We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch today at Wal”
Review of Wal

Wal
Ranked #8 of 108 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Welsh
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great lunch today at Wal”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Visited during my lunch hour with family today, it was buzzing, full of families, visitors and locals. I loved the atmosphere. The staff were excellent, friendly and attentive. They provided a high chair within seconds of arriving, took out order promptly, the food arrived at our table soon after. The food was freshly prepared and was good value for money. The children's portion was generous. Will visit again, thank you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    149
    51
    37
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Tapas surprise....in a really good way!”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We weren't really expecting much from a tapas restaurant in Caernarfon, but what an excellent surprise. The food was very good and the menu was quite varied. Try the slow-cooked pork belly - it melts in the mouth. The squid was light and crisp, the croquettes were delicious. Nothing was disappointing at all. The wait staff are polite and friendly with just the right amount of attentiveness.
The whole experience was a delight and I highly recommend the Wal as an excellent alternative to standard pub fare. Well done!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank wanderingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Swift and friendly”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have yet to visit WAL for dinner, it is definitely on my 'to do soon' list, but have lunched there several times.
The food is first rate, the service incredibly swift, if you order a coffee thinking to drink it whilst waiting for your meal I can guarantee you will hardly take a sip.
All of the staff are cheerful, chatty and seem to really love what they do.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Talaspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treuddyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good food and lovely staff”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

9 of us visited here as part of a long weekend hen do. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant. Staff were very friendly and accommodating (I like to think we were also well behaved!). Food is good and reasonably priced. I had a little steak which was perfectly cooked and very flavourful, along with chips and a delicious chopped salad. Some in our party were a bit miffed at the lack of Parmesan cheese however, apparently they just don't have any...c'mon you're an Italian restaurant! OK Italian food, but I think the steak was better.

Helpful?
Thank Holsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good selection, good service, good food”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Ate here one Saturday night and had a really nice meal. Staff were really helpful, food was very nice and the menu selection was varied. Mainly Italian but steaks and standard uk dishes available too. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank JAYZEE79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wal also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Wal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing