We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a nice meal”
Review of Spinnaker Caernarfon - CLOSED

Spinnaker Caernarfon
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not a nice meal”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I ordered 2 portions of fish and chips and 1 chicken and muhroom pie and chips. Not difficult you might say, yet it took them 25mins to do it. the fish was ok by all accounts, But the pie, which had been microwaved for 10 mins was still frozen in the middle, NOT GOOD. Over £17 for frozen potentially dangerous food is not what is acceptable these days.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank robc552069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    8
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Open for business”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We visited Caernarfon this afternoon and after a boat trip finishing just before 5 pm, thought we would like a snack. To our amazement, on a sunny afternoon in July, we had great difficulty in finding anywhere open for meals or snacks other than pubs, as most of the cafes shut at 5 pm. Then we found Spinnaker. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The service with a smile was prompt and friendly. In fact we had found exactly what we needed, so if you are visiting Caernarfon and want a good choice of food at a reasonable price, served quickly by friendly staff you need look no further than Spinnaker,so thank you all the staff at Spinnaker - you are GREAT!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Blandy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Staying for a few nights in Caernarfon we decided to the tourist thing and have the humble fish and chips.
The place was brilliant you could eat in or takeaway, we ate in the fish was to die for nice light batter. We got a 'small' portion of cod, chips and peas there was still to much for me. My youngest had a burger when it came we took a picture it was so big.
Very variedmenu reasonanly priced. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tegan1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Situated within the main square this chippy has a take away half and a sit down half.we went about 6pm and found a table easily, staff were friendly and a good choice on the menu, maybe charging tourist prices the drinks can be expensive, but the fish and chips we had were tasty so worth the visit.

Helpful?
3 Thank maddog190462
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It's true, their chips are excellent”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I hadn't read any reviews about Spinnaker before having lunch there - it was just handy when I visited the Castle. I had good old sausage, beans and really excellent chips (and I now see other reviewers have also sung their praises). The service, provided by young men of what seemed to be east European origin, was excellent. Worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank skankoudamdoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spinnaker Caernarfon also viewed

Caernarfon, Gwynedd
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing