over the menia straights, we have three rooms, and a newly introduced restaraunt(Irishes) featuring Irish chef and Co Owner Sean Devlin.Boats now deliver freshly caught fish, outside events are now plannned for the rest of the summer.These will include hog-roasts-live music events-and theatre style cooking with a look at doing live training out in our forecourt/patio area!!.We have recently taken this venue over and are striving to return this old girl to her former glory. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Anglesey Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Anglesey Arms Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing