We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveller rating
563
428
143
34
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
563
428
143
34
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure facilities coach parties sauna and steam room lovely hotel swimming pool coach trip buffet style good size reception area north wales double bed evening meal public areas caernarfon castle town centre family room both nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,011 - 1,016 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Wonderful old hotel. Bedroom large, clean and comfortable. Food and choice at every meal excellent. Staff always polite and very helpfuland accommodated my husbands mobility scooter in the Board room!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enid h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The hotel is a lovely place to stay, everthing was fine apart from the heating was constantly on! Very warm and found it hard to sleep throughout the night, but apart from that it was a pleasant weekend away.

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fjfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

What a wonderful Hotel from the start of our stay until the the end every thing was superb.Plenty of free parking. the hotel is close to all the tourist attractions.The breakfast and evening meal were excellent and great value for the money. There was a free to use swiming pool at the hotel .

Room tip: Our room was quiet and faced the back of the hotel I cannot speak on any other rooms.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

the celtic royal is in a seriously downbeat/derelict area of the town, but the hotel itself imposes as you approach. the facade and the reception area are grand, the staff friendly and efficient. the hotel is very clean. there is a smart restaurant and bar/bistro. there is a leisure centre.
then we went to our room.
we had a room that felt more like a single being used as a double, a bit poky. it had one medium sized window looking onto drab roofs. the furniture was cheap, tired and again drab, the curtains plasticky and flowery. there was a lace curtain. the en suite was ok, except we had to wrench the shower door open and kick it shut - this must have delighted our neighbours but we had no choice. the shower was fabulously powerful and the towels fluffy if a bit small. the toiletires again very cheap B&B style.
some of the rooms are in a newer section and some at the front may have more room and bigger windows/better light, but my heart did sink when i walked in to our room, especially as we had just stayed at the fantastically stylish and comfortable Castle Hotel in Conwy. how odd it felt to be in a 4 star hotel where the room is less inspiring than a cheap B&B! it just didn't fit. with a very little refurbishment of this type of room, the hotel would have been perfect for our needs.
another oddity that never happened to me before is that our room was serviced so late. twice we got back at 3.30, and the chambermaids had not been in. the 1st time i thought it was a genuine mistake and rang for towels/milk and we did the bed and tidied up ourselves. the next day we got back later and all was fine, the 3rd day again at 3.30 and nothing done. it meant we had our room serviced only ONCE in a stay of 4 nights! the breakfast is a very good tho' not a top class buffet, and be very careful not to go for breakfast between 7.30-8.30 as this is when all the coach parties are serviced before taking off for the day amd the only word is pandemonium.
the staff in the restaurant and throughout the hotel is plentiful and brilliantly helpful. all we asked for was always provided and provided immediately.
we ate twice in the restaurant and again were very impressed. the menu was varied enough, all was well cooked and presented and a 3 course dinner at £18.95 very reasonable indeed. there was a good choice of wines and we had a solid pinot grigio.
my husband particularly enjoyed his crab salad and we both had lamb with a pea and mint jus which was lovely. vegetables were well cooked and plentiful. on the second night i tried fish, fillet of sea bass if my memory serves me well, and it was perfectly cooked with good saute potatoes and vegetables. my husband enjoyed lemon tart one night and a chocolate dessert the next and i had lovely welsh cheeses with grapes and celery.
the only hiccup at dinner was the wine was not cold enough but we used ice cubes from our jug of iced water to cool it!
this was a very odd hotel experience indeed. there was nothing wrong with our stay essentially and some parts were very very good indeed. however the time warp B&B room just did not fit with the rest of the hotel and i did feel quite sad as otherwise this hotel - despite being coach party heaven & a bit too busy at times - could hit 4 and even 4 and a half stars. we would go again, but i would now ask if there are any better rooms available before booking again. i'd certainly recommend going out of season as in summer it must be so busy i wonder if a quiet comfortable stay could really be possible.

Room tip: ask for one in the new annexe or a large room with a larger window in the old hotel - they must be better than the smaller poky ones with small windows!
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Have just spent 4 nights at the Celtic Royal with a culture group of 31 people on coach tour.
Check in was very rapid as hotel had already sorted out the paperwork and room numbers for our group. We were in a room which appeared to be in a modern wing on 2nd floor with 3 short flights of steps to negotiate to get to room. Good size room with a double and single bed and bathroom with bath and a proper shower fitment over the bath. Room was rather dimly lit and difficult to find a spot to read except in bed. Small modern TV on the wall with poor sound reproduction system. Excellent WiFi coverage in the room but mobile phone coverage very poor..Bed cover was a very heavt weight duvet (horrible but very common in hotels nowadays)which was not long enought to provide cover for a tall person.The two small windows overlooked the large interior area of the hotel which now extends around four sides of a square.
We were given a set time for breakfast and dinner which was very sensible given the number of guests (3 coach parties on most days). Breakfast was self service from a large selection of hot and cold items. For dinner we were offered a reasonable selection of dishes from the menu of the day. The standard of the cuisine was very good for a three star hotel. The wine list has a large selection of very drinkable wines at the £15.95 price level. The service was provided by a largely female staff of friendly and willing Euro[pean girls.
The hotel has a large car park and is opposite an Asda supermarket and a short walk from the castle and town.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews