We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliantly Welsh.”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliantly Welsh.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Black Boy (Buoy) for five nights and thoroughly recommend it. The highlights were first knowing it opened in the early 1500s and second the staff who were excellent. All the staff were helpful, efficient and they were all smiling all the time. The food was very good pub food and mesls were enormous.

My room was large and very quiet. Two minor negative comments are that the room was always slightly warm (many would see this is a positive) and the free wi-fi (as it should be everywhere) had a habit dropping out for a moment on a reglar basis - not a big deal but slightly annoying.

Overall, I thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for feedback , i will take these points up with both our IT supplier and plumber to see if there is a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    277
    56
    10
    12
See reviews for
191
689
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Black Boy Inn is in a very old building but with comfortable rooms. Don't expect elevators or A/C but the Old Town location inside the historic walls and down the street from the famous Caernarfon Castle more than makes up for it. Limited parking just inside the North Gate free of charge with tokens provided by the hotel which you will need for both entering and exiting. The outside sitting area is a great place to people-watch while enjoying a pint and a snack. There is a small playground across the street. Good cooked-to-order breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 16 is upstairs in the very back of the hotel through several fire doors. Nice large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for this fair review of the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Ne
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Black Boy Inn during September 2013. This is a fun place to stay with lots of people frequenting both of the bars and the dining room. A lot of Welsh spoken here. We ate all of our meals at the inn and we were not disappointed. We thought the food was very, very good to excellent and the variety offered will appeal to most visitors. The wine list had a good variety. The entire facility appeared clean and a peek into the kitchen revealed a very modern and sanitary operation. Meals arrived quickly after ordering. Our room was described accurately on their web site and the bed was comfortable. We found the staff very professional, friendly and accommodating. The carpeting in our room needed a thorough cleaning or replacement, the ONLY criticism I have to offer.

Room Tip: Pay attention to room descriptions on their web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalTraveler90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for the review . So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn . We all take pride in the services at he Black Boy . As regards the carpeting this has been placed as winter job when the Inn goes quiet over the winter after hectic summer trading .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very quaint old building festooned with hanging baskets and flower troughs. A very pretty place to sit outside and have a drink from the bar. There's a very handy play area for children opposite so it's ideal for families. Our room was above the entrance so noise does rise up as its popular to sit outside in good weather and the room was to warm to close the windows, so please consider this when booking if your a light sleeper and request a room to the rear. Our room was attractive with an olde worlde style with some nice original features. The cooked breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice for the continental option. Would recommend booking a table for the evening meal as we had to eat in the bar but it wasn't quite as tasty as breakfast.

Room Tip: Book a room at the rear and a table for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliemason19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Your review is gratefully recieved . Thank you for the feedback .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The first structure inside the medieval walls of Caernarfon through the northern gate (hence the street name), Black Boy Inn is a truly historic facility. I got the worst room in the house, having reserved the one single, which is on the attic floor--I have to admire the architect, who managed to make artful use of every square centimeter, but it truly is cramped and for anyone taller than 4 feet 6 inches you have to be constantly on guard to avoid banging your head on the gable beams. Still, even this claustrophobic cell had every necessary convenience, including WiFi and bath gel.

The staff was very friendly, and when I asked about moving to a double they regretted that for that night (Saturday) the inn was fully booked, but they could accommodate the request the net morning when guests checked out. I was moved to a much more spacious room on the same floor (so I still have cross beams and gables to watch for, but the cross-beam is higher so that walking down the center of the room does not require someone 6'2" to have to stoop).

I have separately reviewed the restaurant. It should be emphasized that the pub is a very happening place on a weekend--the Welsh, it seems, do know how to drink--so expect raucous laughter to reverberate even to the upper floors till late at night. And I laugh too, because it's a great experience on all counts: Soaking up history, and watching and hearing others soak up their brew. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Unless you are a monk or midget, pass up the single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trentonmakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for this review .I do agree that the single is small , but as you state it is the nature of the Inn. We have beams all over , i am 6.1 and have a few dents . Glad you enjoyed everything else at the Black Boy . We are one of the few genuine Inns left with a good community local trade .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed for one night at The Black Boy on Tuesday 10th. I made the booking based on reviews here on Trip Advisor. It certainly deserves its number 1 rating on Trip Advisor. It is a very old building full of character. Our room was very clean, good quality sheets and everything you need for your stay. We had dinner in the restaurant - this was excellent and there was lots of choice. The only suggestion I would make is that guests should be able to book a table at any time and not be restricted to having to go to the restaurant at 6.30 to put their name down on a list. We did this and fortunately only had to wait half an hour, but it would have been nice to choose a time. :) We had our breakfast in the Coach House at the rear of the Inn - what a lovely room and the service and breakfast were second to none! Lovely stay - I would highly recommend the hotel if you are looking for somewhere to stay in Caernarfron. Thanks to the Manager and the staff for a short but memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for review , so glad you enjoyed the Inn. We take note of your point as regards table bookings , but know from the experience of taking later bookings we would have to decline residents to eat due to the then high later time bookings. We are reliant on diners turning up at allotted times and I can confirm that this does not always happen . This in turn causes empty tables , together with No show bookings when again diners book but not turn up causes problems. In turn this would lead to residents been declined tables although we empty due to prior reasons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

My wife and i ate here three consecutive nights 12/13/14th september.Sept 14th was my 70th birthday.We were staying in a hotel nearby.The first night we both had steak and ale pie,which we found a little too salty,but the portions were huge.The second night we had hake fillet,again the portions were very generous and the meal was delicious,as was the sweet.On the third night we had steak/duck,and again huge portions very tasty.The staff were absolutely brilliant,very attentive and friendly and actually seem to be enjoying their work.We intend to return to the area again not having seen enough due to the mixed weather,and we will most certainly eat at the Black Boy again.Great pub,lovely food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Your review is greatly appreciated , i am so glad you enjoyed the Inn and food . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
738 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing