We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abel's House Bed and Breakfast

Abel's House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Caernarfon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Abel's House Bed and Breakfast
wisconsin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I throughly enjoyed my 2 night stay at Abel's House. Gert runs the place and is very warm and friendly. He helped me solve a problem I was having with my bank and is a superb cook! The b&b is in a great location, being close to the castle, main square and ocean with charming rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Abel's House, run by Gert, a charming friendly Dutchman, has been open a short time only and is not part of the local booking system. So he could accommodate us when the others were fully booked. And what a find! Our room had an interesting view and was a good size, decorated nicely. Gert has slept on all the beds and can vouch for their comfort, and we agreed. He was often around as we came and went out and greeted us warmly. But the highlight was his cooking. Sunday breakfast was a feast with original dishes and Monday's was more traditional but brought to life. He runs a restaurant on Friday and Saturday evenings which I would recommend to any gourmet. He cooks with subtle use of herbs (have you tasted chopped basil on fresh strawberries?) and brings in touches of Europe as well. After two nights, I am already planning to revisit!

Room Tip: Probably rooms at the back will let you sleep later in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebill42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Fortunately we spent 5 days at this wonderful place!
Although we arrived quite late we were very heartly received, which made us feel at home immediately.
Our big room was very cosy and tidy, the furniture and decorations were, as in the whole house, very charming and unique.
The location is perfect for exploring the city (it's in the centre within the historical city walls) and the surroundings like Snowdonia, Anglesey or the Llyn peninsula. We got some great tips where to go, from restaurants to sights.
There are free parking facilities in front of the house or just a short walk away at the Victoria Dock.
Every morning started with a delicious breakfast that left nothing to desire.
What can we say more - it's simply the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonja and Marc E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

A group of us stayed at Ables House B and B whilst in the area to climb Snowdon. My friend found this place on line, and whilst I was a little hesitant as there were not many Trip Advisor reviews I should not have been worried..What a charming place! The rooms were clean with tasteful and quirky interior design,and the inclusive breakfast one of the best I've had. I'm fortunate to do a lot of international travel with my work and have stayed in many luxury 5* hotels, but felt that this B & B really offered a unique and cosy experience that is so often lacking in many larger hotels. On top of it all, the host Gert was lovely and the value for money exceptional - Give it a go!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend - so glad we did. The decor is fascinating, with something interesting to look at wherever you look. It's location is ideal, as it's right in the historic part of the city. It's right by the castle, the best shops and the best eateries, while being also close to the more modern parts of the city. More than anything though, it's the welcome. Gert makes you feel comfortable and relaxed from the beginning, and his breakfasts, well, words cannot do them justice. Caernarfon is a great place to stay, as it's got the castle and the sea, and provides easy access to the mountains. Staying here made our visit perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Goat Hotel
Royal Goat Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beddgelert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
11.5 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.6 mi away
Sygun Fawr Country House
Sygun Fawr Country House
#2 of 11 in Beddgelert
5.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Saracens Head
The Saracens Head
#1 of 11 in Beddgelert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abel's House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abel's House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abel's House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12 Church Street, Caernarfon LL55 1SW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Abel's House Bed And Breakfast Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing