We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“division 2”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“division 2”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Celtic Royal is a good looking hotel,very clean throughout with spacious rooms.The problem i had was with the evening meals . First let me say we arrived with a coach party,our party was asked to come for dinner at 7.30 pm. I think the hotel assume you are all friends,my wife and i we squeezed onto a table with four strangers, awkward when we did not even get our starters for 20 minutes, by the time we were being served the main course we had been there for 40 minutes ( served by waitresses out of tureens my wife was asked if she would like a potato singular ). We didn't stay for dessert or coffee because of the time,and wanted to go out for the evening.The entertainment provided in the hotel is fine if you are over 80,The bar was always closed when we came back at about 11 pm. Staff very noisy out the front of the building from about 7 am , even working with leaf blower,(sounded like a motorcycle).Ideal hotel for pensioners with hearing problems.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljsmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    354
    116
    27
    24
See reviews for
190
414
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I booked this hotel for the 17th August fro myself and a friend and of course, checked previous reviews online, before hand. It more than fulfilled my expectations. From entering the reception, the staff were all extremely helpful and efficient. The hotel itself has a lovely welcoming feel and our room was spacious and very clean and pleasantly decorated. The bathroom was just as clean and well appointed.
I DO so wish I'd eaten in the restaurant that evening but instead had a stroll round the town to hunt out a local eatery. BIG mistake! The restaurant menu at the hotel was far more interesting than any of those in the town. We learn by our mistakes and next time I won't bother to try anywhere else.
All in all, I can't wait to return to this terrific hotel and hopefully for a longer stay !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BubbaM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Excellent nights stay in a very large family room. Bathroom was also well appointed and spacious. Breakfast had lots of choice between cooked, continental and cereals. Would stay there again as most family rooms are so cramped but this one was enormous!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penguin1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

On the 16th of August 2013, my wife and I got married at this venue. We're giving it a 5 rating only because a 6 or 7 rating isn't available. The extent to which the staff and the hotel itself contributed to a fabulous, unforgettable experience cannot be understated. Most of our guests had never been to Caernarfon, let alone the hotel. As I'm a 'local' by birth and my wife a longstanding casual visitor to the town, when the question was popped, the venue materialised as a certainty, almost by default. The hotel held a promotion for weddings late last year. We visited, looked around and booked it. Simple. The challenge had been set. They were all fabulous. The cleanliness, the simplicity, the ambiance were unashamedly top drawer. We were concerned that some of our guests were particularly demanding and fastidious but any complaints could be rounded up to a big fat zero. The staff are mostly Eastern European. They were excellent. Thank you all so much. you were totally faultless.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jivesroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

First time in Wales. Came straight from the ferry from Ireland to the hotel. Nice easy drive and a wonderful place to end up at. The hotel is warm and cozy and very welcoming. We ate dinner in the bar instead of the restaurant and was very satisfied with the meal. The room was small compared to other hotels we have stayed but large enough for the two of us. Breakfast was typical fare, nothing exciting but filling.
The only drawback was how hard the bed was. Hubby and I both prefer a softer bed. But for one night, it was doable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jims_lanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our second visit to the hotel and my parents 5th. The food is to such a high standard with good choice. The facalties are excellent and the staff very freindly and helpfull. We could not recomend this hotel enough. Pool is clean and nice too. Location isnt fantastic but its a good base and who cares when places to visit are so close. It has such a grand feel and is tasetfully decorated

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yakyak73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just had a wonderful stay at the Celtic Royal.
Very friendly staff.
Food second to none and a very reasonably priced.
5 start service from a 3 star hotel.
Best pool we have come across for quite a while.
First time in Caernarfon but not the last.
If you are looking for somewhere to stay with great staff and wonderful food then it has to be the Celtic Royal Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19AndyP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,283 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
11.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing