We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Black Boy Inn Caernarfon ”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Black Boy Inn Caernarfon ”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We decided to book a night away at last minute as we were heading further afield the nxt day. I can honestly say it was one of the best places I have stayed in Wales. The room was very modern with a 40 inch tv and the bath was lovely and deep. it had a kitchen also and was very clean. We went into the pub and the locals and staff were lovely and polite. We wished we had got there earlier as the food was home made and smelt devine. After waking up late and thinking we had missed breakfast (it was 11pm) we went to check out and the staff straight told us to go and sit down and they wld serve is our welsh breakfast which was scrumptious.Anybody who wants to criticise about the place or the staff seriously needs to get a life! We will be back sometime this year :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dream555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Boy . All our staff do try very hard to make guests stay as comfortable and happy as possible . Thank you so much for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    904
    271
    56
    10
    12
See reviews for
188
679
28
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a really good place to stop. The inn is olde worlde throughout, the staff are polite, attentive and helpful without being intrusive, the rooms are a good size and comfortable and the breakfast was great. Location perfect and free parking. Overall a great experience. Only thing that prevented 5 stars was the meal. It was not poor but not quite as good as expected. I would definitely stop again and would recommend the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSNorthWestUK186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for kind review , please call again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

After a day hiking in the beautiful Wales mountains, we were extremely happy when we check into this great inn. Staff was attentive and helpful. The inn retains it's old structure and splendour, one feels like being transported back 500 yrs ago walking through the narrow corridors and arriving at the rooms which still has exposed beams and small grill windows, a very special experience indeed. Although we were staying on top of the pub there was no noise pollution. Wld recommend for those who crave some change to a typical hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bluestar428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are not a typical hotel by any means .We are local company running similar Inns & hotels in north wales for over 35 years . I have to say the Black Boy is unique to us as well and are very proud off what we have managed to do with the Inn.Thank you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had two nights here as part of our Ruby wedding anniversary trip.What a place to find absolutely great,Food,Room,Staff the whole two days were really good.
The building is very old with quirky narrow corridors which we felt added to the charm of the place.
We had a room with its own sitting room away from the bedroom with a comfy sofa and big TV.
The bedroom part was also big with another big TV as well as two comfortable chairs there was an area between the rooms where the kettle was stored along with an ironing board and large coat rack and the bathroom was lovely with plenty of towels and toiletries.
We ate in both nights food portions are good sized and I was daft enough to try the local cheese and crackers for a sweet after my meal it was big enough for both of us and very nice.
Breakfast is served in the coach house which our room overlooked initial thought from outside were it looked small it is like a tardis when you get in with plenty of room for parties etc. The size of the breakfast is substantial if yo opt for the Welsh breakfast but the choice very good if you do not fancy that and my wife loved the kippers.
The staff were more than helpful and very friendly the whole place was warm all the time and the beer was good.
This is one hotel we are really looking forward to going back to when the weather is kinder.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
So pleased to read your review and thank you so much for your feedback. I will pass on to all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Booked a 2 night short break to cheer my wife up before a knee op and what a fantastic place lovely food,service, setting and wonderful helpful staff, absolutely faultless a perfect break.

Thank You Black Boy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOHNANDKAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for this review , hope you come back again to stay . An pass my best wishes to your wife to get well .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A one night stop, stayed In the Black Jack part of the hotel and recommend this as probably quieter. Room was freshly decorated and clean, large tv and nice toiletries. The staff are a great asset, friendly and cheerful at all times. Food was fab, large portions and quickly served. It's in a very central location and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: We had room 40 in Black Jack and recommend this. It's a little suite with its own kitchen area a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madogfechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Your review is appreciated , thank you hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Being a local I know the Black Boy Inn very well, an excellent venue to meet friends and socialise in a pleasant atmosphere. This week I had the pleasure of dining in the restaurant, plenty of selection on the menu, quality food and friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Thank you for this kind review .Please come back soon. Diolch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
8.7 mi away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
958 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing