We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Time staying”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First Time staying”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed at the Celtic Royal for three nights, The building is very beautiful, rooms are a little dated, with small flatscreen tv's and no DVDs, and no Bath in the bathroom,
Very friendly staff, And happy to help, and the food and menu was exceptional,
I would stay again as it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    324
    111
    27
    22
See reviews for
183
381
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in August 2012.

Good points:

Excellent Genuine Free Wifi available in our room!!!
Large room
Sea View
Good Price
Breakfast Included
Central Location
Good Shower with plenty of hot water
Helpful and friendly staff

Bad Points:

Weak breakfast with tinned fruit on offer
Old smelling room

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My daughter booked a weekend away for my wife and myself at the Celtic Royal Hotel. we arrived early to find our room already. The room was very clean and tidy and spacious with everything we needed. The bed was very large and comfy. The evenig meal was excellant, and can not be faulted, as was the breakfast, which was plentiful and the choice was excellant.
The staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them.
had we known about the leisure facilities we would have used them. The Hotel was ideally placed for visiting the town.
we will definately return and use the hotel again in the future

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Used this busy hotel (lots of coach parties) as a base for exploring the surrounding coast line of wonderful coves and sandy beaches. It has everything you need; a fairly basic but clean and comfortable room, relaxing public rooms and very good swimming pool. The breakfast is limited but well prepared. The hot buffet is strangely placed just outside the restaurant's door. No vegetarian sausages but, following a request, these were provided on subsequent mornings. We ate one evening in the bar. The food was reasonably priced but nothing special. (Best food in Caernarfon is Ainsworth's fish and chips along the road. No inside eating but take food down to the sea, sit on a bench and watch the sunset.) Like just about eveywhere else, food is served only until 8 or 9 in the evenings. Staff are helpful and friendly. We found a good nightly rate on the internet and it was very good value for money. Woken at 3.30 one morning by a (false) fire alarm and the car received a dent to the rear wing but despite this we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: The rooms at the very rear overlook the main bypass and must suffer from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 212Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Oh where to start. Do I rank it appalling or excellent. A surreal experience in any case.
North Wales and the journey down the A55. Directions on the booking.com android app useless but you can see the back of the hotel from where it says you have arrived and take a guess how to get to the front.

An impressive building from the front, with the hotel name in Welsh not English above the entrance so watch out, not quite so charming from the rear but then much the same could be said of me. But the view out from the rear was much better than the view over the derelict workshop and boarded up pub from the front. Lovely foyer, helpful staff, lift that works, thick carpets. So far so good. Out onto the 2nd floor, then you need a sat nav and climbing gear to find the room, up and down, round bends. Eventually the room, and the wow factor hits you, assuming you're into chintz. Huge room, four poster bed, big clean bathroom. Windows that let in the gale blowing outside, lamps with no inline switches so you have to use the main socket to operate them. The stunning 4 poster with sumptuous purple bedspread has such a cheap and nasty foam mattress when you sit on it you end up going right through to the board underneath. Free wifi works in the room, great. Then to a meal in the bar. Great fresh cod with beautiful mixed salad but horrid little sachets of condiments. Free wifi means I can watch the i-player whilst eating in a darkish corner. But then horror of horrors, a pub singer who you could imagine being one of those X Factor wannabes they slot in to take the pee out of the confused and demented starts up (sorry mate but credit for standing there with the mike, I wouldn't do it) and the bar suddenly packs out with a party of over80's. It was entertaining but probably not in the way intended. As he entered his Beatles medley I retired to the foyer only to discover the hotel has mobile phone black spots, and was treated to a mandolin version of the theme from Titanic interspersed with the remote strains of a bad Spandau Ballet Gold rendition coming from the direction of the bar.  I am awake and not in some psychedelic bizarre dream state. I stabbed myself with a fork to make sure and it hurt and I didn't wake up. 

With the terrible mattress, and very flat pillows - only one per side of a double bed so good job I hadn't got company that night, I was surprised to get any sleep but I did. No point in trying to watch the telly in bed, head too low and bed corner post and drapes in the way so you have to lean out of bed to see it. Did I mention the enormous, plentiful cushions on the bed that had to be piled up high on a chair just to get in.  Visually posh, practically useless. An ordinary bed, no cushions, but a decent mattress and four plump pillows, would have been far better. To be honest, when I mentioned the mattress on leaving, the receptionist said she would get someone to go and sort it out immediately and I should have said something the night before.

So what to rate this experience as is very difficult. Great staff, huge expensively furnished room, fantastic food, worst mattress and pillows ever though I did sleep, lousy pub singer that drove me out of the bar on a night when a storm precluded a jaunt down the road, assuming there are pubs in the town still open for business, and nasty condiments. It's why I like a nice new Holiday Inn Express. They're easy but non existent this far West.  To be honest it's not the hotel's fault a couple of businesses opposite have gone to the wall, and the area around is as jaw droppingly stunning as anywhere in the world. On balance 4/5 for something different but won't be back unless you sort the mattresses and offer proper mayo, tartare sauce, and vinegar in a bottle. If you are eclectic in tastes and don't mind upmarket class metres away from a scaled down copy of Neptunes Bar from  Benidorm full of pensioners this is for you. If you like the business hotel chain standard like I do this probably won't appeal but they don't do business chain hotels around here so it's tough. It was an experience that's for sure, and truth is not an unpleasant one just very very different. Being able to watch the i-player on an i-pad was an excellent bonus, as were a brilliant room rate at £67.50, and pub level bar and food prices. Plus the leisure centre is free for guests. The story of this hotel is expensive class juxtaposed with cheap and nasty which can easily be fixed. Much much better than a Travelodge, which seem to just be cheap and nasty with no redeeming features these days and for the same price. 

Room Tip: Be warned that to get to many rooms requires lots of stairs as corridors aren't on one level. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days from 19th August 2012 with Edwards Coaches and had a great time. The staff were so friendly, the food was excellent the hotel looked as if it had just been re-carpeted and the rooms looked fresh as they had been re-painted this year. I'm a 71 year old female.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmes Chapel
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This time we had a family visit for four days and it was a great success. The food was excellent with good and Interesting choices at dinner. The buffet breakfast was always plentiful and empty dishes refilled quickly by the hard working and ever willing staff. The family made a lot of use of the
leisure facilities particularly the swimming pool.
The hotel thrives on keeping busy. It was full the whole time we were there but never gave the impression of being overcrowded. Granddaughter aged 11 did not want to leave!

Room Tip: Room 319 has a double and two single beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ancienttrveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
402 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing