We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We found the staff here to be superb, and when we asked for a quiet room, were given one at the back of the hotel, away from any noise.

Our room had a bay window with a window seat, which was lovely.

Breakfast was very good, plenty of selection.

The hotel is situation a little bit outside of the main part of the city, but Caernarfon, isn't that large, to its a short walk down the hill to everything.

This is one place that I would definitely like to return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Max BC,
Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled that you found our staff superb, the room was lovely and that breakfast was very good.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    340
    114
    27
    24
See reviews for
187
403
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights on a golfing holiday playing at some of the fantastic local courses. The hotel itself was excellent value, as was the food and the daytime staff who were welcoming and polite. My only criticism is the Romanian evening bar staff who were very impolite and unwelcoming. I honestly wonder how staff who are so curt and bordering on rude to customers are tolerated in such an otherwise excellent establishment. Other than the bar staff I would have given five stars.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a wedding evening.
Room lovely.
Breakfast delicious.
Buffet and party lovely.
No complaints at all.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble for them.
Would highly recommend if staying in caernarfon.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgwWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
We appreciate your time in reviewing the Celtic Royal hotel and for your great feedback and recommendation.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location near to centre of Caernarfon. Great range of facilities and great service.
Room was very large and could have benefited from having a sofa and table (if only to fill it up!)
Bathroom was spotless.
Breakfast was excellent - good contintental selection and the cooked breakfast was even better with well organised attentive service.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking interior as the aircon fans are noisier than the seagulls !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTR6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your valuable review. We are gladdened by your recognition of the great range of facilities, that you found breakfast excellent with well organised and attentive service.
We will be glad to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynedd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Thank you for a lovely lunch, very generous portions. But, the best thing about the experience was the attentive and caring staff.
There was a wedding on and we were sharing the bar. The staff approached us and offered us an alternative table in a quiet room on our own. Nothing was too much trouble for the lovely ladies who we forgot to take their names.
Full marks for customer service and top notch staff who went the extra mile, they were a credit to the establishment who obviously invest in staff training to a high standard.
We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamiddau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased that you had a lovely lunch with us and we’re delighted with your positive recognition of the staff who looked after you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Celtic Royal Hotel.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A really lovely hotel in the ideal place. An easy walk to the harbour and the castle. The room was nice and big and had aircon. The beds were comfortable. The food was very good and plenty of it. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had 4 nights there and would definitely go again. Even though the hotel was really busy with coach parties (ours was just one of them) and a wedding, we were not disturbed by any noise. We did not use the Spa or pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Gillian,
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star rating. We pride ourselves on offering high standards and we are extremely glad of your positive review on our hotel offering comfortable beds and room, good and plentiful food and friendly staff.
We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed for 5 nights BB, found the hotel to be very good, did not hear much of other guests even thou there were coach's staying. Staff very friendly, bathroom was new and carpets also looked new. The room did have brown dated furniture but it was in good order and probably keeping in with the age of the building, flat screen tv, everything very clean and a good breakfast, the pool looked fab but did not use it, also plenty of parking. Well done Celtic Royal will come back if we are up that way.

Room Tip: It was very sunny on our visit which I think made the front facing rooms hot, we were on the side wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuenBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear SuenBaz,
Thank you for your great 5 star rating. We are very pleased that you stayed for 5 nights and found the hotel very good with friendly staff, clean rooms and good breakfast. We will be delighted to welcome you back to the Celtic Royal Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,253 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
731 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Port Dinorwic
Hotel Port Dinorwic
#1 of 1 in Y Felinheli
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing