We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
546
413
140
33
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
546
413
140
33
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiescoach partiessauna and steam roomlovely hotelcoach tripswimming poolbuffet stylegood sizereception areapublic areasevening mealdouble bednorth walestown centrecaernarfon castlefamily roomboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
966 - 971 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a weekend break. Hotel is easy to find and a short walk from Caernarfon town centre and Victoria Dock. The room was a bit cold on arrival but heating
came on at 4:00pm and temperature was fine after that. We dined in the bistro bar the first night and the food was very good - other residents told us that the restaurant was also pretty good. Prices were reasonable and about par for the course with this level of hotel. The room was comfortable and clean, the shower worked perfectly and there were the normal tea / coffee making facilities. The leisure facilities were excellent, good sized swimming pool, steam room and sauna. The gym is small but well appointed with several running machines, cycles etc. The breakfast was excellent with a very good choice of cereals, fruit, continental cheeses and meats and a very good "English" breakfast buffet.

The hotel is well placed for local restaurants, but beware - they are nearly all closed on Sunday evening!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stopped here for a couple of nights on a whistestop tour of north Wales. Hotel was easy enough to find and looks good from the front despite being surrounded by some dingy buildings. No trouble parking. Friendly helpful reception and staff were all friendly throughout our stay. It's a bit dated and the lift is slow and moody. Room at the top was nice enough. They seem to have a lot of 3 bedroom rooms like ours. Spacious enough but a small double bed plus a single. Odd! And neither was appropriate for us. Just a shower, but we went to the leisure facilities so never used. Unlike some other reports, our room was generally cold as the heating didn't seem to be on in the hotel. Leisure facilities looked nice, but disappointed on a few counts. The steam room was poor because it kept cooling off - it didn't steam enough or often enough. We mentioned to staff and they said they'd try to sort, but obviously failed. There's a nice pool but there's an odd circular area off it that bubbles like a jacuzzi, but is too cold to be one - what a waste. We ate out. Breakfast was distinctly average. Hot food was down a corridor (?!) - bullet eggs and steamed bacon, but it was regularly checked and replenished (so keeping the eggs as bullets was a skill?). No pastries. Coach parties ate at 8:30& 9 so we avoided. The hotel suited our basic needs as it was fairly cheap and it's well situated for the town and locality.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank johnboySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This was a weekend end get-away to Wales with my boyfriend. We were lucky to get to Caernafon on Friday evening and stay there until Monday morning and have great weather all the time we were there.

The hotel is great, the inside is really pretty and classic, the room are comfortable, the staff is very nice and helpful.
We had breakfast (buffet, both English and continental) with plenty to choose from and diner (selection is a bit reduced especially for 3 days but the food was very good and served in good proportion) there every evening.
We also happily had a couple of trip to the SPA, I really liked the steam room and sauna, a bit less the swimming pool because I found that the water was a bit cool for my taste (but then I tend to prefer warmer water, nothing was wrong with the pool temperature).

The only thing that annoyed us during our stay were our neighbours. They were quite noisy, playing the clarinette (very badly) at 8.30am and listening to musical until 11pm is not nice when the partition wall is thin... but this had nothing to do with the hotel quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

booked for four nights dinner b&b for my wifes birthday treat ,and was not dissapointed hotel kindly upgraded us and the room 222 was lovely,the food was excellent infact a very high standard better than the food on a cruise we had earlier in the year ,staff are very polite and exremely helpful the leisure facilities was very good and well maintained,overall the hotel is very clean and well presented, there are quiet areas to sit and read or chill out in comfortable seating,a great asset is the the location its only a short drive to conwy ,anglessy,llanduddno,portmierieon,and the lovely areas of snowdonia ,we had such a great time we decided to stay another day it is real gem of a place and you wont be dissapointed we shall be booking again for our spring holiday a special mention to jon ,briggeta, and all the reception staff thank you

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just spent a weekend at the Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon on a ballroom dancing weekend. This hotel is very nice with good public areas, large bedrooms and an excellent spa.

Breakfast was good, evening meals excellent and all staff very helpful.

My only issue was with the dance floor which I believe would benefit from a good polish.

I would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 304 which had a distant view of the sea and a view of the Castle.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilrconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews