We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable traditional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable traditional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We enjoyed our one night at The Celtic Royal. Good location, easy parking, wifi included and very friendly and helpful staff.We used the pool and gym at no additional cost. Comfortable and spacious public rooms. Breakfast was good, The room was a little small and a standard sized double bed and old fashioned furniture could all have been a little more up to date.We'd stay again but hope a room refurbishment programme is not too far in the future,

Room Tip: Contact hotel and ask if they'll match online booking agency rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Rod,
We appreciate your time in reviewing the Celtic Royal Hotel. We pride ourselves on offering high standards throughout the hotel and we do invest a vast amount yearly on maintenance and general upkeep of the hotel and rooms. We were pleased that you enjoyed your overnight stay with us and that you thought breakfast was good.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    324
    111
    27
    22
See reviews for
183
381
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Rooms are of a good size, bright and very clean. Furniture is of a good standard.

Evening meal in the restaurant was excellent and staff were very pleasant.
Breakfast was manic which is why I down graded my view. Queuing for cereal & juices in a small corridor area where others were trying to pass into a side room isn't ideal. Cooked food was between reception and restaurant entrance, overall a good selection from the buffet..

A very pleasant stay will definitely come here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TT6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your 4 star rating. High standards is of the utmost importance to us and we were delighted that you thought the evening meal was excellent and that the staff were pleasant. We also take constructive criticism seriously and will take on board your points regarding breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff were very good and nothing was too much trouble and all requests were dealt with promptly! The rooms were of a good standard ,clean with the usual facilities one would expect. The use of the gym and pool was a bonus! The restaurant food was excellent as was the service!
We had a vary enjoyable two nights stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boo0859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your fantastic 5 star rating. We were overjoyed that you found the staff very good, rooms and facilities of good standard and the restaurant food and service was excellent.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

From our initial telephone enquiry through to check out, all the staff we interacted with were superb. I would happily stay again. Excellent location, facilities, food quality, cleanliness and value for money (based on what we paid in my opinion).

The telephone booking made with Gwenno was efficient and reassuring based on our requests travelling as a family. Upon arrival the room matched expectations set and was clean and very spacious (so much so I wonder why the en-suite was not made slightly bigger. On that point, not being able to open the door fully did seem strange). We had room 221, a double with single bed, front facing, where one could sight the sea and castle. Double glazing worked a treat as did the heavy blackout curtains so even facing the front and main road we all had a good nights sleep.

The public areas, reception, bar and restaurant all felt freshly decorated and contemporary whilst retaining an ambiance of "historic character". The buffet breakfast was of a good quality even when visiting it in the last 20 minutes of service. The leisure club was spotless and the staff constantly brushing down the surface water, checking pool levels and keeping the place über tidy.... This was excellent to see. My daughter and I loved the pool. My wife was slightly disappointed as the pool temperature was cooler than she prefers and the jacuzzi was integral to the pool. Had the pool been hotter or a separate hotter jacuzzi she would have "lazed".... Instead of leaving me and my daughter to enjoy the pool. I asked the staff and they confirmed the temperature was as intended. I suspect this maybe is to accommodate the local members who frequent the pool doing laps and proper exercise (rather daughter n dad playing "shark hunt" and "rowboat"!)

Considering this is 3 star AA rated, One may feel that it deserves 4 stars for everything it delivers. Indeed I have stayed in worse 4 stars, however my only slightly negative observation of the Celtic Royal was the sound proofing in my room. In no way was it bad... Nor unacceptable in my opinion. It was possible to hear the odd muffled door slam and the extractor fan of a neighbour, but these were background rather than intrusive.

The location worked very well for us. Easy driving access and good car parking, yet within a few minutes walk of the main town, shops, castle and sea front.

I would also like to especially thank the duty manager "Kelly" whose discretion at solving the predicament I faced with my wife on crutches was exlempry. I hope to stay again. Thank you to all of the CR staff that made our stay a pleasure.

Room Tip: Room 221 was a very large family triple (dbl + sgl) with very small shower en-suite. Front facing wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrugby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
It was a pleasure to receive your wonderful feedback. High standards and friendly staff are of the utmost importance to us and we are always pleased to receive wonderful feedback that highlight this.
We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A good solid hotel. Public areas are very impressive with a remarkable indoor pool area. Rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable. Very close to the main sites of Caernarfon. Two supermarkets within walking distance and close to restaurants and pubs. The hotel breakfast was substantial.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Joel,
Thank you for your positive feedback on the Celtic Royal Hotel. High standards is of the utmost importance to us and we were pleased that you found the hotel was very impressive and that the rooms were clean and comfortable.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontardawe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The room was very nice,spotlessly clean with a comfortable bed and lovely bathroom.
The pool looked really nice, but we didn't have time to use it.
We ate both nights in the bar/bistro, the food was fab and the staff were lovely. Breakfast in the restaurant was good also.
I can't believe this hotel only has a 3* rating - should be more!
We will definitely visit this hotel again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WTh0mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear W. Thomas,
We appreciate your time in reviewing the Celtic Royal Hotel. We were delighted that you found the staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean and comfortable and that the food was fab.
We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frenaros Cyprus
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is beautiful. Light & airy - although a bit stuffy during our stay due to the warm weather. We stayed in room 126 on the first floor which can either be accessed via the lift or up the carriage stairway.The room was fully equipped with a wet room for the disabled with plenty of grip bars which were very helpful to my partially disabled husband.The room had a double & 2 single beds in it should we have wanted a different bed each night of our stay! But was still very spacious. The hotel has a swimming pool, sauna & steam rooms which I made full use of. There is no "in" house spa but I was able to book a massage at a local salon ("one.a") after making enquiries at reception. There were plenty of small areas with comfy sofas, a library - again with comfy furniture & a good bar area. The food was good, well presented & served by helpful polite staff. There is a laundry service which was a bit pricey but very useful. I wouldn't hesitate to book here again. I loved this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunLady270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
We were delighted to receive your fantastic feedback and that you thought the Celtic Royal Hotel is beautiful with comfortable lounges, good and well-presented food and helpful and polite staff.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing