We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee & Teacake”
Review of Caffi Maes

Caffi Maes
Ranked #16 of 105 Restaurants in Caernarfon
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
585 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Coffee & Teacake”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Just called in for a coffee late morning as we were having a quick look round the town on our way to another destination. This was our first visit to Caernarfon, chosen at the last minute, so we didn't know the town and had not done any research. Quite busy so we had to sit upstairs. Saw the notice about ordering at the counter downstairs, but no problem. A couple of local ladies were praising the cafe when we came to share their large table.

We enjoyed our coffee and teacake. As it was quite busy we didn't see anyone coming upstairs to clear and clean tables when vacated. Some had food spilt on them, so new customers may have had a different experience. From other reviews it seems most locals are happy regular visitors.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cecil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    68
    23
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“cofusing service”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

came in February with my mother the waitress took a very long time to serve us, and i saw people going to the counter to get served, therefore i went to the counter myself to order, then she she told me to sit back down in an unfriendly manner, i was rather confused with their system - so i decided to leave the cafe - the cafe assistant still said nothing to me

Confusing service

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guy301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caernarfon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent local cafe”
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Best cafe in the town. Great location, lovely food and atmosphere. First rate service and value. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndrewM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Great Welsh Breakfast.”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Caffi r Maes is very good. Welsh Breakfasts are great. The food in general is tasty, portions generous, prices resonable. Staff are friendly and the place is really clean. Plently of indoor seating but on a nice day, sit on The Maes and watch the World go by.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanaKR7964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fab food friendly vibe”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Situated right next to the castle, we just stopped in for a bit of lunch as we were desperate to get out of the wind. We ordered the ham, eggs and chips, under a fiver and delicious. Beautiful sliced ham, home cut chips, generous portions and a lovely atmosphere. This place had a constant queue while we were here and is definately popular with the locals, but for us it was an unexpected gem for a spot of lunch on holiday and worth a shout out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UkButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffi Maes also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 
Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Been to Caffi Maes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing