We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuk!”
Review of Morrisons Cafe

Morrisons Cafe
Ranked #68 of 104 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Cuisines: Cafe
Restaurant details
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yuk!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The standard of hygiene here leaves a lot to be desired. Dirty trays and mugs, just dirty all round. Food was cold on arrival too.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HeritageHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    12
    2
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An exception to the rule”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I am a great fan of Morrisons cafes as I think on the whole the food is decent (breakfasts are excellent) and tasty and the cost is more4 than reasonable.
While I have visited this and many other Morrisons cafes Caernarfon's store is by far the worst.
To start with the service is very, very poor. The staff are on the whole pretty ignorant and I have often stood at the till while the 2 or 3 staff chat and mess about totally ignoring me and have seen them behave exactly the same with others. It would be ok if they were to say "sorry, will be with you shortly", but they don't they just ignore you and don't even say sorry when they do decide to serve you. This is not a one off experience it happens many times.
It is by far the dirtiest Morrisons café. Every time I have visited the majority of the self service trays are dirty as is the cutlery. Also the tables are very infrequently cleared and many times you have to remove the previous diners stuff to another table in order to get a seat.
The only redeeming feature is as stated at the beginning of this review. the food, especially the breakfasts, is delicious and cheap.
I'm bnow getting to the point where I am going to write to their head office regarding my views on this.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillyBlueboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Porridge and tea”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Service was pretty poor - they were pre-occupied with arguing over something to do with their stock. The porridge took quite a while to come, but was brought to the table and was tasty. The tea was good. Fresh whole milk available. Blue lights in the toilets. Watch out for marauding smack-heads.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank HJ0RD4N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great value,great service.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Met friends here for a meal before doing our shop for our caravan holiday further down the coast.Fantastic value for money,food extremely well presented.Great service and friendly banter from the waitress,(i think her name was Dawn).We will be back,thank you.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Meeby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent good value breakfast”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Whilst staying at the travelodge on 10th April next morning we headed over to morrisons for a quick breakfast. It was very popular and we got the last table. The staff were very efficient and although we were told approx 20 minute wait it was only 10. We sampled scrambled egg on toast. It was enormous and very nice and left us not wanting any lunch. Even the grandchildren passed on ice cream later in the day because they were still full. Top marks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Morrisons Cafe also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Morrisons Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing