We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling bedroom”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The location and entrance are very good, the staff are excellent, but the bedroom we were first given - well - I thought it was a joke!
The bed was a put-you-up; it folded down from the wall. The mattress was about 3" thick and the size - you could just about call it a double but I've seen singles as large. And this was supposed to be for my wife and myself. After complaining, the staff went to great lengths to help us find an alternative room, this time a twin. Much better, but curiously we could only have the lights on the the bedroom if the light was on in the bathroom (with attendant fan). Turn the bathroom ligh off and no lights in the bedroom. In this day and age, thsi is totally shameful and I would never go there again - especially when there is a Premier Inn just around the corner (note to Celtic Royal - go there and see what a double bed shoudl; look like!)
The bar has a wooden floor and as a result is massively noisey - in fact it is uncomfortable but the foyer and surrounding area is lovely with nice comfortable sofas and a sense pf peace and quiet. This hotel could be fabulous, but clearly the management doesn't have the desire to bring it into this century (not sure the bedrooms would have sufficed for the 19th C let alone the last). Food in the restaurant is OK, maybe a touch pretentious vs the quality that is served. Staff are excellent though and deserve commendation.

Room Tip: Go to the Premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Owner at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

We are delighted that you found our staff excellent. However it is dissapointing to hear that you did not contact our friendly reception staff to sort out your obvious confusion regarding the simple operation of light switch in your bedroom, in fact the bedroom and the bathroom lights can be operated seperately in all our bedrooms.
Your view regarding the wooden floor in the bar is noted, however this surface in the bar area is optimal as it can be thoroughly washed down keeping cleanliness to the highest level ie, no beer or spillage smells.
We may also add that the management at the Celtic Royal take pride in their business, re-investing continuously. The room rate you paid was very good value and included 2 nights accommodation with a 3 course dinner and breakfast for 2 people, full use of our extensive leisure facilities, free car-parking and free wifi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,086 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

What a great hotel 110 line dancers went, the best we have ever stayed in everything was spot on, the staff the hotel swimming pool food couldn't fault it at all The rooms were nice and clean and warm. we never had to wait in the restaurant for our meal and you could eat as much as you want .the staff were excellent.. We will be back in January..

Room Tip: all rooms are good.x
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We were there for 2 days in the middle of November 2012 for a linedance event. This is, without doubt, the best venue we have visited for linedancing. Taking the organisers operation for granted as first class (Daniel Whittaker's "Dance Fever") - the hotel and it's staff exceeded expectations. The hotel is very well presented and the rooms are relatively large and extremely well looked after (they're spotless), the food was 'just right' and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room allocated for dancing was also 'just right'
We'll visit The Celtic Royal again and have no hestitation in recommending it. If there is a 'down-side', our bedroom was rather warm and, in order to switch on the air conditioning unit, I had to stand on a bed. The unit isn't well placed for someone who is only 5' 2" !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raven624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Stayed for a weekend excellent check in.nothing to much trouble very friendly.
Room was great very clean.
Breakfast was good ecellent waitress Gemma.
Dined at night in the havana bar food was great (not expensive).
Overall a great weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipjpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

We stayed here in Mid-August 2012 as part of a family get together. The stay was for just one night and over a weekend.

Despite it being during the middle of the busy holiday season, the hotel did not appear to be full, although there was at least one Coach Party staying at this time.

There is a large car park at the rear of the Hotel but then a steep descent via either steps or a ramp back to the hotel itself.

We were politely welcomed by the Reception Staff and after completing necessary formalities shown up to our rooms.
Ours was on the top floor (Fourth I think) and towards the rear of the complex. The view was not particularly inspiring but there again the hotel is located within the Town Centre.

The Room itself was large, comfortable and clean with a good sized bathroom. Facilities such as flat screen TV and a kettle were provided. Although the furniture was of sturdy construction, both it and the room decor did appear a little dated.

We made use of the Complimentary Spa Facilities which include a swimming pool, sauna and weight room, which again were spotlessly clean. Our evening meal was from a set menu but both tastey and promptly served. Likewise breakfast contained both a Hot Plate and Continental Style, so plenty of choice.

A special word of thanks to the staff who although mostly from Eastern Europe (Hungary in the main) were very polite, welcoming and spoke very good English.

Room Tip: This Hotel is popular for weddings etc, so ask for a room away from the main function room to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

My boyfriend and i stayed here on bonfire night where he proposed to me on the beach. We went back to the hotel and they bought up an ice bucket and glasses at our request as we had purchased some champagne. Didn't receive any congratulations! Memorable for our engagement. The room was clean and they had a nice library and bar area. The only real criticism is the breakfast. The cooked breakfast was buffet style and im not sure it was being kept at the correct temperature.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Really nice hotel,Great location and good restuarant,Bar meals also available,
Some great deals available. Well worth a visit.
Hotel staff very friendly rooms very comfortable.
We stayed just one night and had our evening meal in the restuarant. which was very good quality,

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mar1012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,373 reviews
3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
765 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
448 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £57 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing