We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we had a fantastic 4 night stay”
Review of Black Boy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Black Boy Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Caernarfon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“we had a fantastic 4 night stay”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We had a very warm welcome,everyone was very friendly.Accommodation was excellent in the black jack suites.Everything was clean and spotless throughout the inn.The food was excellent,and all of our group of 6 really enjoyed.nothing was to much trouble for the staff.We will definitely return for another break. Terry and Liz Ford from Loughor Swansea

Room Tip: rooms 40 41 and 42 were large clean quiet and excellent for disabled people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizford12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
So glad you all enjoyed your stay at the Black Boy Inn, please come back soon. And thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    281
    57
    10
    12
See reviews for
196
697
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My partner and I attended the Black Boy this evening, I was more than happy with my fish dish, but my partner was less than happy with her chicken and leek pie. The pie was dry with hard lumps of chicken (chicken appeared to be of the mechanically separated variety as opposed to fresh) when brought to the attention of the very pleasant waiting on staff they informed the chef. We were then updated by the waiting on staff that the chef said he would prepare a fresh batch of pie filling. Which was of no use to us. The sweet potato chips and veg served with the pie were of the standard expected. Disappointing pie and a poor reaction from the kitchen.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Sorry with regard to the chicken pie , i will mention this at our next staff meeting . Hope it does not put you off coming back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at here for 2 nights last week for our birthdays. We could not have had a better stay! The staff were fantastic, warm, welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We had room 30 which was an executive double and was more like a suite! Huge room with and equally huge bathroom. Rooms were clean and the bed was incredibly comfortable.

We had the most fantastic meal that night , even though we had fallen asleep and the restaurant manager called to make sure we didn't miss dinner as they knew my boyfriend had ordered a birthday cake as a surprise!

The breakfast was brilliant, full welsh the first morning and smoked salmon & scrambled eggs on day two - wonderful!

We loved our stay here and didn't want to leave, the food, staff and accommodation are fantastic and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovejollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for this lovely review and hope you can stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed for one night and were amazed at the size and facilities in our room, the bed was really comfortable and the bathroom was really large. The staff were brilliant, extremely helpful and very keen to make sure you were enjoying your stay. We ate in the restaurant and the food was good , though not brilliant. Breakfast was amazing, lots of choice and all freshly cooked for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annnandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for review , we hope you come back again soon to this lovely Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Went here with my boyfriend for a weekend away in January. Read all the reviews on trip advisor and was really looking forward to a meal there. Yes the pub is stunning, has the real old pub feel to it but the food was not what I expected. My blacking pudding started was average and the prawns where the same as is served In 2 for £10. The steaks were ok but not as amazing I thought they would be. Puddings were traditional bought in puddings. Bit disappointed

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank katie22manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for the feedback , disappointed that you did you did not enjoy your meal . All puddings are made on site here, but i will feed the information on head chef for you. Please accept my apology .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for one night as a "getaway".... the room was excellent with a huge bed, clean modern and comfortable, a fantastic shower; the staff were all very friendly and efficient and the beer/food fantastic.... personally recommend the Elder flower Bitter.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ippikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at the Inn , please come back soon and thank you for review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We've just returned from another great weekend at the Black Boy Inn. This is our fourth or maybe fifth stay and we have already booked again for Christmas. The room was lovely (room 30) and the food is fabulous. The staff are very friendly and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackboy673604, Owner at Black Boy Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for the review , looking forward to you returning
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caernarfon
0.2 mi away
Celtic Royal Hotel
Celtic Royal Hotel
#2 of 8 in Caernarfon
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Caernarfon Hotel
3.1 mi away
Seiont Manor Hotel
Seiont Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanrug
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tyn Rhos Country House
Tyn Rhos Country House
#1 of 1 in Llanddeiniolen
424 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
15.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Boy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Boy Inn

Property: Black Boy Inn
Address: Northgate Street | Stryd Pedwar a Chewch, Caernarfon LL55 1RW, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Green Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
#1 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Black Boy Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Boy Inn is a listed building which is situated in the historic town walls of the Royal Borough of Caernarfon. The Inn is within easy walking distance to the town centre, and the famous 13th-century Castle. An old Inn dating back to 1522 and with its wooden paneling, low ceilings, and thick wooden support beams generates a cosy 'Olde Worlde' Welsh atmosphere. The Black Boy is a very busy Inn; please do not expect it to be a slow laid back hotel. It is in the centre of the tourist hub of North Wales and long wait times can be norm in middle of summer. Come and visit us in the winter season for a more laid back feeling.We now also have Black Jacks, which is another renovated building in courtyard, at rear of Inn .Black Jacks is away from the hustle of the main Inn . All suites have small kitchen area.No lift in building.Some Ground floor rooms are easy access with walk in showers , 1st floor variety of rooms as is 2nd floor.We offer 24 hour staff attendance. When you stay in any country you must wish to stay in somewhere that reflects that country ,we certainly do majority of our staff are welsh speaking and so are the owners .Meal timesSunday to Thursday: Noon until 9.00P.M. Friday and Saturday. Noon until 9.30P.M.Table reservations can be made via reception up to 6.30P.M. Table allocation after 6.30.Pm. Will be made on availability. Waiting times can vary and an indication of any delay will be conveyed to you. To arrange a table reservation (up to 6.30P.M.)In peak season we cannot accept table bookings at all due to the volume of trade ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Black Boy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Boy Hotel Caernarfon
Black Boy Inn Caernarfon, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing