We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The building is fine but it overlooks Asda in the front. The reception staff were very helpful and the pool was fine. However the rooms were not clean or safe - in the sense that the bathroom had mold and the shower spayed water onto the electrical fitting. The view from our room was disappointing. It was easy to walk to the restaurants and visit the town from here. Breakfast was fine. We got it on a deal - but I would not have paid full price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PrinceAyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We are pleased you enjoyed the hotel pool and staff to be helpful, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. We were sorry to hear you were not happy with your recent stay with us. Please rest assured that any issues reported are rectified immediately. All shower heads are now adjustable to prevent this from happening in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,065)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

581 - 587 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

My 12 yr old son and I have just returned from a lovely 3 night stay and we were not disappointed, just a few minor points however didn't really effect the overall stay.

The room was spacious and clean, we had a double and single bed. Complimentary tea and coffee available but not enough milk left! (a minor point I know). The rooms were serviced everyday.

We were situated at the back of the property so was really quiet apart from last night when I was woken up by noisy residents talking outside the room at 01:50, please respect others when you stay!!!!!

The breakfast was lovely (buffet style), my son particularly liked the sausages. I don't think there was enough staff (one person for all the area), we came down at 9.00 and all the tables around us were not cleared away from previous diners, people had to wait for the tables to be cleared!! It would be nice to have a pot of tea/coffee instead of the flask type jugs as it leaves a funny taste.

The swimming pool was great, my son really enjoyed it, it would be nice to have it open longer for children but I understand adults want some children free time.

The staff were polite and friendly.

Ample parking, a great place to stay and explore Snowdonia and easy walking distance to all that Caernarfon has to offer.

Thanks for a pleasant stay, would definitely recommend and will return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tracey2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Tracey,
It was a pleasure to read your positive feedback. We pride ourselves on high standards and friendly staff and were gladdened that you found the room spacious and clean, breakfast was lovely and that your son enjoyed the sausages and staff polite and friendly. We appreciate your constructive criticism and will take on board your points regarding the breakfast service.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We stayed here last week and for what I paid it was an excellent stay overall. There are things that could have been better - such as mattresses but other bits have made it up in terms of overall experience. The pool (with Jacuzzi) was great and my son loved it - not something you would expect at this price.

Room was clean and tidy - don't expect luxury feel, Breakfast was good and we had excellent service at the table. Pool is a definite plus so is its proximity to Snowdon mountain.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NirN123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We were delighted to receive your 5 star rating and that you thought the service was excellent. High standards is of utmost importance to us and we appreciate constructive criticism, had you informed us at the time of problems with the mattress then we would have been happy to offer an alternative room or arrange a new mattress.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Celtic Royal Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We booked the room for 4 people for a price of £200 B&B. There were a number of positives - there was plenty of parking; we were given a warm welcome at reception and it was a very short distance from town to walk in for dinner. However we were disappointed by many things about this hotel. Some of these related to the fact it looked very full and there was a big evening event going on, but some were not.

> room size : this room had a standard double and single permanently in place with an extra put you up bed added. This left very little room to move around in so while we managed for one night I certainly wouldn't have wanted to stay for any longer.

The room did not look to be set up for 4 people. We did have towels for 4 but only 2 biscuits and 1 shower gel/ shampoo/ soap. We asked for more but really shouldn't have had to!

> water temperature - we arrived after a full day's mountain climbing and really could have done with a piping hot shower. At 6pm it was only just hot enough . We realised the next morning when we did get a truly hot shower that there had been a hot water issue the night before.

> very loud music from the Ballroom woke me at 11.15pm . There is a function room in the hotel, which unfortunately our room faced onto. I was woken up by very loud music coming from it after 11pm..... so just be aware if you book a weekend that there maybe a wedding/ party taking place.

> very poor service at breakfast . We tried to go into the beautiful looking dining room for breakfast, but although it looked relatively empty we were directed to the not so nice, dark bar area which was filled with other families. There was one lady serving who looked to be working very hard but was struggling to refill the buffet and to serve the individual tables. After a while, I decided noone would offer us a hot drink: I went and asked for one and to reference the lack of staff. After this point someone else appeared but again this should not need to be asked for. Breakfast itself was good and varied.

Overall, based on our experience, we didn't feel we had value for money from the Celtic Royal.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank trailgirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Reviewer,
We were disappointed with your feedback regarding your stay at the Celtic Royal Hotel. We do have larger family rooms available which we would have been happy to move you to if you had asked at reception and we are very sorry that the hospitality tray was not set up for 4 guests, however more is available on request at no additional fee.
High standards and customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we do appreciate all constructive criticism. Please be assured that we will be looking into the issues you have raised regarding the hot water and the breakfast service.
We sincerely apologise that you were unhappy with the quality of service during your stay with us and we hope that this does not deter you from visiting us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Turned up at the Celtic Royal Hotel for Sunday lunch without a booking on Sunday 24th August 2014 but was quickly seated even though they were busy. We ordered the carvery Sunday lunch. There was plenty of veg on offer but my young son was disappointed to discover the gammon has just finished. There was plenty of staff and they were all very friendly and helpful. One of the waitresses came over to offer to help me when she saw me struggling with carrying 2 plates. I think her name was Monika. There was a mix of locals and visitors for lunch and a good atmosphere. This was our first to the Copa Bistro at the Celtic Royal but not our last.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank shoned123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Shoned,
We were delighted to receive your 5 star rating on our Sunday Carvery Lunch and sorry to hear that your son had missed out on the gammon.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our Copa Bistro soon
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed only one night. Our room was attractive and clean. Breakfast very good quality. Thought it was a little pricey. Good service at breakfast when they were very busy. Location very convenient for town and castle.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Mike,
We appreciate your time in reviewing the Celtic Royal Hotel. We were pleased that you found the room attractive and clean and that you thought breakfast was very good quality and had good service.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little quirky but the staff are great. The gym/pool/steam room all good and the restaurant was truly exceptional - by any standards.
Only criticism: TV quite small and the heating is off. But it is August so what the heck. We'll survive and I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ootripadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
celticroyalhotel, Manager at Celtic Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Reviewer,
It was a pleasure to receive your excellent 5 star rating. We pride ourselves on having friendly and hospitable staff and were overjoyed that you thought they were great and we were touched that you found the restaurant to be exceptional. We will take on board your point regarding the TV.
We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Customer Care Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,347 reviews
3 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
758 reviews
8.5 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
4.6 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £56 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing