We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Birthday Treat for Hubby”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Treat for Hubby”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Returned yesterday from 1 night stay on a Groupon voucher from The Celtic Royal Hotel, in Caernarfon. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is really lovely with a beautiful staircase, there is a lift, which was very useful for our old legs! the room was lovely, very nicely furnished and just the right temperature, not too hot or too cold. there was a very good shower and lots of hot water. All the staff were very friendly and very helpful, a credit to the hotel. We had a very relaxing swim in the pool and we also tried the steam room, which was very hot!!! lol
The evening meal, which was part of the voucher was excellent. We could have anything off the menu up to the value of £19.95 and then pay any extra, which was great. the food was very well cooked and presented and very hot with hot dished and plates....I have a thing about cold plates and tepid food. The buffet breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel, it is very central for touring, very reasonable and extremely good time was had by myself and hubby. Thank you everyone there.x

Room Tip: No tips, everything brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piggywinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    330
    113
    27
    24
See reviews for
184
389
29
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Celtic Royal is a really is a rather grand hotel! Enter through the revolving doors into huge reception with comfy sofas, leading to modern bar area and separate plush restaurant. Also onsite is a large heated pool with sauna and steam room, gym, and towels provided (£1 needed for locker)!
Hotel staff are all really friendly and helpful.
We visited out of season so most restaurants in the town were closed so we ended up eating in the hotel bar. The bar area is very comfy if a little dark?! Food is good, big portions and very reasonably priced.
Our room was good. Decor was quite dated and a little bland but still in good condition. Large ensuite bathroom with bath, was very clean...massive soft towels! :)
Breakfast was brilliant...huge spread for continental and cooked options...plenty of juice and fruit which was great.

Only criticisms would be that the advertised jacuzzi was not a jacuzzi...was not hot at all!(minor detail i know!) and the car park was very steep at the back of the hotel and you'll need to know your reg. plate on arrival to save two more trips to find out reg. plate then another to display car park badge!

Would definately recommend to others and would definately stay again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camillatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We booked this hotel for a week end in February for our son fifth birthday.
We had a great deal of £160 B&B for 2 nights.
We thought the room was really nice and a good enough size for the 4 of us. they put a cot bed for our baby and there was plenty of room.
We thought the breakfast was great, the staff were all really friendly and could not do enough for you.
One morning my wife asked for a banana for our baby and they realised they did not have one in the kitchen so they went to Asda opposite to get some ! great service.
We ate in on the second night as everything was booked up in town and we had a great meal for a reasonable price in the bar area.
We also tried the pool which is well worth a try. it is a good size and was great for the kids.
All in all a great hotel for a great price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerome_worcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in this lovely hotel. The staff were kind and attentive without being obsequious and the hotel felt cosy and safe on a wet and cold night.
I ate in the bar and had a delicious 3 course meal, the breakfast was cooked fresh to order too. I would gladly return here for a holiday!
The staff had no problem in allowing me to park over the day for my meeting too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ant1974Greenhithe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel was welcoming, warm and the staff were polite and helpful, free parking is close by and plentiful. There was a rather strong smell of chlorine from the swimming pool as you entered, but can't say it bothered us. The hotel bar was OK, but not somewhere you'd really want to linger, and there were no real ales....always a let down for my husband! Our executive room was on the corner of the building so had double aspect windows with a good view of the sea. It was over warm for us, but in order to open the windows you had to open the secondary glazing which made it noisy, we overcame this by leaving them open whilst we were out and closing them when got back. Overall decor was good, bathroom clean and pleasant, but the carpets, (as is the case of most hotels I visit) could do with a good shampooing! Breakfast was excellent, one of the best I've had in some time! We did not get around to eating dinner in the town, so ordered sandwiches in our room, which were fresh tasty and well presented. Didn't use pool/spa so can't comment, but it looked nice!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynjaneWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My mother and I stayed at this hotel between February 24 and 27 on a coach holiday. I had contacted the hotel with several queries prior to booking and each question was answered fully and was a great help to making us when deciding to book the holiday. Many thanks to Darren Lacey, Reservations Manager for his kindness and patience in answering my questions. The hotel is only a 3 star, but we, like others in our party, feel it should be a 4 star hotel. The décor was lovely and the rooms clean and spacious. As I use a wheelchair when away, we found that the spacious room was good for us and being able to maneuverer the wheelchair around. The bathroom was also large enough to accommodate my wheelchair and had bars by the toilet to aid getting up and down too. The staff were warm, friendly and welcoming and helpful too. There was a good choice of food at meal times, with something to cater for most tastes. If anyone couldn't find something to eat from the choices available, then they must have been very fussy and hard to please.

We enjoyed our stay and would love to return in the future if possible and will certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed at the Celtic Royal on St. David's Day weekend for two nights. Excellent service ,a warm welcome and excellent food with plenty of choices. Beautiful spacious bedrooms. Polite, courteous and hardworking staff. Thank you for a brilliant time, already booked to visit next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eirlys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing