We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had a short 3-night break in North Wales and stayed at the Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon
On-site parking was plentiful if on a sloping site
Our room and the rest of the hotel was excellent which was in very good order
The room was very spacious with a large en-suite bathroom and plenty of hot water
Lifts are available to the upper floors and the hotel has a restaurant with food and staff of the highest quality, a bistro with lighter bites/lunches and a lounge bar with entertainment most nights
Breakfasts were a choice of full Welsh or continental and were excellent with plenty of choice from the buffet
There is also a fitness suite with heated pool and gymnasium
In short this hotel has it all and is set in a very picturesque and accessible part of Wales with lots to see and do on the doorstep - Caernarfon Castle, Snowdonia National Park, slate mines and Portmeirion - a beautiful village built over 25 years by a local landowner and well worth a visit just to see the quirky buildings and landscaping - ideal for walks and chilling out
We would deffinitely return

Room Tip: First or second floor to the side or rear There are no noisy air con units but traffic from the adjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    330
    113
    27
    24
See reviews for
184
389
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Was arranging a family meal at the Celtic Royal. Tracey - the events co-ordinator was very helpful, friendly and accommodating when I asked whether we would be able to have a private room for our meal. We were given this for free. The 3 course meal was delicious and the staff were very attentive and polite. Would recommend and return for future events.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband have I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel. We were with a coach trip and found that the room was excellent as was the food, the staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotless everywhere. Cannot speak for the leisure facilities, being an elderly couple, but must praise the waiters and waitresses, nothing was too much trouble. The only complaint was the heaviness of the duvets, but all in all a very pleasant stay. would recommend it every time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyce_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed with my wife and young daughter over Easter and had a great long weekend for 3 nights. The food is excellent, and the value and hotel facilities inc. leisure facilities are also top notch. We had a great time and really enjoyed out stay! I can't give enough praise to the waiters & waitresses who work tirelessly in the restaurant! Located perfectly for walking distance into Caernarfon centre and locality for other North Wales tourism.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SionOHare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed overnight at the Royal this weekend. The staff were very friendly, but the room was outstanding! It was very clean, perfect for a family of four. Unusually, it had two single beds and a double bed, which meant we all got a good nights sleep! It was reasonably priced and the breakfast was lovely too.
I will be going back to stay there very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ffion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

This is a large hotel with an old fashioned feel as you enter. Large reception area with excellent staff who were very helpful. Our bedroom was on the first floor large with a double and single bed. Our room was well furnished, had a window that opened but no view as we were on the inside. However as we were only there for 2 nights this wasn't an issue. It was clean and had a double and single as requested. We found the beds comfortable and I would agree with other comments that the duvet was rather hot (and heavy) Yes the room was very warm but you were able to turn the radiators off!!

We ate in the restaurant and there was a good choice at the breakfast buffet. The cooked items were hot on both mornings.. Our coffee was served in a pot and staff regularly came to ask if you wanted more toast.
The evening meals were of excellent quality and very reasonably priced..There was a plentiful supply of iced water on the tables.
We would definitely come here again if we visited this area in the future.

Room Tip: I didn't request a particular room. Ours was inside and on the first floor. From other comments...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights BB&EM with friends last weekend. The bedroom was enormous (three beds in our room) and we had a large bathroom with bath & shower over. The rooms were clean with clean towels each day. Breakfast was mainly buffet with hot or cold food, but the service and food was excellent. Breakfast times were very good. between 7am &10am. i hate those early breakfasts. Evening meals were booked at your time which suited us well for an early or late dinner. Again the food was first class. There were many very friendly and hard working waitresses. The service was excellent. On the Saturday there was a wedding and two birthday parties and they dealt with us without any delay. We will go back. NB. It did help that we got a special offer weekend. 2 nights, BB&EM for two for £161.63p. Beat that!

Room Tip: Front rooms seem the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing