We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was the Chef on holiday too?”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Louth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was the Chef on holiday too?”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We recently booked a two night stay in the Black Boy Inn, which was a good location for access to Snowdonia National Park but left feeling slightly duped and underwhelmed by the consistently positive ratings recorded by other guests on tripadvisor

We stayed in the Black Jacks suite (having initially been given a room number which didn't exist to try and find), but the apartment offered us good sized, relatively quiet and comfortable accommodation with good sized bed and bath. Most disappointingly though was the dining experience on both nights, again relative to the previous feedback and in-house promotional literature which promised an "eat fresh not fast" philosophy with freshly sourced local produce, overseen by a "highly skilled and experienced chef".

In reality, our first night (Valentines evening) in the restaurant was one of the most rushed and unwelcoming eating out experiences I have encountered. We were asked for our order before we'd even settled at the table to open the menu, each order was taken and arrived within minutes with a heated up, rather than freshly cooked feel and plates were cleared whilst consuming the final mouthful by the hovering waitress team.

Eating in the bar on the second night felt less rushed but I am absolutely certain that my meal was NOT freshly prepared or cooked to order again. Instead, it had all the hallmarks of a Farm Foods (other stores are available) frozen or pre-prepared packet meal given the bland taste and uniform nature of the Yorkshire pudding, vegetables and the driest cuts of beef that even my pet Labrador would struggle with. Drinks were expensive too on both nights.

Caernarfon town centre too (castle and dockyard aside) felt a bit scruffy and run down in places and offered little by the way of alternative places to enjoy a drink an evening meal.

Neither a town or a restaurant I would recommend or return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
I am sorry that your opinion of us differs from the majority of our customers. We do not buy pre prepared frozen meals into the Inn this i can guarantee . We use local suppliers as stated on our web site for the majority of our supplies . Again i can only apologize in that we did not meet your expectations . The Inn i s very busy as you clearly state and our staff are attentive , they have to be to deal with up to 600 meals per day in the high season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    281
    57
    10
    12
See reviews for
196
696
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

This superb pub has it all.friendly and efficient staff,great food and comfy rooms.We cannot recommend the Black Boy enough,its the best pub we have ever stayed in,Michelle in the restaurant is a star,the beer's not too shody either,faultless.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redshack009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you so much and so glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

The Black Boy Inn is fantastic. It's a quirky, quaint pub that has lovely staff and serves great food. We stayed 3 nights and ate there every night, the food and service was faultless. Thanks to Michelle for creating the birthday cheese plate for my husband.
The room we had, room 2, was very nice, comfortable and spacious with a large bathroom, good shower.
I think this place is great and would recommend it every time, but note, it's an old building, it creeks, there are steps and low ceilings. You're in a pub, there will be noise. But the most important thing, it's good and it's popular, you may have to wait, but it's worth it

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsMac2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
I love the points you have made , we are indeed a real Inn not a plastic make believe . You do step back in time here so thank you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We decided to book a night away at last minute as we were heading further afield the nxt day. I can honestly say it was one of the best places I have stayed in Wales. The room was very modern with a 40 inch tv and the bath was lovely and deep. it had a kitchen also and was very clean. We went into the pub and the locals and staff were lovely and polite. We wished we had got there earlier as the food was home made and smelt devine. After waking up late and thinking we had missed breakfast (it was 11pm) we went to check out and the staff straight told us to go and sit down and they wld serve is our welsh breakfast which was scrumptious.Anybody who wants to criticise about the place or the staff seriously needs to get a life! We will be back sometime this year :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dream555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Black Boy . All our staff do try very hard to make guests stay as comfortable and happy as possible . Thank you so much for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This is a really good place to stop. The inn is olde worlde throughout, the staff are polite, attentive and helpful without being intrusive, the rooms are a good size and comfortable and the breakfast was great. Location perfect and free parking. Overall a great experience. Only thing that prevented 5 stars was the meal. It was not poor but not quite as good as expected. I would definitely stop again and would recommend the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSNorthWestUK186378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for kind review , please call again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

After a day hiking in the beautiful Wales mountains, we were extremely happy when we check into this great inn. Staff was attentive and helpful. The inn retains it's old structure and splendour, one feels like being transported back 500 yrs ago walking through the narrow corridors and arriving at the rooms which still has exposed beams and small grill windows, a very special experience indeed. Although we were staying on top of the pub there was no noise pollution. Wld recommend for those who crave some change to a typical hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bluestar428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
We are not a typical hotel by any means .We are local company running similar Inns & hotels in north wales for over 35 years . I have to say the Black Boy is unique to us as well and are very proud off what we have managed to do with the Inn.Thank you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We had two nights here as part of our Ruby wedding anniversary trip.What a place to find absolutely great,Food,Room,Staff the whole two days were really good.
The building is very old with quirky narrow corridors which we felt added to the charm of the place.
We had a room with its own sitting room away from the bedroom with a comfy sofa and big TV.
The bedroom part was also big with another big TV as well as two comfortable chairs there was an area between the rooms where the kettle was stored along with an ironing board and large coat rack and the bathroom was lovely with plenty of towels and toiletries.
We ate in both nights food portions are good sized and I was daft enough to try the local cheese and crackers for a sweet after my meal it was big enough for both of us and very nice.
Breakfast is served in the coach house which our room overlooked initial thought from outside were it looked small it is like a tardis when you get in with plenty of room for parties etc. The size of the breakfast is substantial if yo opt for the Welsh breakfast but the choice very good if you do not fancy that and my wife loved the kippers.
The staff were more than helpful and very friendly the whole place was warm all the time and the beer was good.
This is one hotel we are really looking forward to going back to when the weather is kinder.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OJB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
So pleased to read your review and thank you so much for your feedback. I will pass on to all staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing