We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Celtic Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Black Boy Inn(Caernarfon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Menai Bank Hotel(Caernarfon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Port Dinorwic(Y Felinheli)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tyn Rhos Country House(Llanddeiniolen)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake View(Llanberis)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,112)
Filter reviews
1,112 results
Traveller rating
527
395
130
32
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
395
130
32
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure facilitiescoach partiessauna and steam roomlovely hotelcoach tripswimming poolnice pooldouble and single bedbuffet stylegood sizereception areaevening mealpublic roomsnorth walesthird floorweekend breaktown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
886 - 891 of 1,112 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This is clearly a big and busy hotel (110 rooms I think) but its in super condition, well maintained and must be well run, because it functioned so well during our one night stay.

We really cannot fault it. Town centre location. Lots of Parking. Leisure facilities. Its a real step up from a Travelodge/Premier Inn type hotel and yet, the rate was only £59 for two of us and including breakfast.

Bargain!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan9908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

From the moment of arrival the staff were very attentive and efficient.
Our room was comfortable and well-appointed.
There are plenty of areas throughout the hotel to sit and chat in.
The food (breakfast and evening) was excellent.
The pool was very good.
The staircase is very impressive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swift53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013



Stayed at the Royal Celtic on one of their Valentines offers. Entry through the original revolving doors into a big reception are with an impressive stair case ahead ( there is a disabled entry and a lift). Relaxing settees in areas off reception and a library. Bar and bistro to the left and dining rooms to the right. Straight forward for the 15m pool and spar with jacuzzi , steam and sauna which is free, with the small gym, to guests.
Had asked for a family room with bath and a sea view. And we got it right at the front of the hotel second floor with a view to Anglesey. Thermostatic radiator, flat screen with text and the usual tea and biscuits. NOTE if you like a mug take your own, they supply Tetley tea bags but only four + four milk. 
Room well furnished and recently refurbished, big bath, powerful shower, plenty hanging space in the anteroom wardrobe. Beds proved comfy and not too firm.
I had one or two small requests of the reception staff, a mug, extra tea bags and milk,supplied with a smile and a courteous 'is there anything else sir?' In fact there was ...the deal included the valentines meal and a bottle of Champagne in the room. Instead of that may we have a bottle of house red with the meal please? Certainly sir and that's what we got .
Breakfast was buffet style with a good cold choice including meats and cheese and a range of cereals. Hot buffet was standard fare and if the hotel had been busier it would have been hotter and replenished more often. Still enjoyed though. 
The a la carte menu was outstanding for a three star (AA) hotel. Not a big menu with 5 starters, mains and deserts ...possibly because they were not too busy and you can't afford to possibly waste food.
Among the starters we had Parma ham with goats cheese, and salad : smoked salmon with pumpkin pickle : mains were lamb rump done to a turn pink inside with a caramelised base : sea bass etc etc... Every course a treat and an excellent reflection on the chef. One criticism is that the welsh cheese desert was two pieces of the same pepper cheese and one of a mustard seed variety. As I pointed out to chef with the variety of good welsh cheese it was disappointing. To be fair he agreed. Valentines meal again wonderful, rose for the lady and all tables were for two. 
I've said enough. Excellent hotel, wonderful staff, cracking food and a spar to work it off in. If in doubt go and find out for your self.. As for room number well 215 did for us.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the Celtic Royal hotel from 1st February for 2 nights. Bargain price of £89.00 per night D,B & B. The food was very agreeable and the service excellent. Rooms were very clean, if a little noisy on the second night. The swimming pool is a great extra. We would totally recommend this hotel for a great weekend in North Wales with lots to see and do in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenUnity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We stayed at the Celtic Royal following a party the hotel. We got a bargain price for a double room (including breakfast) at £55! The room had a double and a single bed, tea & coffee facilities and a lovely clean shower room.

I couldn't fault the service, facilities or room. The only reason I have not given it full points is that there was only one pillow per person, the lighting in the room was poor and the decor colour combination or yellow wall and red carpet was "interesting".

Over all, this hotel offered great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews