We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In a pinch” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“In a pinch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I stayed here because I was unable to find the b+b I was supposed to stay at. It wasn't the fanciest place but it was clean and safe. I was able to get a room last minute, about 7 pm, and the staff was very nice. The breakfast was decent and there is a restaurant on site for dinner. The location in town is good, pretty close to most things and there is parking. I am grateful they had last minute availability.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katyhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    318
    111
    27
    21
See reviews for
180
378
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I visited the celtic royal hotel in preparation to booking a coach group tour from harrogate. www.5daysbreak.co.uk.

I was given a room for the night and was given a tour of the hotel.
On this tour i witness the member of staff look on the computer system for empty rooms of which she took down the numbers ramdon.
I was shown around 5 differnt rooms, twin, double,family and i was most impressed that all the rooms was of the same standard,
1 thing i did pick up on was how clean the rooms was and includeing the bathrooms, the shower area of the bathroom which has white tiles above blue and not 1 water,soap mark on any tiles which is impressive as all shower are used daily, and as said this was in every room i was shown. Well done.

I certainley will be booking 2 group tours into the celtic royal hotel april/november 2012

Well done staff and management of the celtic royal.

Ps while i was there i was reading 2 letters on the wall of a couple that had a honeymoon there in 1941 ( original reciept/ invoice dated 1941 was included) and another letter after staying at the hotel for there 62nd wedding anniversary in 2003. how moving this was to read.


The food was also very nice with a choice of 4 starters,4 mains,4 deserts ( group booking menu only)
Private bookings have additional choices aswell.
Again well done.

Darren

Room Tip: i expect all rooms will be of same stanard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The location was great - walkable to the castle and all of the fun things to see/do. Also you can catch the bus to Bangor right across the street for non drivers (like us)
However the hotel had some problems - our room was on the second floor facing the ASDA - people were outside smoking and talking very loudly at 11:30 and woke us up (by sound and smell -ugh) - the view, ASDA, dont need to say any more. Our (VERY small tv) would cut out every 20 seconds for about 4 seconds making watching tv impossible. The room was TINY and the carpet pretty yuck. The bathroom was even smaller and there was soap but nothing else - for £115 i would expect more! especially off season.
The breakfast was okay but not good. hot food was pretty yuck. Bread and yoghurt were good.
The pool, gym, sauna and steamroom were great though! really impressive! Loved it!
Not sure what other options there are but maybe stay out of town in the country side and take a cab in for dinner. although if you want a gym and pool - maybe try it!?

Room Tip: Away from the ASDA?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzielee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, Cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We stayed at the Celtic Royal as part of a group on a dancing holiday for 3 nights. The hotel is an old building but has been tastefully refurbished and is in excellent condition throughout. The rooms were very spacious and spotless (as was the rest of the hotel) with a bath and shower, flat screen television and good quality furniture. The food served to us was excellent and the staff were friendly and very efficient. The hotel has a first class leisure center, with 16 mtr pool, sauna, jaccuzi and state of the art gym. An indication of the level of cleanliness throughout was a member of staff in swimming costume, in the pool cleaning the tiles. Most of the staff are eastern european and it is easy to see why with their politness and efficiency, nothing being too much trouble for them, all in all a very hard working team.

We look forward very much to another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

A lovely hotel, welcoming, good food, clean and just what we needed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel71Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have just spent two nights at The Royal Celtic.

The hotel is very pleasantly presented, three lovely comfy lounges which would have been perfect with the addition of an open fire.

Everyone is very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is immaculately clean throughout.

Room was small, decor sligtly dated, but perfectly comfortable, no bath, only a shower. We had a beautiful view over the rooftops to the waterfront.

Dinner was very nice, though the menu is not groundbreaking. Breakfast is served buffet style, disapointingly the fruit was tinned, cooked breakfast was lovely, though I was surprised that they couldn't offer a vegetarian sausage, having made a request they did provide on the second day.

The swimming pool is lovely, sauna and steam room ok - jacuzzi too cold though.

The immediate area surrounding the hotel is a bit run down, but a short walk takes you in to the pretty town centre and to the splendid castle.

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return if visiting tis part of the world again.


,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sara30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I stayed in the Celtic Royal for 4 nights on business. The hotel is nicely decorated. The rooms are quite spacious and are very clean. The one downfall is the lack of wifi in the rooms. It is available in the lobby but that isn't very convenient.

Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yddib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
20.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing