We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a weekend away walking Snowdon. Only 30 minutes from the Watkins path it was the perfect location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room 313 was spotless, cleanest iv ever slept in. Breakfast was well cooked, bacon lovely. The facilities at the hotel were bar none. There is some love restaurants in Caernarfon such as the Ywal and Fus. For 2 nights B n B it was 128 quid which was a bargain for this hotel. Will happily stay again .

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hedavis1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

I spent the entire weekend saying that this would be the perfect location for a wedding. The hotel interior is stunning. Our standard double room was huge, it had a gorgeous bathroom (could have done with a few more toiletries), breakfast was excellent, all the staff were helpful and friendly, wonderful spa. We had dinner on Saturday evening, too, which was very good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIG81182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Booked a 2 night DBB package here at the last minute and really enjoyed it, so much so that after our 1st breakfast we decided to extend our stay by another night which was very helpfully arranged by Gwenno. We had a room on the 3rd floor which overlooked the sea so that made for nice sunset viewing from the room. Dinners were delicious and well presented each night with generous portions. Staff were extremely efficient throughout and we also made use of the leisure facilities one afternoon, having a very pleasant swim in the pool. The hotel is in a good location only being a short walk from the town centre so all in all we would definitely go again if we were in that area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinaRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Spent two nights at this hotel in March. Staff are very welcoming and check in was easy. We stayed in rm 423 Clean and tidy and well furnished, the only down side was the flat screen TV was small and fitted to the wall on the other side of the big room, which made it difficult to see.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night. I was rather disappointed with the quality of the food. I ordered the Beer battered fillet of Cod with chips and peas. For the price I paid I expected top quality food. What I got was two small fish tail ends (Cod questionable) and a couple of frozen chips and frozen pease. My partner ordered the risotto and pan fried Seabass fillet. unfortunately the chef had placed the Seabass on top of the Risotto and then for some strange reason poured on the cooking oil which was left floating on top of the risotto, breakfast however was first class. All in all a nice Hotel, well located and within walking distance to the Castle. We would return and recommend the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay. Very clean even down to the public toilets in the bar.

Food is excellent. We stayed for two nights having dinner on the first but decided to stay in and have it on the second too as it was so good.

The pool is a little small but then again they do have a pool. Slightly spoiled by undisciplined teenagers from selfish parents, i.e. they went to the sauna and left them unchecked.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank GroverUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Returned yesterday from 1 night stay on a Groupon voucher from The Celtic Royal Hotel, in Caernarfon. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel is really lovely with a beautiful staircase, there is a lift, which was very useful for our old legs! the room was lovely, very nicely furnished and just the right temperature, not too hot or too cold. there was a very good shower and lots of hot water. All the staff were very friendly and very helpful, a credit to the hotel. We had a very relaxing swim in the pool and we also tried the steam room, which was very hot!!! lol
The evening meal, which was part of the voucher was excellent. We could have anything off the menu up to the value of £19.95 and then pay any extra, which was great. the food was very well cooked and presented and very hot with hot dished and plates....I have a thing about cold plates and tepid food. The buffet breakfast was very tasty and plentiful. I would definitely recommend this hotel, it is very central for touring, very reasonable and extremely good time was had by myself and hubby. Thank you everyone there.x

Room Tip: No tips, everything brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piggywinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Celtic Royal is a really is a rather grand hotel! Enter through the revolving doors into huge reception with comfy sofas, leading to modern bar area and separate plush restaurant. Also onsite is a large heated pool with sauna and steam room, gym, and towels provided (£1 needed for locker)!
Hotel staff are all really friendly and helpful.
We visited out of season so most restaurants in the town were closed so we ended up eating in the hotel bar. The bar area is very comfy if a little dark?! Food is good, big portions and very reasonably priced.
Our room was good. Decor was quite dated and a little bland but still in good condition. Large ensuite bathroom with bath, was very clean...massive soft towels! :)
Breakfast was brilliant...huge spread for continental and cooked options...plenty of juice and fruit which was great.

Only criticisms would be that the advertised jacuzzi was not a jacuzzi...was not hot at all!(minor detail i know!) and the car park was very steep at the back of the hotel and you'll need to know your reg. plate on arrival to save two more trips to find out reg. plate then another to display car park badge!

Would definately recommend to others and would definately stay again :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camillatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
11.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £75 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing