We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too close for comfort!”
Review of Riverside Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too close for comfort!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here in August 2013, two young couples. The campsite itself is picturesque and the location is good if you have a car with you (short drive into Caernarfon). Toilet and shower facilities were also good.

The negatives: before booking we asked to be pitched away from families with children, and were told this would be ok. Upon arrival we discovered our pitch was the closest possible to the playground! We also found it difficult to get much sleep as a few children in the pitches next to us were very noisy throughout the night (despite the supposed 10pm - 8am noise restrictions, and wardens patrolling.) On our second day we went out for the evening and came back to find, to our surprise, a tent had been put up on our pitch, almost touching one of our tents. A warden was close by and we asked what the tent was doing there. As it transpired the tent had not actually been paid for, but rather than ask the people staying there to move, who had quite obviously sneaked in once it had gotten dark, the warden told us she would be back at 7am to move them, so we were left to camp next to strangers for the night. The next morning, no sign of any warden at 7am, and by 9 o'clock there was no change. The inhabitants of the tent were left to relax in our pitch, which they had not paid for. We left the campsite around 10.30am, and they still had not been moved off. We did get a refund for that night, however, we felt let down that the supposed 'patrols' had not spotted this tent, and that the people inside who had not paid a penny by this point had been left to do as they please.
Overall, we were unlucky with the situation as I assume it doesn't happen often, but we were disappointed by the service we received. As young couples we would not stay here again, although the site seemed suitable for families with young children.

Room Tip: Pitches by the river seemed much more picturesque and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank herecomesthesun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    30
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Great campsite with everything you expect by a Riverside camp! Nothing compares to camping by a river, where one listens to the gushing fresh water and feels the gentle breeze. Felt perfect since there were tall trees embracing the border of the site preventing horrible winds which makes setting up the tent and winding up a cake walk.

Pleasant staff, clean toilets n shower, plenty hot water, great scenery, pebble river, play area, food. Great find for families!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bferori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I am a reluctant camper and I loved this site.
The site was aranged so that it did not feel crowded
We had a lovely welcome by staff and were given a great map of the site
We had a coffee on the terrace of the cafe which was lovely
The pitches were spacious and electric hook up great
The showers and toilets were spotless
The curfew was observed
There was great facilties for children
The stream was a huge hit with children and adults
You are near Caernarfon and great fun was had crabbing
All in all fabulous - can`t wait to go back - will be regulars
Brilliant value

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CUB535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The food in the cafe, a lovely converted mill?, was fantastic. The quality and great tastes made it difficult to turn down the puddings! A bit pricey, as expected, for good local produce. The staff were very friendly and even though I am local, I will suggest my friends and family stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

As a local, Sorry, only ate in the restaurant, smashing meal, baguette and salad. thought it was reasonably priced. again water for me free Beautiful out on the terrace on a sunny day. Have been there before and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEIANOSIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

The Good:
- Unbelievable Location. Camped up for the night right on the edge of a gorgeous babbling brook. Fantastic.
- Not too many people around and the kids were mostly in the playground leaving you to enjoy the view.
- We got in late and found a personalized note on the door with directions of where to go and apologies for being shut. Never had that from a campground before.
- Shower and toilet clean.

The Bad:
- Some of the kids needed coaxing to come to bed but managements curfew was generally kept.

The Ugly:
- Nothing ugly about a stay at Riverside Camping.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

We spent last week here and I am so glad we found this place!
We have been to various other campsites in Wales but none compare to this one. On arrival you are presented with beautiful scenery and a very clean and pleasant site. We had a riverside pitch with electric and it was lovely to have the river running behind our tent. Staff are fantastic and so helpful. Showers / toilets clean as us everything and there is loads for the kids to do from messing in the river to the play area or basketball / football / tennis.
The restaurant / licenced bar is lovely too but I felt it a bit pricey.
The site is only 2.5 miles from Caernarfon town centre so a visit to the castle is a must!
We will be back here on a regular basis.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
1.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
735 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,000 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Camping

Property: Riverside Camping
Address: Seiont Nurseries, Caernarfon LL55 2BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Camping 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Riverside Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Camping Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing