We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wal

Wal
Ranked #8 of 103 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Popped into Wal before catching the train up the road in Bangor and was pleasantly surprised with what we stumbled across. Friendly staff, nice surroundings, great prices but most importantly the incredibly tasty food. Everything was fresh and home made making the experience all the better. Would certainly recommend if people are in the area and want somewhere nice to go.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulabelly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    138
    45
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“'Retirement Bash'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Very attentive and friendly staff who were understanding when one of our party was running late. The 'Aberdovey Fish' starter was superb, seafood risotto generously lavished with mussels and the apple and cinnamon tart a great dessert. Would like to have seen more dessert choice but the busy restaurant obviously has to cater for a vast number of customers. Splitting the bill when we paid was done by a very helpful waiter. Thanks to all the staff who made the retirement bash for one of our teachers memorable for all the right reasons.

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to grab a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Wandering around Caernarfon, we wanted somewhere for a quick lunch. Wal fit the bill perfectly. Staff were really friendly, and service great. And the food....wow. The two burgers we ordered were some of the best our party had ever eaten (we're Londoners with a variety of overpriced burger restaurants on our doorstep, and this bear 99% of them hands down!). One chicken and bacon pie which was fab and a great portion of scampi. We came away overwhelmingly impressed and would recommend to anyone. Thanks for a great meal!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie_lou2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rest those weary legs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

After several hours of hiking around Snowdon we settled for dinner at the Wal. Great food, great staff, and great atmosphere. We asked for a main could be made smaller and had as a starter, which it could. Tremendous

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“dinner for 15 customers pre ordered food in the morning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Terrible service, poorly trained staff, bottle of wine opened without foil being removed and left jagged and obviously if we poured from it the red wine would have gone every where.
One of us ordered rare steak which was blue and cold, no garlic butter came, as was supposed to be with it either. When asked for the garlic butter it was supposed to have a hard refrigerated lump was brought and the steak obviously didn't have enough heat to even melt it onto it!
One vegetarian ordered assorted fungi pizza it came with one ordinary sliced mushroom only in the topping. When it was pointed out to the manager he took it away and a few more were added he returned plonked it in front of my friend and said there you are I counted at least 10 mushrooms on that sarcastically! It was the same pizza kept hot with more plain ordinary mushrooms with the crust dried out, brittle , powdery and absolutely tasteless! His wife also had pizza and the topping on hers was sparse with a good two inches of surrounding dough, dry, powdery and without topping. In no time whilst we were eating did any of the staff come and ask if we were ok or if we wanted more drinks. There is no way I would ever go there again! The manager definitely needs to brush up on his people skills and hospitality and train his staff

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank libby529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wal also viewed

 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Wal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing