We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel and good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel and good restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked the Celtic Royal on an October 4 nights Dinner, Bed and Breakfast deal at 24 hours notice. The booking was straightforward and when we arrived the following day we had a warm welcome. The hotel appears to have benefitted from a complete refurbishment and extension a number of years ago including a swimming pool and spa, as well as an art deco lounge bar. The staff were all very helpful and efficient and the restaurant food in the evening was excellent. We very much enjoyed dressing for dinner and feeling like we were staying somewhere a lot more expensive than we were! The room was only a standard room with a view of a flat roof but for what we paid this was not a problem, it was spotlessly clean and serviced every day. The only disappointment was that over the weekend when there was a function in the ballroom the service in the restaurant suffered and a number of people were waiting a considerable amount of time for their food on the Saturday evening. This was the same on the Sunday morning at breakfast when plates, napkins etc at the buffet ran out as the staff were away serving in other rooms.

This hotel is a good base for touring the area or outdoor activities. It is only a 5 minute walk into the town centre but although it is a picturesque town during the day sadly there is little nightlife to experience - our one walk into town late at night met with boy racers in souped up hatchbacks and drunks shouting and staggering around the place. After that we stayed in the hotel and had a few drinks in the art deco bar, which is reasonably priced for hotel prices.

I would definitely stay here again - it is a good value, well presented hotel with easy on-site parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fork_handles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    324
    111
    27
    22
See reviews for
183
382
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eastchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

On entering this hotel it certainly is different A magnificent staircase is centre stage.
The room was spacious and spotlessly clean.
The restaurant was beautiful, again spotless white linen abounds.
The standard of decoration was exceptional
We started to wonder why this hotel was only graded 3 star.
The next day we found out why when a couple of coaches arrived.
However we must say that it was very well organised and the coach parties were ushered into side rooms and did not affect us at all.
The staff mainly foreign were very good.
Our comments are based on paying 50% of advertised room rates.
At this price we would certainly stay again. Certainly a bargain compared to the nearby Premier Inn with no parking.

Room Tip: First floor was where we stayed. convenient lift nearby. Very quiet unless you open windows then f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We spent a weekend here, location was very good and Cearnarfon exceeded our expectation, loads to do and see. Hotel staff friendly and it had a good ambiance and spa facilities along with being family friendly. However the bed was very hard but manageable. Second night I was awaken at 4am with the staff emptying the ballroom below our room, dragging and rolling furniture along a tiled floor. After 30 mins i had to phone down to complain about the noise and was told it was nearly done. On leaving, complained about all the noise and was told they would not do anything about it and they do this it at this time as no one is about!!! Also had someones bill added to ours but was sorted when highlighted. This could have been 5 star but as i left more tired that i arrived with no recompense it was below average. I feel a hotel should be judged on how it deals with its complaints as well as its service and on this matter it did not meet my expectations.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are delighted that you found the staff friendly and enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. We are however sorry that you had to make a complaint regarding the noise in the night and that this was not dealt with correctly at the time. It was a very unusual occurrence as the furniture was being moved due to the bar being refurbished the following day, however we will be investigating further with the staff involved. Regarding the beds we do have a selection of mattresses within the hotel and we would have been happy to change your mattress at a time that was convenient for you if you had so wished. Thank you again for your constructive criticism and hope that you do come and stay with us again here at The Celtic Royal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights...room was ok, but I think we had one of the lesser ones. The high light was the restaurant where for two nights we had the most amazing meals. On the downside the front of the hotel looks out onto ASDA and the town is a little tired with not very good shopping. However, overall an enjoyable stay and staff most pleasant. Good as a base for visiting surrounding countryside

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dusna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a lovely change from the identikit chain hotels we usually stay in. A traditional, old-fashioned (in a good way) hotel with many modern facilities alongside comfortable and homely features. Lovely entrance hall and reception with lots of wood and panelling, wide staircases, comfortable seating areas and quiet lounges. Bedrooms in keeping with the style of the hotel, decent size, plenty of drawer and hanging space, comfortable beds (I thought anyway), tea and coffee making facilities and decent wall mounted tv, free wifi also, modern good-sized bathroom, everything spotlessly clean.
Lovely breakfast, mainly self-service but with an army of very pleasant and friendly staff on hand if needed; good variety on dinner menu, even though same on 2 nights we stayed, but very well served and presented and very tasty indeed. Bar snacks also available.
Excellent leisure facilities with small but well equipped gym, decent sized swimming pool with spa feature, sauna and steam room.
Decent location with plenty of parking, handy Asda immediately opposite, short walk to excellent castle, loads of other attractions within easy access.
Staff throughout cannot be faulted, helpful attentive and competent.
Well worth more than 2 stars, probably marked down because of its rather cosy feel as opposed to a big brash modern establishment but we really liked that.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SagaBoy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

The room was very spacious. Couldn't moderate room temperature. Kept bathroom door closed because towel rack heater was making room warm. The only problem with this hotel was the bed was hard as a rock. We stayed 2 nights on a tour and weren't the only ones complaining about the beds. It was like sleeping on a box spring for 2 nights without the mattress.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. We are happy that you found the room spacious. We are however sorry that you felt our hotel was average due to the beds that you slept on. We do have a number of different mattresses for your comfort and if you had let us know we would have changed your mattress at a time that was convenient for you. Thank you again for your constructive criticism. We do hope you choose to stay with us again here at The Celtic Royal Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed here for one night before taking part in the Snowdonia Marathon. The hotel appears to have been renovated with a very impressive lobby area. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and although I didn't eat in the restaurant, my dad and his wife enjoyed nice evening meals. The breakfast was good, choice of bacon, eggs etc, along with cereals and continental selection.

I had sole use of a twin room and found it to be more than adequate. There were lots of steps on the landings so anyone with slightly restricted mobility would probably need to mention this when booking.

Highly recommended, would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louiepWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing