We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 3 night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great 3 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed with my wife and young daughter over Easter and had a great long weekend for 3 nights. The food is excellent, and the value and hotel facilities inc. leisure facilities are also top notch. We had a great time and really enjoyed out stay! I can't give enough praise to the waiters & waitresses who work tirelessly in the restaurant! Located perfectly for walking distance into Caernarfon centre and locality for other North Wales tourism.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SionOHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    318
    111
    27
    21
See reviews for
180
378
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed overnight at the Royal this weekend. The staff were very friendly, but the room was outstanding! It was very clean, perfect for a family of four. Unusually, it had two single beds and a double bed, which meant we all got a good nights sleep! It was reasonably priced and the breakfast was lovely too.
I will be going back to stay there very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ffion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a large hotel with an old fashioned feel as you enter. Large reception area with excellent staff who were very helpful. Our bedroom was on the first floor large with a double and single bed. Our room was well furnished, had a window that opened but no view as we were on the inside. However as we were only there for 2 nights this wasn't an issue. It was clean and had a double and single as requested. We found the beds comfortable and I would agree with other comments that the duvet was rather hot (and heavy) Yes the room was very warm but you were able to turn the radiators off!!

We ate in the restaurant and there was a good choice at the breakfast buffet. The cooked items were hot on both mornings.. Our coffee was served in a pot and staff regularly came to ask if you wanted more toast.
The evening meals were of excellent quality and very reasonably priced..There was a plentiful supply of iced water on the tables.
We would definitely come here again if we visited this area in the future.

Room Tip: I didn't request a particular room. Ours was inside and on the first floor. From other comments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights BB&EM with friends last weekend. The bedroom was enormous (three beds in our room) and we had a large bathroom with bath & shower over. The rooms were clean with clean towels each day. Breakfast was mainly buffet with hot or cold food, but the service and food was excellent. Breakfast times were very good. between 7am &10am. i hate those early breakfasts. Evening meals were booked at your time which suited us well for an early or late dinner. Again the food was first class. There were many very friendly and hard working waitresses. The service was excellent. On the Saturday there was a wedding and two birthday parties and they dealt with us without any delay. We will go back. NB. It did help that we got a special offer weekend. 2 nights, BB&EM for two for £161.63p. Beat that!

Room Tip: Front rooms seem the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Just got back from a really pleasant night away at this hotel. We travelled as a family with a 3 year old. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the hotel. When we arrived there was a large wedding just about to start and I asked about the positioning of our room to be told not to worry as we were located a long way away from it, a great start. The room was lovely, very clean and fresh and large with a double bed and a full size single for the little one. Lots of space for him to run around in too.
We ate in the restaurant and our son was incredibly tired, he had walked up a lot of steps at the castle. Subsequently he was not interested in his pasta. I asked if they had any hot cross buns or teacakes as I knew he would eat that. After a couple of minutes they came back to tell us they hadn't but someone was just nipping out to get one from the shop and we weren't charged for it! I was very impressed with their kindness. Our food was excellent too.
Breakfast was lovely and we used the spa which was clean and had everything we needed. All of the staff we encountered were very child friendly and helpful. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms have just been done up to a very high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisakobej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

For the first time my husband, myself and two friends decided on a coach trip to celebrate the New Year. We chose Edwards Coaches and they had selected this hotel for our 3 night stay.
We had a feeder coach to Cardiff where we boarded our main coach and I must stay that none of the passengers had to move cases from one coach to the other this was done for us by all the drivers. The coach was very comfortable and our driver Lawrence was marvellous. The hotel was first class with lovely comfortable rooms - ours had a walk in shower as we are unable to get in and out of a bath - and everything was spotlessly clean with pleasant, very helpful staff. We did not expect top of the range food as the whole break was so reasonably priced but full marks to the hotel as the food was excellent and more than enough for most appetites.

We had entertainment every evening and it was all good except for the main evening - New Years Eve. We had an excellent Gala Dinner but the entertainment that followed was dreadful and quite a number of people left and either went to bed or into the bar.

Appart from this one hiccup we had a wonderful time and would certaining return to this lovely hotel and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If like us you have any mobility problems just contact the hotel direct before you travel and they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshnanof9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed for two nights last week, lucky for us as we had amazing weather. Did not eat in the restaurant but we did have breakfast and this was amazing, very good value for money. The hotel was lovely and the reception area amazing with the stunning central staircase. There is lots of room to sit and read and relax. One issue that got on my nerves, but not sure if the hotel can do anything or not, is the amount of people working in the bar area, on the phone and lap top constantly, and for those on holiday reminded you of work, which is what you were there to forget about. One crazy woman actually booked something on line and then gave here credit card details out loudly so everyone in the bar could hear (stupid or what). The room we had was huge with three beds, so we could always move if we wanted to. The room was very clean as was the bathroom. Agree that the TV is much to small, but did not watch it that much. I would deffo stay here again. If you don't mind me adding, the fire alarm went off at approximately 7.30ish on our last day here, it went on for quiet a while, with lots of people milling about in corridors. No member of staff came to tell us what was happening, so had no idea if this was a test or someone had burnt the morning toast. Would be helpful to know what we are meant to do in such a situation.

Room Tip: Not really sure what you can add to this. We were on the 4th floor at the end so very quiet, except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
20.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing