We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Treat”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Llandrindod Wells, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Rare Treat”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night in November 2013 and were delighted to discover the place inside the Old town walls. A super old fashioned building, but with great comforts, a warm welcome and very funny, human, informal staff. Just what we always dream of finding, but so rarely do. A very slight downer was disturbance and crowded corridors filled with drunken revellers spilling over from the bar. But Wales had just lost, so it was understandable and the mood was actually quite merry (I think!)
We would come back, no hesitation.

Room Tip: In view of its use as a local pub I would recommend staying during the week to avoid late night nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leighandsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Your review is much appreciated .we are exactly what you state informal friendly staff in a busy Olde Inn . As regards the rugby revelers again this is normal when rugby is on , i am sure they were all happy .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    272
    56
    10
    12
See reviews for
188
679
28
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Spent several days on a trip in England and Wales and stayed here one night as part of a 2-night stay in Caernarfon. should have stayed here for the two nights as the room was lovely. Booked the slightly deerer Junior Suite with 4 poster bed and it was seriously comfy with a massive bed and huge tele for chilling after an afternoon of wandering around the town. Rooms decor is done very nicely and is huge,there is a big kitchen area to prep your some of your own food if you were staying a few days. These rooms are in a building to the rear of main building so no disturbance from pub at all. Ended up eating here both nights we stayed in Caernarfon as the second night we went to another restaurant we'd looked at online and found it to be closed as it was Sunday! So back down to the black boy we went as we knew from the night before the food was great. Big portions I personally have a good appetite and thought the large portions were great I've too often spent money on a meal only to still feel hungry but my other half was struggling shes not a big eater so she asked for small portion second night. Staff were very friendly and attentive also at all times evening breakfast.The decor in the Inn itself is cool very old style proper old style and the warm stoves are great make the place very cosy,with the good food and good choice of different ales to try for a few hours then back up to the queen size 4 poster bed,top marks all around!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ushbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and meals at the Inn.I know the staff work hard to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. Thank you for this feedback and hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as a base for seeing the sights of North Wales. We were looking for somewhere to stay with lots of character, where we could park up at the end of the day and enjoy a meal, a couple of drinks by an open fire and a good nights sleep. We experienced all of this at the Black Boy Inn. The bedroom had character features, was very spacious with large bathroom and very clean. Staff were polite, friendly and helpful, even taking the time to help us learn some of the Welsh language. The quality of the food was very good although the portions were too large for me. Overall a great stay and would return.

Room Tip: Executive room has very large bed with bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for this review , what can i say more about the character of this real welsh inn than the way you have described it .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Staff - helpful

Hotel - we were on the top floor of extension, ok if your fit (no lift ) stairs very steep, big NO for the not so fit. I think it should have been pointed out at the time of booking. Our room was small but clean and well finished. A lot of noise in the court yard in the morning from builders and extraction fans. We did not like the booking system for the restaurant it was very strange, we couldn't book a table and had to be at the restaurant at 18:30 to gauranted a table. Food very average, pub grub and not at its best.Location only good for Castle...would not visite again not enough there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
We appreciate your feedback and you view of the Inn. Due to the age and historical listing of the Inn we are not allowed to instal lifts. The dining room booking system is operated in this manner due to the popularity of the Inn . A number of busy establishments no longer take bookings at all , whereas we do up to 18.30 to allow residents to have the opportunity to book. Sorry that you did not find the Inn suitable for yourselves . But thank you for your feedback and thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I visited the Black Boy in June 2013 and had a very poor experience (and left a review reflecting this).

Yesterday I dined there again, somewhat reluctantly, and was astonished! The service was rapid and friendly, and the fish & chips that I had was magnificent, both in quality and quantity. (The friends I was with told me that they go there a lot and have never had a bad meal.)
So it seems only fair to leave a very positive review. Well done to the staff on duty - pity you weren't there in June!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medcalf135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for returning to the Black Boy , all the staff to try very hard at the Inn . In middle of summer they serve up to 600 meals a day and like all works that have human input at times things go wrong . I have to apologise regarding your previous experience but glad you have experienced the true service we generally offer . Thank you for feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Pros:
All staff very friendly and helpful.
Large and characterful family room (with kitchenette).
Good food (with some odd combinations).
Parking.
Great central location just inside castle walls.
Good value.
Good beer (can't remember it's name, but it was brewed with Elderflower)

Cons:
Room was on 2nd floor with no lift.
Couldn't book table later than 18:30 so ended up eating earlier than we would normally choose.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shentodj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Your feedback is much appreciated and glad that in the main you enjoyed the Inn. With regard to negatives i will try and explain.
We cannot install a lift due to age of building it is a listed property under CADW , we have to maintain as it is.
Table bookings are not taken after 18.30 due to the pure number of guests we serve in one trading session.If we booked later in evening the tables would remain empty prior , this would entail that even more guests would be disappointed in being declined a table. We take early bookings and after this time reallocate tables as they become empty . You may notice that more premises are in fact not accepting bookings at all , we try and maintain this early booking time at the moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed here for the night after walking up Snowdon and I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone thinking of visiting the area. The room was huge, full of character with a big comfy bed and lots of storage. The best bit though was a nice large bath that was perfect after a long walk.

The hotel staff were extremely nice and made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. The car park is quite small but we got a space even when arriving quite late in the day so no issues.

Our only issue for the stay was the actual restaurant, we were lucky to get a table, however the food was not as good as we had hoped for. The portions were good, however the quality was not great and I doubt we would eat there again. The pub is a nice place to have a drink though.

No such issues with breakfast though, there was lots of variety and although the bacon was overcooked, the rest was lovely.

We would definitely stay here again if visiting the area and happily recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Book the executive room, for an extra couple of pounds you really get a very nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rcbig82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for this review , i am glad you enjoyed your stay . sorry to hear the quality of meals was not up to normal standard , i will have a word with the chef in the morning,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing