We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for north wales attractions”
Review of Riverside Camping

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riverside Camping
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Just spent a week at riverside camping and although the weather was not great it was a very enjoyable experience . We had 2 touring caravan pitches right next to the river and this was so relaxing especially listening to the water whilst going to sleep at night .
The site is quite spread out and almost all pitches have views if the river .
There was lots for the children to do with the river , playground and volleyball and basketball court keeping them entertained whilst on site .
I enjoyed the fact that you could relax at night and unlike so many sites there was no real pressure to keep noise levels down and you could enjoy yourselves , this does not mean it was noisy just enjoyable.
The site is well located just 5 mins from Caernarfon for all major supermarkets and lots of attractions within 30-60 mins drive away .
Overall a very enjoyable and relaxing time.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

My family and I stayed here for a weeks camping. I have to say that it was a perfectly enjoyable 7 nights. The pitches are flat and ground soft enough to peg out nicely. The river offers hours of entertainment for the kids, as does the little park area. The shower area is clean and the water is warm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil_Dilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay with our two boys, aged 5 and 9. We had a lovely time and the boys loved their freedom and playing in the river. We were a little disappointed with the shortage of toilets and showers, they were always clean but thy did get very busy at times, (I believe the site was full this week), after 3 attempts one morning to get a shower I gave up! However, the option of playing pool or table tennis when the weather isn't at it's best was great with our boys, as was the availability of the badminton court and play area. We had hoped to have tea out at the cafe on our last night but at £16 for 'fish n chips' this was a definite NO NO, we found a lovely chippy in the center of Caernarfon for half the price with a view of the Castle instead.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Hazel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent site,the showers,toilets and whole site is impeccably clean.
The cafe/bistro has the most welcoming staff who are willing to talk at length without any awkwardness and the food is amazing,I mean amazing.
Myself and my wife took our 2 kids 7 and 5 years old,pitch 31.River behind,knee deep,perfect for paddling and keeping your drinks cool.
The child's play park is well kept and seemed to keep our 2 entertained.
Lots of families and couples.
Each pitch is large enough for a big tent seating area car space and a little fire.
Seriously not a single complaint could we find,highly recommend this place if your thinking about camping.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing. I would highly recommend to anyone. I was camping with my partner and 7 year old son. Arrived at the site and was greeted by a lovely lady who quickly checked us in. We had a brilliant pitch, next to the play area and facing the toilet block (think it was pitch 50) large and flat. As soon as we arrived instantly felt the warmth from other campers. Everyone was so nice and even offered to help us set up! Didn't try the cafe/restaurant on site but the toilet blocks were clean, never queued and large freezer in blocks for freezing ice packs. Very relaxing camp. By 10pm everyone did close up and go to bed. Didn't bother us as we wanted a relaxing break. If you want a nice place to relax, great for children and couples then this is the place. Don't go if u want a wild chav boozy camping trip as this is not that type of place....which was perfect for us.
I will definitely be returning to this campsite and I would recommend to anyone. Brilliant place.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

A lovely, well thought out, friendly site with excellent facilities. Clean toilet and shower blocks, washing up points, children's play area, friendly staff, reasonably priced cafe and restraunt, water garden, and dog walk.

We pitched up for one night with friends in a quiet corner beside the river, the only down side to a pitch in that corner was how close we were to the septic tank, which smelt a bit ripe.

We felt a little rushed to leave when the people who had booked our pitch after us turned up 10 minutes before check out time and were shown down to the pitch.

We would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheDart46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

just returned from our second visit to this site. can not recommend enough. we were worried it may be noisy being peak season but no such worries. we camped close to the play area so we could watch my daughter play. she made friends immediately and was so happy. The campsite is kept clean with cleaners in the wash areas day and night. lovely showers. The onsite café/restaurant is as said a little pricey but the food is good and offers a welcome treat. we went on holiday over the summer to spain and had an awful time. wished we had saved out money and come here. perfect base for llanberis, and surrounding area. we will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wirraljojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
1.7 mi away
Black Boy Inn
Black Boy Inn
#1 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,327 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
1.6 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
7.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,036 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Camping

Address: Seiont Nurseries, Caernarfon LL55 2BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Caernarfon
Price Range: £17 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Camping 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Riverside Camping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Camping Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing