We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for Christmas. I found it clean and comfortable with plenty of places to relax, even though we were one of four coach parties. Our party stay was half board, plus Christmas day lunch with evening buffet, plus soup and sandwich lunch on boxing day. The food was very good and plentiful although the organisation for the buffet was chaotic. The hotel is well located and even for someone with health problems it was easy to reach both the marina and castle.
My only real complaints are that on the day we arrived it was bitterly cold but the room radiators had not been switched on and there was no heating in the bathroom. The staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would be happy to visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: I had a room at the front facing the Asda superstore and a road, with the hotel car park below me. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oapcameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    330
    113
    27
    24
See reviews for
184
389
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights in september after getting a special offer .the room was clean and a nice design.the swimming pool,steam room etc were all working fine and very clean.polite staff and even the bar prices were good.wide selection on offer for breakfast
good location to explore snowdonia,would stay here again if in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I booked the hotel at very short notice and got an excellent price for a family room.

From checking in through to breakfast in the morning, everything was first class and exceeded what I was expecting.

The swimming pool was very good, top facilities for a hotel.

Would use again for family and business, the wifi was amongst the best I've used and free.

Room Tip: Don't park under the the trees in the car park unless you want bird mess all over your car....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a couple of weeks before Christmas based on a Trip Advisor review. Glad I did, the hotel is as good as the reviews suggest. Clean, beautifully maintained, classy recent fit out, polite and friendly staff.
Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel in December 2013, if I wanted to complain I would have to go somewhere else; we only had 5 days long enough to try most of what they had to offer. The food and service could not have been better, our room was large and very clean large en-suite with everything one would need. Entertainment was provided on 2 of the nights in the most fantastic ballroom.
I really can't say as much as I would like to. We will definitely be going back SOON.

Room Tip: Only advice is book for as long as you can, you won't want to leave,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank irene62_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Coach holiday with edwards coaches. reviews were pretty good so expected pleasant stay. Alas not to be, rooms ok nothing special, staff mostly ok however the restuarant manageress was abrupt to the point of rudeness. Several times she stepped in front of guests instead of allowing them to go first. Main problem was the amount of time spent at table for the evening meal. 1 hour I could live with but two and a half hours... Problem seems to be that the hotel regards coach holiday parties to be second class citizens after "paying" guests and seem to think that they can wait until the staff have time to clear tables and serve the next course. I will say that the waitresses were very polite but not very helpful. The hotel would do well to realise that without the coach holiday "people" it would struggle to stay open in the winter months. Nuff said.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank choiceWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yokshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just got back from a great weekend at the celtic royal and what agreat weekend it was.The cetic is situated perfect for a visit to the castle about 10 mins walk away.The hotel is very modern and clean with plenty of lounges to relax in it also boasts a very nice pool ,sauna and steam room area.the room we had was a twin plenty of room and very clean also the bathroom was spotless,The food was very good both breakfast and evening meals the staff were all very helpful and pleasant a very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbyboyYokshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing