We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
london uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfortable”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Friendly staff, large room, if a little dated in décor. Nice restaurant and communal areas. Only criticism I have is lack of ashtrays in public areas, meaning there are cigarette butts unnecessarily stubbed out on ground. All in all, nice comfortable hotel, well situated and with a handy supermarket opposite. Would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrice32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Patrice,
Thank you for your 4 star rating. We are glad that you thought the staff was friendly, we pride ourselves on having hospitable staff. We do have designated smoking areas at the hotel with ashtrays.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Celtic Royal Hotel.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    340
    114
    27
    24
See reviews for
187
403
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had just spent the last 23 hours 39mins and 57seconds. Doing the 3 Peaks Challenge, and a hotel with a swimming pool, hot running water, good food and friendly staff was a very welcome thing. Just 15/20 minutes from Mt Snowdon and all that beautiful Welsh country & seaside on the doorstep, it has a lot going for it.
But we were very happy to enjoy the simple things in life and a bit of pampering. We go both.

Room Tip: A double at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Gerald,
Congratulations on doing the 3 peaks challenge and thank you for your fantastic rating. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy our swimming pool, good food and thought the staff were friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Celtic Royal Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel last minute with some friends for an over night when finishing the three peak challenge.
Really reasonably priced. We were all very impressed. It felt like it deserved more than it's 3 stars, lovely interior in the lobby and public areas, the rooms were comfy and nicely decorated and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful too. The hotel itself is centrally located for the town centre and the beach. We chose not to eat dinner in the hotel only because we were looking for some stodge after our walk and although the menu sounded nice it just wasn't what we were looking for! Breakfast however was amazing with everything you could look for and again the staff were efficient and helpful. This was my first time in caernarfon and I intend to return and definitely to this hotel, also recommended to a friend who was looking to book :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lori-7225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Lori,
Thank you for your great 5 star rating and recommendation. We are extremely glad that you were very impressed with our hotel and had an amazing breakfast and found the staff to be efficient and helpful.
We will be happy to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at the Celtic Royal on our way back from Dublin. Our double room was huge (with an exceptionally comfortable double bed), and the friendliness and service from the staff exceptional; complimentary access to the pool, health suite and gym was also a very welcome addition (especially after several hours on the bike). A delightful stay was then rounded off by a great Breakfast of a very satisfying mix of continental cold buffet and freshly cooked eggs etc.

We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear David T,
Thank you for your positive 5 star rating. We are extremely glad that you had a delightful stay with us with and thought the bed comfortable, friendliness of the staff exceptional, enjoyed the complimentary use of spa and had a satisfying breakfast. We will the thrilled to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Currently at the hotel. What fun it is to tour all day and check into a hotel and find our room has no ac. Hot sun beating off the flat roof outside our window. Tried to change room but the couple in front of us with the same request were told nothing available. So we asked for a fan. The fan we were given looks like it belongs in a doll house. We asked for a second fan. First we were told another was available. Then we were contacted and told there really wasn't another available. I have traveled in Europe before and realize some hotels don't offer ac. But for god's sake add some ceiling fans or at least keep fans in each room. Just make sure the diameter is larger than four inches. Two beds Three chairs. No little table to set a drink on unless you count the upside down garbage can. Nice strong shower but if you are over five four you must duck to wash your hair.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank frodosmom208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Cetlic Royal Hotel. As the Duty Manager on shift the first night of your stay we would have been happy to quickly change your room at reception if your room did not meet your requirements, and this was possible after you checked in. Fans were available from reception but im afraid we were only able to supply you with one fan that night due to the high demand. We hope you enjoyed your stay and will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardigan Wales
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for one night on business . Overall good hotel will helpful staff. Breakfast was fine and the room was satisfactory albeit rather small. The location is well placed to access North West Wales and Caernarfon Town itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimCardiganWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jim,
Thank you for your 4 star review and positive feedback on the hotel and staff. Customer care and high standard is of utmost importance to us.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is my third stay at the Celtic Royal this year and each time we have enjoyed our stay and cannot fault the hotel. The staff have been very friendly and always willing to help. My most recent stay was at may half term where i stayed for three nights with my 10 year old daughter and my mum and dad. The hotel was busy but this did not spoil our stay. The food in the restaurant in the evening was lovely and menu was varied. The breakfast were buffet style with good selection and the restaurant staff are very attentive.
The pool is very clean and gym was small but adequate. I would recommend staying at the Celtic Royal this a gem of a hotel, very good value for money in the lovely town of Caernarfon which is situated within walking distance from the castle and shops.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Joy G,
Thank you very much for the fantastic 5 star review. We are extremely glad that you have stayed with us 3 times this year and the entire staff are delighted with the positive recognition. We pride ourselves on being friendly and hospitable and offering high standard throughout the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,253 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing