We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely surprise..”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We had booked Royal Victoria at Llanberis but were shifted here so originally pretty miffed but what a very pleasant surprise. This hotel is a great place,well run with great food.The only issue was the staff understanding exactly what vegetarian meant.Trying to order a cheese salad was probably a language issue.We stayed 3 nights..had live music in the bar on the Sat so all in all we'd definetly stay again..

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ghillie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,023)
There are newer reviews for Celtic Royal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

615 - 621 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

Travelling by coach from the Cornwall and Devon we spent three nights in the Celtic Royal Hotel in Caernarfon in North Wales. The hotel was very good and well situated near two supermarkets and not too far from the Castle – although we didn’t get there.
We were given a large room on the third floor with two beds and a good sized bathroom. The weather wasn’t particularly cold but we could have done with a heated towel rail and a little more heating in the room.
The entrance reception area was large and impressive with a central staircase serving all the floors however we preferred to use the lift which was good sized and smooth. It did break down at one point which was inconvenient however the staff were very helpful over this.
The food was well cooked and served both at dinner and breakfast however as a coach party we were seated in a large side room on long tables which suited me fine but a few people might prefer to eat alone.
I would be very happy to return again to Caernarfon and this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here at end of January for a walking weekend on a groupon deal £99 D,B&B - however if you check hotel's standard rate it's the same. Either way though a fab deal. Lovely clean, warm inviting hotel. Room exceptionally spacious and comfortable with beverage facilities. We took advantage of the leisure complex - very pleasant - pool on cold side though. What we found strange about this place was all the signs and rules about the place which at times made you feel like naughty school children ! Restaurant evening meal was a lovely affair and my partner declared his steak the best he had had in a very long time - breakfast was lack lustre but we are late risers and often don't get the best out of brekkie. The dining room is delightful but quite formal and dare I say a bit stuffy - staff whilst generally efficient and pleasant seemed scared to death lol. The bar was was lively and we had great fun people watching albeit it shut too early for us.
Canaerfon is a gem of a place where mountains meet coast and I look forward to returning to the area and would not hesitate to stay here again especially if walking as walking routes to snowdon approx 5 miles away. Exceeded expectations - fantastic value.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sonnetts67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have stayed here three times as part of dance weekend. Considering they had to cater for 90 plus people in the ballroom there food and service was excellent. The hotel is spotless and very comfortable with plenty of sitting areas, a nice bar (with good food) and an excellent restaurant. Rooms are nice and as good as most four stars. The staff are very professional and polite.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had 3 days in a Groupon deal Fri - Monday which included bed n breakfast and 1 evening meal. Easy to find on the main road it sticks out like a welcome sore thumb in a twon which is very tired. The hotel staff were excelletn helpful and gracious to every need 10 out of 10 for them. The hotel is has excellent facilities with a large gym, sauna steam room and pool at your disposal.
The rooms are brilliant we got a family room which was big airy and a large bathroom which really suited us.
Plenty to choose from breakfast and evening meal menu plus you can order bar food from the bar area which again has a lovely quite area to relax in.
The hotel has two snug rooms if you want peace and quiet to sit in which are very relaxing and ample car parking.
You can walk into the town and the castle is worth a visit, the sad thing is there is little choice in places to eat. If you don't book early then the restaraunts tend to get busy very quickly and you edn up going back to the hotel. So you have been warned.
Places to visit and worth it are
1) Port Meirion
2) Caernarfon Castle
3) Bedd Gelert
4) Beaumaris (Anglesey)
5) Bodnant Gardens - bit of a distance though
6) Betws y Coed

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiter, book early if you want to go into town.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigstu1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

First visit to the area. Stayed with a party of nearly 200 people. Excellent hotel. First class service and superb food. Staff were helpful . Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was tasty and efficiently served and evening meals were of the highest quality. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Large room, friendly staff, great food.
Maybe Breakfast buffet could be improved: pastries, breads, etc...
Parking is easy and you're very close to the castle.
Don't usually stay in independent hotels but this one was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belgaboy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,310 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
11.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £75 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing