We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my fantastic gorgeous boyfriend for night of cuddles.
The hotel is a grand looking building with the traditional reception hall with original revolving door, Minton tiled floors and oak clad walls. The rooms however are rather dated with 80s style decor albeit clean and tidy. I asked for a double room, we had a room with a small double and a single bed at the front of the hotel. There were a few toiletries and no English tea but the room was ok other than being very hot!
We had continental breakfast served in the room at 6, no butter with the toast! There's leisure facilities which we didn't use, the bar area was nice too. Free parking
We would definately return for £54

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sexyrobsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

885 - 891 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2012

Wonderful old hotel. Bedroom large, clean and comfortable. Food and choice at every meal excellent. Staff always polite and very helpfuland accommodated my husbands mobility scooter in the Board room!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enid h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The hotel is a lovely place to stay, everthing was fine apart from the heating was constantly on! Very warm and found it hard to sleep throughout the night, but apart from that it was a pleasant weekend away.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fjfrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

What a wonderful Hotel from the start of our stay until the the end every thing was superb.Plenty of free parking. the hotel is close to all the tourist attractions.The breakfast and evening meal were excellent and great value for the money. There was a free to use swiming pool at the hotel .

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and faced the back of the hotel I cannot speak on any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

the celtic royal is in a seriously downbeat/derelict area of the town, but the hotel itself imposes as you approach. the facade and the reception area are grand, the staff friendly and efficient. the hotel is very clean. there is a smart restaurant and bar/bistro. there is a leisure centre.
then we went to our room.
we had a room that felt more like a single being used as a double, a bit poky. it had one medium sized window looking onto drab roofs. the furniture was cheap, tired and again drab, the curtains plasticky and flowery. there was a lace curtain. the en suite was ok, except we had to wrench the shower door open and kick it shut - this must have delighted our neighbours but we had no choice. the shower was fabulously powerful and the towels fluffy if a bit small. the toiletires again very cheap B&B style.
some of the rooms are in a newer section and some at the front may have more room and bigger windows/better light, but my heart did sink when i walked in to our room, especially as we had just stayed at the fantastically stylish and comfortable Castle Hotel in Conwy. how odd it felt to be in a 4 star hotel where the room is less inspiring than a cheap B&B! it just didn't fit. with a very little refurbishment of this type of room, the hotel would have been perfect for our needs.
another oddity that never happened to me before is that our room was serviced so late. twice we got back at 3.30, and the chambermaids had not been in. the 1st time i thought it was a genuine mistake and rang for towels/milk and we did the bed and tidied up ourselves. the next day we got back later and all was fine, the 3rd day again at 3.30 and nothing done. it meant we had our room serviced only ONCE in a stay of 4 nights! the breakfast is a very good tho' not a top class buffet, and be very careful not to go for breakfast between 7.30-8.30 as this is when all the coach parties are serviced before taking off for the day amd the only word is pandemonium.
the staff in the restaurant and throughout the hotel is plentiful and brilliantly helpful. all we asked for was always provided and provided immediately.
we ate twice in the restaurant and again were very impressed. the menu was varied enough, all was well cooked and presented and a 3 course dinner at £18.95 very reasonable indeed. there was a good choice of wines and we had a solid pinot grigio.
my husband particularly enjoyed his crab salad and we both had lamb with a pea and mint jus which was lovely. vegetables were well cooked and plentiful. on the second night i tried fish, fillet of sea bass if my memory serves me well, and it was perfectly cooked with good saute potatoes and vegetables. my husband enjoyed lemon tart one night and a chocolate dessert the next and i had lovely welsh cheeses with grapes and celery.
the only hiccup at dinner was the wine was not cold enough but we used ice cubes from our jug of iced water to cool it!
this was a very odd hotel experience indeed. there was nothing wrong with our stay essentially and some parts were very very good indeed. however the time warp B&B room just did not fit with the rest of the hotel and i did feel quite sad as otherwise this hotel - despite being coach party heaven & a bit too busy at times - could hit 4 and even 4 and a half stars. we would go again, but i would now ask if there are any better rooms available before booking again. i'd certainly recommend going out of season as in summer it must be so busy i wonder if a quiet comfortable stay could really be possible.

Room Tip: ask for one in the new annexe or a large room with a larger window in the old hotel - they must be b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hfulton32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Have just spent 4 nights at the Celtic Royal with a culture group of 31 people on coach tour.
Check in was very rapid as hotel had already sorted out the paperwork and room numbers for our group. We were in a room which appeared to be in a modern wing on 2nd floor with 3 short flights of steps to negotiate to get to room. Good size room with a double and single bed and bathroom with bath and a proper shower fitment over the bath. Room was rather dimly lit and difficult to find a spot to read except in bed. Small modern TV on the wall with poor sound reproduction system. Excellent WiFi coverage in the room but mobile phone coverage very poor..Bed cover was a very heavt weight duvet (horrible but very common in hotels nowadays)which was not long enought to provide cover for a tall person.The two small windows overlooked the large interior area of the hotel which now extends around four sides of a square.
We were given a set time for breakfast and dinner which was very sensible given the number of guests (3 coach parties on most days). Breakfast was self service from a large selection of hot and cold items. For dinner we were offered a reasonable selection of dishes from the menu of the day. The standard of the cuisine was very good for a three star hotel. The wine list has a large selection of very drinkable wines at the £15.95 price level. The service was provided by a largely female staff of friendly and willing Euro[pean girls.
The hotel has a large car park and is opposite an Asda supermarket and a short walk from the castle and town.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjg4321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Stayed 1 night in the Celtic Manor with my wife and found a little gem of a hotel. Friendly staff lovely clean bedroom and a fantastic high quality full English breakfast. Did not get chance to use the pool or spa but will do on our next stay. My only minor criticism was the pillows I had were very thin and not to my liking but never thought to ask to change them. Will do next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JohnGillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,363 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,075 reviews
3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £54 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing