We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hotel with very good service & facilities”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location near to centre of Caernarfon. Great range of facilities and great service.
Room was very large and could have benefited from having a sofa and table (if only to fill it up!)
Bathroom was spotless.
Breakfast was excellent - good contintental selection and the cooked breakfast was even better with well organised attentive service.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking interior as the aircon fans are noisier than the seagulls !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your valuable review. We are gladdened by your recognition of the great range of facilities, that you found breakfast excellent with well organised and attentive service.
We will be glad to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

600 - 606 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Thank you for a lovely lunch, very generous portions. But, the best thing about the experience was the attentive and caring staff.
There was a wedding on and we were sharing the bar. The staff approached us and offered us an alternative table in a quiet room on our own. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely ladies who we forgot to take their names.
Full marks for customer service and top notch staff who went the extra mile, they were a credit to the establishment who obviously invest in staff training to a high standard.
We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamiddau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you had a lovely lunch with us and we’re delighted with your positive recognition of the staff who looked after you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Celtic Royal Hotel.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A really lovely hotel in the ideal place. An easy walk to the harbour and the castle. The room was nice and big and had aircon. The beds were comfortable. The food was very good and plenty of it. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had 4 nights there and would definitely go again. Even though the hotel was really busy with coach parties (ours was just one of them) and a wedding, we were not disturbed by any noise. We did not use the Spa or pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Gillian,
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star rating. We pride ourselves on offering high standards and we are extremely glad of your positive review on our hotel offering comfortable beds and room, good and plentiful food and friendly staff.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 5 nights BB, found the hotel to be very good, did not hear much of other guests even thou there were coach's staying. Staff very friendly, bathroom was new and carpets also looked new. The room did have brown dated furniture but it was in good order and probably keeping in with the age of the building, flat screen tv, everything very clean and a good breakfast, the pool looked fab but did not use it, also plenty of parking. Well done Celtic Royal will come back if we are up that way.

Room Tip: It was very sunny on our visit which I think made the front facing rooms hot, we were on the side wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuenBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear SuenBaz,
Thank you for your great 5 star rating. We are very pleased that you stayed for 5 nights and found the hotel very good with friendly staff, clean rooms and good breakfast. We will be delighted to welcome you back to the Celtic Royal Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Friendly staff, large room, if a little dated in décor. Nice restaurant and communal areas. Only criticism I have is lack of ashtrays in public areas, meaning there are cigarette butts unnecessarily stubbed out on ground. All in all, nice comfortable hotel, well situated and with a handy supermarket opposite. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrice32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Patrice,
Thank you for your 4 star rating. We are glad that you thought the staff was friendly, we pride ourselves on having hospitable staff. We do have designated smoking areas at the hotel with ashtrays.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Celtic Royal Hotel.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had just spent the last 23 hours 39mins and 57seconds. Doing the 3 Peaks Challenge, and a hotel with a swimming pool, hot running water, good food and friendly staff was a very welcome thing. Just 15/20 minutes from Mt Snowdon and all that beautiful Welsh country & seaside on the doorstep, it has a lot going for it.
But we were very happy to enjoy the simple things in life and a bit of pampering. We go both.

Room Tip: A double at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerald Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Gerald,
Congratulations on doing the 3 peaks challenge and thank you for your fantastic rating. We are very pleased that you were able to enjoy our swimming pool, good food and thought the staff were friendly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Celtic Royal Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel last minute with some friends for an over night when finishing the three peak challenge.
Really reasonably priced. We were all very impressed. It felt like it deserved more than it's 3 stars, lovely interior in the lobby and public areas, the rooms were comfy and nicely decorated and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful too. The hotel itself is centrally located for the town centre and the beach. We chose not to eat dinner in the hotel only because we were looking for some stodge after our walk and although the menu sounded nice it just wasn't what we were looking for! Breakfast however was amazing with everything you could look for and again the staff were efficient and helpful. This was my first time in caernarfon and I intend to return and definitely to this hotel, also recommended to a friend who was looking to book :)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lori-7225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Lori,
Thank you for your great 5 star rating and recommendation. We are extremely glad that you were very impressed with our hotel and had an amazing breakfast and found the staff to be efficient and helpful.
We will be happy to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
11.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £75 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing