We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Anniversary Dinner”
Review of Y Castell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Y Castell Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Caernarfon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I had wanted to try Rhodri's Restaurant for a while, and we finally had an evening together without the kids to try it out for our anniversary, and it was certainly worth the wait!

The restaurant is located above the castell on the first floor. The restaurant is decorated to a very good standard, and has a lovely atmosphere.

The service from all staff there was great, couldn't fault it. Our waitress Marged was lovely, she was so polite and professional.

The food was to die for. It is a fine dining restaurant, and the quality and presentation of the meals were great, with freshly cooked food.

We had pork and scallop starters followed by lamb and duck mains washed down with a lovely bottle of prosecco. We shared a cheesecake dessert as we were nicely full.

The executive chef Richard also came upstairs and spoke to us which we felt was a nice touch and hr us a great asset for the castell.

I will certainly be recommending Rhodri's to friends and family, and would love the opportunity to return...

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TheFusyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

I am torn writing this review as this hotel is in a brilliant location; the management and staff are very helpful and friendly; the food is delicious; the room we had was a bit draughty around the doors and windows but spotlessly clean and well maintained however, the noise was far more than I expected even after reading about the establishment on here;
Its a very very popular place with the locals, the bar is bouncing on a Friday and Saturday night and also the outside seating area which unfortunately was right outside our window, which for your information are old wooden sash types so may as well not be there, they offer no noise protection at all!
The noise on the Friday was very very loud and constant until around 2.30 am and then you had the staff cleaning and dragging the metal tables around whilst chatting (loudly) to each other and the stragglers from the nights partying; I looked at the clock and it was 3.04 am when the noise stopped! The bar opens up again very early in the mornings; metal tables being set up etc so there was noise again after only a few hours sleep!

The noise from the inside the bar was just about tolerable if you had the tv on very loud to mask it and as long as the door was kept closed on the landing, however this was opened and closed and banged quite a few times during our stay and you could hear every word someone was saying through the door which makes you feel very insecure!

The manager did make sure he pointed out to us about the noise when he took us to the room saying about the hotel being busy and noisy as mentioned on this site but I really did not expect the amount of noise that we encountered.
It was so bad that we debated actually driving home the next day after we had come to do what we had booked even though we had paid for the 2 nights!

We decided to give it another go on the Saturday night, it wasnt as bad as the previous night, probably because it was pouring with rain so the outside was only being used by smokers, however the noise was still there in the bar underneath until the early hours!
Would I recommend this hotel?
I would to any youngsters who are out to party on the weekend; its ideal for them. I am not sure if its quieter in the week but still you would have the noise outside daily although to not such an extent as the weekend I imagine!
Again, I want to say how nice the management and staff are but we are sorry to say we would not stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JeJNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A small recently decorated pub/restaurant which offers overnight accommodation in a small but trendy room setting. Rooms are clean, cosy and very well and tastefully decorated throughout.

Both bar and restaurant are a lovely place to spend some time in the evening or day time and the food is fantastic value for money! As the evening gets later, the pub becomes more of a trendy nightspot and a fantastic, bustling atmosphere fills the room and out into the court yard out front.

Even though the rooms are only a few floors up from the main bar, they have been well sound insulated and i could barely here any noise coming from below! Great job!

A great place to spend some time with friends/family or partners for what ever sort of vacation you are after. - I will be back!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chaz_Dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

A busy place with really nice staff, well used by localls and visitors alike. Our meal in the restaurant on the ground floor was very good and at a reasonable cost. We have not stayed in any of the rooms at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgantalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a pick of rooms of which we took the top room because we were the first to check-in. Being from Canada we aren't used to power run showers or strange taps. We got used to the quirks pretty quickly but hearing kegs being brought back and forth for almost an hour at 7 a.m was a little irritating. If you can sleep like the dead it's a great place. It was a sweet room but if you are on a tight schedule to see things then not the place for you. I love Wales, it was a coming home of sorts for me.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a room only hotel, no breakfast, but an excellent cafe just over the road, so not a problem. We stayed in rooms 1 and 2, which were very nicely decorated, a mix of old and new, room 2 was huge and overlooked the square, while room 1 overlooked the back of the hotel, looking at the boats moored up. The staff were very friendly on arrival, taking our bags up to our room, and offered for us to look at all the rooms available, and choose the one we wanted. It was pointed out to us that there was a major bike event on the next morning, which would be noisy from 7am, and that the bar downstairs was open until 3am, this was not a problem for us, as we were at a party locally ourselves.

Room Tip: room 1 is huge, overlooking the square, but immediately above bar, so is noisy on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 100gremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice room, spacious although bathroom was tiny with a very temperamental shower. Staff were too concerned in serving alcohol than being of service to guests. 1st floor room was located above the bar which was open till 2am. Lots of noise outside. No effort to minimise noise with double glazing, there is even gaps around the bedroom door. Thin curtains even though there are several strong street lights outside. Overall very disappointed

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graemepw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.1 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,374 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
449 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#3 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,089 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Dre Town House
Ty Dre Town House
#5 of 21 in Caernarfon
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cartref Guest House
Cartref Guest House
#4 of 21 in Caernarfon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Castell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Castell Hotel

Address: 33 Castle Square, Caernarfon LL55 2NN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Caernarfon
Price Range: £58 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Y Castell Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Castell is a bar, restaurant, with nicely appointed rooms featuring original Georgian fireplaces. Its restaurant is the only one to be included in the good food guide in the Caernarfon area. All rooms have either sea, castle, or Slate Quay views right in the hub of the historic Royal Town. All rooms have large plasma screens and are comfortably appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Y Castell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Y Castell Hotel Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing