We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed a while back now, but just got on Trip Advisor and it was so great I wanted to leave a quick review.
The food way great, service fantastic and the room was absolutley incredible. I recommend a 4 poster room as it was stunning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you for the kind review , hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

A post Christmas stay after working. The Black Boy was the perfect place to stay. Friendly and informative greeting at reception. Wonderful room have paid a lot more in the past at other hotels which did not reach this standard. Wonderful atmosphere in the bar then enjoyed a relaxed evening meal with one tiny problem which was dealt with very swiftly and the breakfast was the icing on the cake. Will definitely staying again even though only live a few miles away.

Room Tip: Stayed in an executive double which had plenty of room and very large comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Diolch , thank you for the review .So glad you enjoyed your stay at this original Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I recently stayed at the black boy hotel for two nights as I was working in Caernarfon and I felt I must share my experience with you. This hotel/pub has been facelifted to a very high standard and the rooms have a boutique traditional feel to them. My bathroom was tiny, however it was practical and caused no problems for my stay. I was in room 3 which is situated above the reception and away from any bar noises.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank 4,444,405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for the feedback , room 3 does indeed have compact shower room one of the smallest we have actually. Every room at the Inn is a different size and shape due to the nature of the building.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here for only one night but really enjoyed it. Had a 4 Poster Bed Suite which was very spacious, very clean and comfortable. 2 Things though, it was except for the bed quite modern, somehow I was hopping for some medival charm. There is also a little kitchen which for me did not add any value at all.
Parking right next to the hotel within the town wall, great. Breakfest... great. Would have loved to have dinner as well, but the place was so packed, eventually I gave up and went somewhere else which is no problem in walking distance. I guess that speaks for the Restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Thank you for the review .We are indeed a very busy Inn and have the exact opposite of most hotels in that our dining areas are full most of the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We needed to get away from all the pre-Christmas stresses and staying here was the perfect answer. The staff are so cheerful and friendly; our room, though up two steep flights of stairs, was a really nice 'mini-suite' spacious and beautifully decorated. Comfy beds. Very small quibble about the amount of light in the room but I guess that goes with its central location, which was most exciting - just inside the town walls, and close to all amenities. We ate in the bar and the food was excellent (though being Saturday night it was crowded and noisy, but that's what you expect in a popular place at the weekend.) If we had wanted to cook, it would have been excellent value, as there was a little kitchen with frige too. (I was surprised there was a hob and microwave but no oven but then we didn't want to cook anyway.) Breakfast was very good indeed (but why no black pudding when it had been on the menu the night before?) and we really enjoyed our stay. Would certainly go back if ever staying in Caernarfon again. Had a lovely time walking round the town walls and harbour and watching the sunset over the Menai Straits.

Room Tip: This pub is right in the centre and so you can't really expect it to be quiet - I would ask thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mgt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2013

Thank you for the kind review , hope you come back soon . The Inn is very old as you state and we have tried to maintain the ambiance of age during it`s redevelopment . As regards the black pudding , i can only assume the morning staff made an error as it is part of the breakfast . Sorry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed in room 21 which was lovely. The accommodation, the food and the staff all made this a very enjoyable stay, We really wanted to stay another night, The staff are so friendly and welcoming. We will be returning, Diolch

Room Tip: We loved room 21 but the stairs and corridors are only for people who are not too large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emyr P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Diolch , Thank you for the review . Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We once again paid a visit to this excellent establishment, this time for our annual Christmas lunch. We were sat at decked out table and attended to by good staff. That is one thing with the Black Boy, the staff are all very cheery, and nothing is too much trouble. Considering they were catering for a large Christmas party, our service was not affected, and the courses came out promptly. The turkey crown was very tasty and was accompanied by a wide choice of veg, roast and creamed potato and an apricot stuffing to die for! There was lashings of gravy, and we could request any extras if needed. The dessert choices were varied, with something for all tastes.
We will certainly be heading back in the New year, as, in our opinion, this is one of the better eateries in the area.
We would like to wish all staff and management a very Merry Christmas, and best wishes for 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you so much for the review . Hope you have a lovely christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
1,036 reviews
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range: £64 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing