We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PLEASANT STAY”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Have just spent 4 nights at the Celtic Royal with a culture group of 31 people on coach tour.
Check in was very rapid as hotel had already sorted out the paperwork and room numbers for our group. We were in a room which appeared to be in a modern wing on 2nd floor with 3 short flights of steps to negotiate to get to room. Good size room with a double and single bed and bathroom with bath and a proper shower fitment over the bath. Room was rather dimly lit and difficult to find a spot to read except in bed. Small modern TV on the wall with poor sound reproduction system. Excellent WiFi coverage in the room but mobile phone coverage very poor..Bed cover was a very heavt weight duvet (horrible but very common in hotels nowadays)which was not long enought to provide cover for a tall person.The two small windows overlooked the large interior area of the hotel which now extends around four sides of a square.
We were given a set time for breakfast and dinner which was very sensible given the number of guests (3 coach parties on most days). Breakfast was self service from a large selection of hot and cold items. For dinner we were offered a reasonable selection of dishes from the menu of the day. The standard of the cuisine was very good for a three star hotel. The wine list has a large selection of very drinkable wines at the £15.95 price level. The service was provided by a largely female staff of friendly and willing Euro[pean girls.
The hotel has a large car park and is opposite an Asda supermarket and a short walk from the castle and town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Celtic Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed 1 night in the Celtic Manor with my wife and found a little gem of a hotel. Friendly staff lovely clean bedroom and a fantastic high quality full English breakfast. Did not get chance to use the pool or spa but will do on our next stay. My only minor criticism was the pillows I had were very thin and not to my liking but never thought to ask to change them. Will do next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnGillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed only one night at this hotel, as part of a coach tour, but! it was a very pleasent stay.
Very nice room excellent food.Nice location. Overall we would be pleased
to stay here for longer, given the oportunity.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 99CEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed from Monday to Friday 10th - 12th September. Great hotel; luggage unloaded and transported to bedroom top marks; welcome at reception really friendly and helpful; bedroom decor great; dining staff friendly and helpful; food good; lovely lounging areas with comfortable, lush sofas.

Room Tip: If disabled make sure you request a suitable room...I had a lovely room but after the lift there wer...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Valerie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Booked last minute, for two nights, so as to meet up with family members on Anglesey. A lovely hotel, very clean and well kept all round. Very competent staff and good choice of breakfast items. Had a singer as in house entertainment on one of our nights which was lovely. Very pleasant public bar/bistro area and lounges and excellent gym/pool areas. Would recommend highly and would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: A little noisy in the front rooms of the hotel - recommend rear rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank istanbulliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Wonderful entrance hall and staircase
Friendly staff
Lovelly pool though a little crowded, great buffet breakfast, rooms clean and comfortable but a little small especially the en-suit bathroom.
Close enough to the new marina and the Castle

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stridles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

It's always difficult trying to find a hotel of high standards in north Wales and this was on a recommendation, we were pleasantly surprised with the Celtic Royal. It's a hotel with lots of character with a lovely reception area and lounges. The restaurant was elegantly decorated. The bedrooms a little on the small side but clean & comfortable. Food was good for breakfast and an excellent chioce of restaurant or Bistro. We ate in the Bistro both nights, the food was absolutely delicious and excellent value. Hotel is situated close to the marina area and also the castle. It was a great base for lots of other places to visit,such as snowdonia and a number of lovely beaches. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the overall standard was very good,would highly recommend. Lots of car parking!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevenhector123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,310 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
11.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £75 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing