We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Black Boy Inn(Caernarfon)
US$146
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
YHA Snowdon Bryn Gwynant(Caernarfon)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Snowdon Pen-Y-Pass(Caernarfon)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Groeslyn Ty Mawr B & B(Llanddeiniolen)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ty Dre Town House(Caernarfon)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel(Caernarfon)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel(Caernarfon)(Great Value!)
US$58
Travelodge
View Deal
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,156)
Filter reviews
1,156 results
Traveller rating
542
413
139
33
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
413
139
33
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiescoach partiessauna and steam roomlovely hotelcoach tripswimming poolbuffet stylegood sizereception areapublic areasevening mealdouble bednorth walestown centrecaernarfon castlefamily roomboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
981 - 986 of 1,156 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in August 2012.

Good points:

Excellent Genuine Free Wifi available in our room!!!
Large room
Sea View
Good Price
Breakfast Included
Central Location
Good Shower with plenty of hot water
Helpful and friendly staff

Bad Points:

Weak breakfast with tinned fruit on offer
Old smelling room

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

My daughter booked a weekend away for my wife and myself at the Celtic Royal Hotel. we arrived early to find our room already. The room was very clean and tidy and spacious with everything we needed. The bed was very large and comfy. The evenig meal was excellant, and can not be faulted, as was the breakfast, which was plentiful and the choice was excellant.
The staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them.
had we known about the leisure facilities we would have used them. The Hotel was ideally placed for visiting the town.
we will definately return and use the hotel again in the future

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Used this busy hotel (lots of coach parties) as a base for exploring the surrounding coast line of wonderful coves and sandy beaches. It has everything you need; a fairly basic but clean and comfortable room, relaxing public rooms and very good swimming pool. The breakfast is limited but well prepared. The hot buffet is strangely placed just outside the restaurant's door. No vegetarian sausages but, following a request, these were provided on subsequent mornings. We ate one evening in the bar. The food was reasonably priced but nothing special. (Best food in Caernarfon is Ainsworth's fish and chips along the road. No inside eating but take food down to the sea, sit on a bench and watch the sunset.) Like just about eveywhere else, food is served only until 8 or 9 in the evenings. Staff are helpful and friendly. We found a good nightly rate on the internet and it was very good value for money. Woken at 3.30 one morning by a (false) fire alarm and the car received a dent to the rear wing but despite this we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: The rooms at the very rear overlook the main bypass and must suffer from traffic noise.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 212Simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Oh where to start. Do I rank it appalling or excellent. A surreal experience in any case.
North Wales and the journey down the A55. Directions on the booking.com android app useless but you can see the back of the hotel from where it says you have arrived and take a guess how to get to the front.

An impressive building from the front, with the hotel name in Welsh not English above the entrance so watch out, not quite so charming from the rear but then much the same could be said of me. But the view out from the rear was much better than the view over the derelict workshop and boarded up pub from the front. Lovely foyer, helpful staff, lift that works, thick carpets. So far so good. Out onto the 2nd floor, then you need a sat nav and climbing gear to find the room, up and down, round bends. Eventually the room, and the wow factor hits you, assuming you're into chintz. Huge room, four poster bed, big clean bathroom. Windows that let in the gale blowing outside, lamps with no inline switches so you have to use the main socket to operate them. The stunning 4 poster with sumptuous purple bedspread has such a cheap and nasty foam mattress when you sit on it you end up going right through to the board underneath. Free wifi works in the room, great. Then to a meal in the bar. Great fresh cod with beautiful mixed salad but horrid little sachets of condiments. Free wifi means I can watch the i-player whilst eating in a darkish corner. But then horror of horrors, a pub singer who you could imagine being one of those X Factor wannabes they slot in to take the pee out of the confused and demented starts up (sorry mate but credit for standing there with the mike, I wouldn't do it) and the bar suddenly packs out with a party of over80's. It was entertaining but probably not in the way intended. As he entered his Beatles medley I retired to the foyer only to discover the hotel has mobile phone black spots, and was treated to a mandolin version of the theme from Titanic interspersed with the remote strains of a bad Spandau Ballet Gold rendition coming from the direction of the bar.  I am awake and not in some psychedelic bizarre dream state. I stabbed myself with a fork to make sure and it hurt and I didn't wake up. 

With the terrible mattress, and very flat pillows - only one per side of a double bed so good job I hadn't got company that night, I was surprised to get any sleep but I did. No point in trying to watch the telly in bed, head too low and bed corner post and drapes in the way so you have to lean out of bed to see it. Did I mention the enormous, plentiful cushions on the bed that had to be piled up high on a chair just to get in.  Visually posh, practically useless. An ordinary bed, no cushions, but a decent mattress and four plump pillows, would have been far better. To be honest, when I mentioned the mattress on leaving, the receptionist said she would get someone to go and sort it out immediately and I should have said something the night before.

So what to rate this experience as is very difficult. Great staff, huge expensively furnished room, fantastic food, worst mattress and pillows ever though I did sleep, lousy pub singer that drove me out of the bar on a night when a storm precluded a jaunt down the road, assuming there are pubs in the town still open for business, and nasty condiments. It's why I like a nice new Holiday Inn Express. They're easy but non existent this far West.  To be honest it's not the hotel's fault a couple of businesses opposite have gone to the wall, and the area around is as jaw droppingly stunning as anywhere in the world. On balance 4/5 for something different but won't be back unless you sort the mattresses and offer proper mayo, tartare sauce, and vinegar in a bottle. If you are eclectic in tastes and don't mind upmarket class metres away from a scaled down copy of Neptunes Bar from  Benidorm full of pensioners this is for you. If you like the business hotel chain standard like I do this probably won't appeal but they don't do business chain hotels around here so it's tough. It was an experience that's for sure, and truth is not an unpleasant one just very very different. Being able to watch the i-player on an i-pad was an excellent bonus, as were a brilliant room rate at £67.50, and pub level bar and food prices. Plus the leisure centre is free for guests. The story of this hotel is expensive class juxtaposed with cheap and nasty which can easily be fixed. Much much better than a Travelodge, which seem to just be cheap and nasty with no redeeming features these days and for the same price. 

Room Tip: Be warned that to get to many rooms requires lots of stairs as corridors aren't on one level. If you have difficulty with stairs call them first to get a suitable room
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 5 days from 19th August 2012 with Edwards Coaches and had a great time. The staff were so friendly, the food was excellent the hotel looked as if it had just been re-carpeted and the rooms looked fresh as they had been re-painted this year. I'm a 71 year old female.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews