We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely hidden away”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bell Tower Cafe

Bell Tower Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Homely hidden away”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We arrived late on a saturday (4.30) and were warmly welcomed by the lady proprietor. She clearly takes a pride in "her" cafe. Tea was in a huge pot with extra water and milk and my son's milkshake was spot on. Sadly we had no room for any of the cakes, all of which looked home-made and huge. This is an old-fashioned type of tea shop - no chrome or smoked glass here, but it felt very honest and welcoming and I'd definitely go back.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very good unassuming tearoom”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Came here for tea after climbing Snowdon in the morning. It doesn't look much but the cakes, tea and hot chocolate were all excellent. Tea for 2 came in a very large teapot and served in vintage tea cups and saucers. All very retro! Would come again

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Callymac5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Welcome Tea Break”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a real disappointment at an upmarket local cafe which when asked for Earl Gray tea produced two cups half full with water and a infuser each, when we took out the device there was only a couple of mouthfuls of liquid and that is not what we want for our money.

A while later we fell over this unasuming cafe in a back lane. It is totally unpretensious, the Lady who runs it greeted us enthusiastically and duly an enormous pot of tea arrived with hot water in a jug, she even offered us a refill if we wanted it. Soon we were full of excellent tea at only £2pp plus we indulged in some Welsh Rarebit, which was gooey and tasty.

Great little place, thanks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PTRaggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We came here twice while on holiday as the food and the welcome were great, and the cafe itself is very homely!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great toasties”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stopped in for a bit of lunch and a hot drink on a cold day in Caernarfon and we were very happy with the service and toasties we ordered. The hot chocolates were great too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rmchurc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bell Tower Cafe also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Bell Tower Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing