We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The food is was delicious and at a very reasonable price too.
The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean, it was all very exceptional,perfect location for walking around Caernarfon not to far away yet it was quiet and in very easy walking distance from the centre. The swimming pool was a great bonus for all our family, and I would recommend this hotel to ANYONE !

Room Tip: The family rooms are lovely if traveling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrinajnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    349
    115
    27
    24
See reviews for
188
411
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel with some friends to celebrate the New Year and stayed for 2 nights, New Years Eve & New Years Night. We had a comfortable room which was very clean and a spotlessly clean bathroom. The Gala Dinner was excellent as was all the meals and food. Staff were all polite and helpful. The entertainment on both nights was very good and everybody saw in the New Year in good spirits. The only downside was that the shower was not very hot but this was not a big problem and did not spoil our stay. Altogether a very enjoyable stay and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Very close to Asda and Morrisons supermarkets
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We have spent the last two New Year celebrations here. Lovely hotel with excellent staff. The food is tasty and beautifully presented and the New Year package is exceptionally good value for money. The rooms are spacious, and most importantly clean. There is a really pleasant relaxing atmosphere throughout, we have stayed 3 times and have chosen to eat here too when in the area. Also easy to get to the beautiful scenery of Snowdonia....we'll definitely return

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonTenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Having stayed here before in a lovely large room we were so impressed that we decided it would be a lovely location for a a winters/New Year break. However, we have come away feeling very disappointed. The heating was only on at certain times of the day - 7 to 10:00 in the morning and 3:30 tol 10:30 at night. We found this very bizarre - particularly as the weather was so bad. Our requests for rooms at the front of the hotel and together (we had a double and a twin booked) were ignored. The small room we were allocated and the even smaller one our friend was allocated (the door banged into the bed!!) were so very very cold when the heating wasnt on. We had to ask for blankets as there were only thin duvet - we even heard one couple asking for hot water bottles.The only bar open on New Years Eve was in the Gala dinner - hence the previous comment that some people were not dressed formally for dinner - we were just residents in the hotel desperate for a drink!! lol ......Such a shame because it the hotel has such great potential.

Room Tip: If you are staying cold weather - take a blanket a blanket and a hot water bottle!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Excellent reception and very helpful and friendly staff. Good sized and very clean bedroom and bathroom. Excellent hot and powerful shower. Great food and service at the Gala Dinner and other meals. Helpful leisure centre staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ade3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Overall it was good. Interesting menu with some good choices. Food was good, mostly nicely presented and very tasty. Plenty of waiting staff who were very efficient and smart but one or two of the foreign youngsters struggled to understand our order and a couple of mistakes were made, although promptly rectified. Bar staff were helpful and efficient and prices reasonable. Live singing act were good and the disco was just what was needed. Plenty of room to dance! A dress code would be good though. Given this was supposed to be a special occasion, a few of the guests turned up in jeans and t shirts which spoiled it for the majority of those who had dressed up. Would be even better with a little more attention to detail on table settings and not all in rows like a canteen, but overall very good value and an enjoyable evening out.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank denise40smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leyburn, North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for Christmas. I found it clean and comfortable with plenty of places to relax, even though we were one of four coach parties. Our party stay was half board, plus Christmas day lunch with evening buffet, plus soup and sandwich lunch on boxing day. The food was very good and plentiful although the organisation for the buffet was chaotic. The hotel is well located and even for someone with health problems it was easy to reach both the marina and castle.
My only real complaints are that on the day we arrived it was bitterly cold but the room radiators had not been switched on and there was no heating in the bathroom. The staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble for them. I would be happy to visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: I had a room at the front facing the Asda superstore and a road, with the hotel car park below me. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oapcameraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,266 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meifod Country House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing