We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless to a point;”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Faultless to a point;”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Lovely hotel nice and clean. Staff very polite and helpful, food was first class and not badly priced. Room spacious good size bathroom, but the double bed a little on the uncomfortable side, but everything else first class. Will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    339
    114
    27
    24
See reviews for
186
403
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Located within walking distance of Caernarfon Castle and beautiful views of Caernafon Bay, this hotel is a wonderful combination of charm and convenience. I stayed in a spacious corner room at the front of the hotel with windows on two sides. The room was exceptionally large as was the bathroom. The room had a four-poster bed, two desks, a sofa, and a large wardrobe. The room felt homey, comfortable, and charming.

I had dinner in the hotel restaurant both evenings of my stay, and the food was delicious. There is a spa, pool, and exercise rooms, but i did not use those facilities.

The part of the hotel in which I stayed would be diffucult for anyone with mobility problems. The hotel seems to have been built/extended/remodeled over a period of years which results in many series of steps throughout the building.

Room Tip: If you want of view of part of the castle and the bay, ask for a room in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank widowc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

a stop here enroute to dublin first class good food and service,good rooms,short walk to castle and town centre shops near hotel, staff freindly and helpfull,must learn to speak polish
would book indpendenty we are on a coach tour heading for ireland 2 weeks around north and southern ireland great 1st hotel 8 more to go

Room Tip: a very busy hotel with lots of different partys going on ,wedding,s 20s theme night,party,so was ali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iancrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We recently held our wedding reception at the Celtic Royal Hotel and had guests travelling worldwide as well as from all corners of the UK. The service we received was above excellent, Tracey, the wedding planner is a diamond and nothing was too much trouble, the rooms are relaxing and spotless, not one of our party had any complaints. The food for our wedding breakfast and evening buffet as well as the full welsh breakfast the next morning was outstanding. Every single member of staff from reception to waiting to bar staff could not do enough for us and we would 150% recommend the wonderful Celtic Royal to everyone. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Nice enough hotel and location fine, room nicely decorated and big enough, view into central area so not a view! Overall looked clean but hair on toilet rim made you think maybe not cleaned as well as you hoped. Staff friendly, meal in evening Ok for the money, although rare steak was medium at best. Shower in morning was cool and it was not such a warm day so this was bad, spent a long time trying to get it to come through hot without success. Mentioned the problem so that it could be fixed for the next guest, I received an email saying there was nothing wrong with it! inferring that I must have imagined it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Booked at short notice. Very friendly staff and nice size twin room. Got there very late about 11.30 pm. Wasn't a prob keys where waiting for us at reception. Gasping for a drink after a long drive and was surprised to see the bar closed. In fairness they did open up for us to serve a couple of drinks, but then pulled the shutters down when they served them. Never mind at least they open up for a moment for us. Was up and gone before breakfast was served so can not comment on that. Would probably go back there. Good location.

Room Tip: Tea and coffee always a plus for the early riser
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

building looks grim from the outside and the area looks run down but once inside its charming.Staff efficent and friendly. Room was large and very comfortable, cleaning was rreasonable although the shower could have done with a deep clean. View was grim. Biggest problem for me was thje fact like a lot of hotels they take coaches first night there was 2 coach parties in the restuarant the staff did very well but it was very noisey and hectic. Second night used the Bistro thinking I,d miss them but no another coach parties of Americans were in there. Again the staff did their best but were like headless chickens. My meal came but had no condiments and no bread roll and butter I had ordered, so had to wait at the bar to ask for them, steak was supposed to be meduim to well and it nearly walked off the plate it was so rare. They took it back and did me another one and was very apologetic, I did get vinegar no salt or pepper. I did get bread roll no butter and by now felt so sorry for staff did,nt like to ask for anything else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ninakitson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Celtic Royal Hotel. We are glad that you found our Rooms comfortable and facilities satisfactory. It is very important to us that all our customers receive the best service possible and we hope that the Duty Manager rectified the error promptly. Please accept our sincere apologies and our thanks for your constructive criticism, which will assist us in our ongoing training programme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,254 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing