We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel recommended” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Celtic Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Celtic Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good hotel recommended”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2010

Stayed there in December 2010 a year after our previous visit. Very well maintained, well-run, very clean, excellent rooms. The food is also very good, although the menus are limited in choice. Only downside was that room was very hot, making sleeping a bit difficult. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bluenosetaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    318
    111
    27
    21
See reviews for
180
378
29
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We have just spent a fantastic weekend with over 90 dancers at the Celtic Royal Hotel.
First impressions, staff friendly & helpful; rooms spacious & clean; food & service excellant; location perfect, made all the more pleasant by the fantastic weather throughout the whole weekend. The hotel itself has been well maintained & looked after.
I know that the organisers of our weekend will definitely come back again with probally more as we tell those who couldn't make what a brilliant place it is.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sambaLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

great hotel but the large coach parties can be daunting.Most of the people are great but you do get the odd couple that complain about everything and my advice to them is stay at home or get a better dentist as if you were able to enjoy the great thick bacon at breakfast then the meat at dinner should have been a doddle.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 186337Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

We stayed there for 5 days and it was our first experience of Caernarvon. Sad to say we did not get a good first impression of the hotel simply because of the food. We enjoyed the breakfasts very much but we were on a coach trip and were hungry by the time we got back for our evening meal. The first night did not disappoint and we had beef in wine which melted in the mouth so we thought we had fallen lucky with a good chef but it went downhill from there. Either that or the rest of the week we were treated to a different chef. We had Welsh lamb which was more like old mutton and so tough you could have soled shoes with it, another night we simply could not cut through the pork and the final night was dried up turkey with beef gravy! Each night the same old bullet hard potatoes boiled in their skins - when will hotels realise these are unpalatable? - and the night of the turkey we had roast potatoes which were cold and withered. The plates were never really hot and most of our food was sent back. We didn't like to complain to the staff as the waitresses were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you and they had impeccable manners too (plus one dishy waiter!)
We didn't care for the lounges as they were dark and cold with huge low sofas and chairs. The corner shower in our room was very powerful but I can't say the same for the washbasin, the hot water took ages to come through the tap and one morning when it finally got through it wouldn't turn off and we had a flooded bathroom! It turned out the pipes were blocked as a great hair ball was extracted by the maintenence man. The room itself was always very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable with lovely soft pillows. It was just the food which spoiled it for us.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestWales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

A charming, friendly hotel that is suitable for a couple or for someone travelling on their own as I was this time for work. I was aware that there were also several groups of people staying at this hotel - a mixture of middle aged couples and friends .
Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Evening meals are also available in the restaurant. On this occasion I dined in the adjacant Bistro and the choice was good and the staff were helpful.

The venue is ideally situated to explore the beautiful surrrounding countryside , seashore and places of interest - with several castles being in close proximity.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ELIZABETHMWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed 3 nights and the hotel did not live up to my expectation.

The room was large and clean, but the bed was hard and the pillows like flat rocks. We were at the back of the hotel, overlooking the roof of the conference rooms, which have very noisy extractor fans that went on all night; with the window shut you could just about ignore the noise.

We used the hotel as a base to travel Snowdonia. We arrived for an early breakfast on Saturday morning at 7.00am to be told breakfast was not served to 8.00 on Sat and Sunday, which I thought was late for a hotel. I did ask if an exception could be made for us due to the error of our listening to the receptionist on checking in, and not scrutinising the hotel booklet in the room, but there is no flexibility.

The later start to our hiking day led to not being able to park at pen y pas and an additional 45 minute up hill walk to the start of our hike! It was a great sunny day though!

We had one meal at the hotel, which was served by a friendly waitress, but both meals were not hot. The resturant was not busy, so not sure why this would be? The meals looked good and tasted nice, but not hot.

The rate we paid was too high for what we got; if you can get B&B at £75 then perhaps it's worth it, anymore than that, I would try and book into the Travelodge or Premier Inn.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
banbury
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel on their four night DBB special deal, the room we were allocated looked out to the back of the hotel which overlooked the car park and main road, this did not cause a problem , it had a double bed and single with reasonable amount of room, the ensuite had a WC, basin and shower only but every thing was fine.
There was a good selection at breakfast served in the dining room as was Dinner in the evening with the menu changing daily and generous portions of well cooked food. The indoor pool was also very nice and gym was good to. This hotel is quite large and busy they do cater for large parties therefore Dining Room can be quite busy at times.
The only problem we experienced was that the pillows were very hard we like soft pillows

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikbanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Caernarfon Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
The Anglesey Arms Hotel
#8 of 8 in Caernarfon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
20.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
11.4 mi away
Tre-Ysgawen Hall, Country House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Royal Hotel

Property: Celtic Royal Hotel
Address: Bangor Street, Caernarfon LL55 1AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#3 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#4 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Celtic Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Celtic Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Royal Caernarfon
Hotel Celtic Royal
Celtic Royal Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing